18 Reviews

I cut the salt to only 1/8 cup. Absolutly love this. I put it on everything...grilled veg, rice, chicken, and fish. Can't say enough about it. Its a must.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sawanybird January 03, 2011

This is the best. Love it, love it, love it. Have used it on several different meats and on my favorite Halibut. It is great on fish. Great job Rita!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sam2u2 September 07, 2012

I can't stop sneezing LOL!!! Anyhoo, this is good stuff! Used it to make some Cajun Peanuts for gift giving this holiday season and I have some left over to use in general cooking. I too cut the salt in half, only because I was using it on salted nuts and sesame sticks. Sprinkled some on my microwave popcorn this evening and it was GREAT!!! Thanks Rita (and congrats on being the Veggie VIP this month)!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanuaryBride December 08, 2010

I love how much this recipe makes and took the advice of cutting the salt in half. It was delicious on my salmon recipe. Can't wait to use it on other things!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chocoholic Fiend June 16, 2010

I haven't used it yet, but I took a picture. When I get to it, I will totally post a review. I'm sure it'll be saucy...er, spicy... UPDATE: I made Tilapia and Bayou Rice with this rub mix, and it's AWESOME! This is the perfect mix (I did cut the salt to 1/4 cup, however). I never have and never will buy cajun spice/seasoning from any store. Pshaw! Store cajun spice... I won't even acknowledge its existence. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Greeny4444 April 15, 2010

Rita, I have a dozen Cajun Spice recipes, but I think this will be my go-to one from now on. I did cut back a little on the salt. I used this to make Cajun Style Oven Fries and they turned out so good! Made for ZWT5, Hell's Kitchen Angels.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TxGriffLover May 25, 2009

to salty went to 1/8 of cup

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef carl #2 November 04, 2008

Not bad, but still missing something. I only added half the salt and it was still a little salty. Definitely would be a good idea to make this in a smaller amount, as adjustments are necessary.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jen in Victoria, BC July 29, 2008

I made this up before Christmas, put it in cellophane bags and gave it to work colleagues as a gift. Then I made up jars of it for family for Christmas as well. Universally everyone asked me for the recipe because they liked it so much. I finally got around to making some up for us about three weeks ago. (because everyone was raving about it at work) It's been tried on BBQ'd steak and on oven baked chicken wings thuis far at our house. I love it! It is spicy but not hot and adds a wonderful flavour. You can sprinkle it on meats immediately prior to cooking or leave it to marinade for hours before cooking. Im also thinking you could sprinkle chops and other meats with this and then dump then in the freezer until youre ready to cook them. I wish they allowed more than 5 stars because this recipe is a definite keeper and we will make it up again and again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AussieShay February 08, 2008
Cajun Spice Rub Mix Recipe