Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cajun Spice Rub Mix Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cajun Spice Rub Mix Recipe

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on January 03, 2011

      I cut the salt to only 1/8 cup. Absolutly love this. I put it on everything...grilled veg, rice, chicken, and fish. Can't say enough about it. Its a must.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2012

      This is the best. Love it, love it, love it. Have used it on several different meats and on my favorite Halibut. It is great on fish. Great job Rita!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2010

      I can't stop sneezing LOL!!! Anyhoo, this is good stuff! Used it to make some Cajun Peanuts for gift giving this holiday season and I have some left over to use in general cooking. I too cut the salt in half, only because I was using it on salted nuts and sesame sticks. Sprinkled some on my microwave popcorn this evening and it was GREAT!!! Thanks Rita (and congrats on being the Veggie VIP this month)!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2010

      I love how much this recipe makes and took the advice of cutting the salt in half. It was delicious on my salmon recipe. Can't wait to use it on other things!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2010

      I haven't used it yet, but I took a picture. When I get to it, I will totally post a review. I'm sure it'll be saucy...er, spicy... UPDATE: I made Tilapia and Bayou Rice with this rub mix, and it's AWESOME! This is the perfect mix (I did cut the salt to 1/4 cup, however). I never have and never will buy cajun spice/seasoning from any store. Pshaw! Store cajun spice... I won't even acknowledge its existence. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2009

      Rita, I have a dozen Cajun Spice recipes, but I think this will be my go-to one from now on. I did cut back a little on the salt. I used this to make Cajun Style Oven Fries and they turned out so good! Made for ZWT5, Hell's Kitchen Angels.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2008

      to salty went to 1/8 of cup

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2008

    • on July 29, 2008

      Not bad, but still missing something. I only added half the salt and it was still a little salty. Definitely would be a good idea to make this in a smaller amount, as adjustments are necessary.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2008

      I made this up before Christmas, put it in cellophane bags and gave it to work colleagues as a gift. Then I made up jars of it for family for Christmas as well. Universally everyone asked me for the recipe because they liked it so much. I finally got around to making some up for us about three weeks ago. (because everyone was raving about it at work) It's been tried on BBQ'd steak and on oven baked chicken wings thuis far at our house. I love it! It is spicy but not hot and adds a wonderful flavour. You can sprinkle it on meats immediately prior to cooking or leave it to marinade for hours before cooking. Im also thinking you could sprinkle chops and other meats with this and then dump then in the freezer until youre ready to cook them. I wish they allowed more than 5 stars because this recipe is a definite keeper and we will make it up again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2007

      This is an extremely versatile and cheap spice mix to have on hand. I tried an experiment tonight, and tried a marinated and pressed tofu to cajun vs. jerk seasoning. My conclusion was that cajun was hotter, but both recipes were excellent. Oh, by the way, the Jamaican jerk recipe was also Rita's:D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2007

      I received this as a gift and it is just fabulous. Tonight, I tried it on popcorn and it has the perfect balance between spice and herbs. Can't wait to try it on some chops or chicken. Thanks Rita!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2006

      This is a must have in you cupboard. I used this in Cajun Buffalo Wings Cajun Buffalo Wings. Came out excellant. Much better than buying it already made. The next time we are going to try rubbing this on steak.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2006

      Awesome. My wife said it was the best steak I ever cooked. And I have to agree.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2006

      This rub is terrific. In addition to meats, we put the rub on vegetables that we roast. Absolutely TOPS!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2004

      Rita this is a wonderful spice mix to have handy in the cupboard . I used it to season my BBQ pork chops, and yes, as Geema mentioned I can't wait to try it on my grilled eggplants, and so many other foods. This is a delicious spice blend to have on just about every food.Thanks so much for sharing Rita, I will be using this quite a lot.....Kitten :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2004

      What a handy spice mix to have on hand! I used my first trial taste on some spinach that I cooked up for a omelette for our Sunday brunch. I placed it on the eggs along with some grated cheddar cheese and it was spicy and delicious. Now I can't wait to try it with lots of other things that will be enhanced by this great seasoning...eggplant patties are going to be next!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2004

      Made this and stored this with Rita's Cajun Spice on the bottle. Thanks for this lovely mix sweetie!Love the flavour and the kick!!! Only subbed cayenne for the chili powder and sea salt for the kosher salt. :) Fay

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cajun Spice Rub Mix Recipe

    Serving Size: 1 (276 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 384.4
     
    Calories from Fat 101
    26%
    Total Fat 11.2 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 2.1 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 57181.8 mg
    2382%
    Total Carbohydrate 78.5 g
    26%
    Dietary Fiber 36.0 g
    144%
    Sugars 7.8 g
    31%
    Protein 17.7 g
    35%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes