Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cajun Shrimp Chowder Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cajun Shrimp Chowder

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on October 19, 2010

    • on February 23, 2010

      Very Good Recipe! I didn't use wine cause I didn't have any, and I don't know if that's what caused it not to thicken up, but it came out more like an etouffee/gumbo, so I made some brown rice to go with it. Still turned out really good tho! Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2010

      Great Recipe! My mother in law and I fixed this for dinner and it turned out great. I also added a little cream at the end. We served it over basmati rice. We'll make this again! Thanks for sharing your recipe with us!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2009

      I am eating the leftover as I type. This was the 2nd time I made this and this is my favorite! The first time I used diced tomatoes (everything else the same), the 2nd time crushed. Either one is great. I also added alittle cream right before serving. Too Good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2008

      I made this last night for dinner and really enjoyed it. Hubby, however, didn't care for it. He didn't comment about what he didn't like about it, so I can't help there. I did make a few substitutions - used a yellow bell pepper instead of the red one, used a 14oz. can of chopped tomatoes instead of crushed, and chicken broth instead of water. I also thickened it a little bit with arrowroot when it was done, as it was pretty watery. I would recommend using smaller shrimp. Mine were huge, and should have been chopped to a smaller size so as to fit on the spoon. I thought the Old Bay seasoning was good, but it did overpower the shrimp flavor. However, I would not recommend reducing the amount, as it seemed just right to me in spite of that fact. I probably won't make it again, due to hubby's reaction, but I liked it. It was not too spicy. In fact, I thought it was just right in that regard.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2007

      I knew that I would love this, because I simply love chowders, but I just didn't realize HOW much I would enjoy it!!! Made exactly as directed, except for the 1/2 cup red wine...I didn't have any on hand. Great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2005

      great corn chowder! Ilove soups and I made this exactly as written - I will be making this one often.Thanks for such a great recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2004

      Very nice chowder - yummy and delightfully spicy! Like many chefs, I had to tweak it just a bit, adding a bit of me to it! I did not have any Old Bay Seasoning, so I added some extra seasonings: 1/4 tsp thyme, 1/2 tsp curry powder, and 3/4 tsp chili powder. I also added 1/4 cup cornstarch (mixed with 1/8 cup water), to thicken it up a bit. I used tomatoe sauce instead of crushed tomatoes, only because that is all that I had on hand (with some added water). We threw in some oyster crackers, along with the diced green onions, and it was wonderful! I will definitely be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cajun Shrimp Chowder

    Serving Size: 1 (322 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 242.0
     
    Calories from Fat 81
    33%
    Total Fat 9.0 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 1.3 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 172.8 mg
    57%
    Sodium 543.5 mg
    22%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.2 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 2.5 g
    10%
    Sugars 5.6 g
    22%
    Protein 24.5 g
    49%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Old Bay Seasoning

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites