Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cajun Seafood Gumbo Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cajun Seafood Gumbo

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on May 17, 2003

      I've had my eye on this recipe for a while but had to find a source (in Chicago) for whole shrimp, with heads. Found them! I did Stephanie's recipe almost exactly, except, I did not add the okra (I can't abide it). Also, I used turkey andouille sausage and kielbasa, to cut down the fat a bit. Excellent flavor and my house smelled like a cajun kitchen. The stock rules in this recipe, definitely get the whole shrimps, peel them and use the shells and heads to make the stock. I added an unpeeled, chopped onion, several garlic cloves and a stalk of celery to the stock. When making the roux, stir it constantly; it took me about 1/2 hour to get it to the dark brown color that was perfect for gumbo. My husband and I love NO, and we felt like we were there while eating this dish with cold beer and a baguette. Our neighbors are happy too because this made so much, we had to share. Thanks StephanieC for a great gumbo that I'm going to make many times!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2003

      this is simply delicious! my house smelled wonderful and i had all the ingredients from my recent visit to NO. i omitted the okra, and also used a lb of crawfish and added 2 tsp of file. wonderful stuff!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2011

      This is definately NOT a cajun recipe but it is still good, one tip though, make sure you get the roux really dark but not to burn it. The roux makes the gumbo. I've done some researching on the roux and it's a tricky thing, you have to know how hot to get it and know when to take it off the heat all the while whisking it as it continues to change colors. Much harder than it sounds. Still experimenting with gumbo recipes, this wasn't bad though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2010

      This is NOT a Cajun recipe. Cajuns do NOT put tomatoes and certainly not kielbasa sausage. We also do NOT put okra, nor oregano. Anyway, this is not authentic and I am an authentic Cajun, from Louisiana.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2008

      I havent tried this recipe, but it looks pretty good. But just for clarification, this is not a Cajun gumbo, its creole... cajuns never put tomatoes in their gumbo! So if you want a true cajun gumbo omit the tomatoes, and personally i wouldn't put oregano in gumbo.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2008

      This is most certainly NOT cajun gumbo. Cajuns do not put okra or tomatoes in their gumbo, creoles do. We also do not use shortening.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2008

      I've made this gumbo, and it's really the best one I've had. I'm making this gumbo again today. yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2007

      This was very good. I loved the smell of my house when this was cooking. I made exactly as written and it was great. My kids even found out they really do like okra....lol. I will be making this again in the future, thanks for sharing your MIL's recipe.....Stephanie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2005

      Roux does take a long time, be prepared. I was a little confused about cooking the onions and peppers in the roux...also, i couldn't get my okra to not be stringy after a long time, so i just went with it after a bit. i didn't have the crab and didn't really miss it. I will say this made a TON. I froze a bunch even after eating it day and night. Also I would like it to have more heat. I should have known that 1/2 t. cayenne was just not enough for that quantity. Will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2005

      This is great, I used the bacon fat for the roux and used the addition of lefover chicken I boned out in place of the andouille sausage. I added a red bell pepper to the green because it was what I had in the house. Served this over yellow rice, with hard lemoade and french bread. Amazing! Recipe really needs the shrimp stock, its the key to the dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cajun Seafood Gumbo

    Serving Size: 1 (458 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 647.6
     
    Calories from Fat 389
    60%
    Total Fat 43.2 g
    66%
    Saturated Fat 9.7 g
    48%
    Cholesterol 176.8 mg
    58%
    Sodium 2259.2 mg
    94%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.1 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 3.7 g
    15%
    Sugars 6.3 g
    25%
    Protein 37.6 g
    75%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    shrimp stock

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes