Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cajun Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cajun Rice

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on January 14, 2011

      This was great! As always I changed things up a bit. Used two 14 oz. cans of chicken broth to cook 1 1/2 cups regular long grained rice instead of using minute rice. And 3 tsp of cajun seasoning instead of the chili powder, thyme, and paprika with a few shakes of cayenne pepper, granulated garlic, and some seasoning salt when cooking the peppers and onion. Mixed the onion, peppers and seasonings with the cooked rice. Came out great. And was the perfect side to the spicy catfish tenders Spicy Catfish Tenders With Cajun Tartar Sauce. Thanks for posting. This is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2013

      This recipe was some of the best cajun rice I've had in a long time! I really enjoyed the heat that came along with it. I used cayenne pepper for my "ground red pepper" so it got pretty warm. I'll definitely be making this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2010

      I love this rice! I've made it many times now and my husband and I really enjoy it. The last time I made it I didn't have an onion or a pepper so just made the rice with the seasonings and it was still delicious. I've found that I need to add a little more liquid or cut the rice down a little because mine sometimes comes out a little undercooked.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2009

      Made this tonight for dinner but used regular white rice and added hot links and black beans. It was very filling and made a quick meal! I'm taking leftovers for lunch tomorrow. I'll definitely make this again for a quick dinner. The bell peppers really made the recipe! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2009

      This is great! Just the right amount of spice & easy to make. This will definitely appear on my table again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2009

      We loved it!! spicy and delicious! Made it just as it is written, I too do not normally use minute rice, but happened upon a box of brown minute rice, so tried it, quite surprized at the results and will probably use it again. It certainly did make this recipe an easy one!! Loved the combination of spices with the onion and peppers. I used half red and half green pepper and just 1 tablespoon of olive oil. I will be making this again, thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2007

      Fantastic! Had this the first night as a side dish, we did cut down the chili powder just a tad. Had quite a few leftovers so the following night stir fried it up with a can of black eyed peas, a few mixed veg and some sliced chipolata sausages for a delicious one pot meal. This will definitely being going on high rotation in my house!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2005

      Even my picky husband liked this!! I added chorizo sausage, celery and mushrooms to make a filling, tasty meal. this one goes on the 'do it again' list.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2004

      This was an awsome and easy recepie. I added some shrimp and called a whole meal. Very tasty - Not too hot - Not too mild...

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2013

      This was good. There are only two of us, so I halved the recipe as far as the spices go. For the rice I used 1 cup basmati rice (uncooked) and used 1-3/4 cup of broth to cook the rice since I never have minute rice on hand and I was trying to cook out of my pantry. I also added 1 seeded fresh serrano pepper along with the bell pepper since I have a gamillion in my garden with no plan for them. Otherwise, I followed the recipe as written. This is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2013

      So fast and really good. I used brown minute rice and vegetable broth. Yum! Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2009

      I'm from New Orleans and I found it a little bland on taste but it did have a little heat. I guess the best way to make this rice is to copy a jambalaya recipe and omit the meat for full flavor. It was good though with the Chicken Larzone mainly because the sauce added the flavor it needed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2007

      Very good rice recipe. I added one diced thai pepper for some extra zip. Served with Dirty Shrimp in Butter-Beer Sauce. Not usually a fan of minute rice, but it worked wonderfully here.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All White Rice Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cajun Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (216 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 239.6
     
    Calories from Fat 72
    30%
    Total Fat 8.0 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 1.1 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 343.8 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 35.4 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 2.4 g
    9%
    Sugars 3.3 g
    13%
    Protein 5.7 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes