22 Reviews

Just wonderful, Remoulader! I made it to serve with dinner tomorrow nght. But after letting it chill a couple of hours and then tasting it, there was no way I could wait that long! Made sandwiches with nothing but squishy-soft bread, a little mayo, thick slices of home-grown tomatoes and a generous amount of the sauce. Heavenly! Although my family is really into spicy foods, I decided to be a little conservative and start out with just a tsp. of cayenne. Just as I suspected, the result could only be called "mild" if a Cajun was defining the term. lol We thought it was the perfect amount of heat for a sandwich spread or any other cold dish, like Shrimp Remoulade. I'm going to add a little more when serving with fried shrimp or crabcakes. But I think anyone with more sensitive tastebuds should cut way back on the cayenne initially and add more cautiously. Thanks again for sharing this recipe! It's going straight into our cookbook of family favorites.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
highcotton July 26, 2008

This recipe was easy to make and delicious! I used old bay instead of celery salt like the one review said and this sauce is better than the ones i've had in restaurants! Thanks for a perfect condiment with seafood!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katy O. March 21, 2009

Such a great recipe. I was out of Creole Mustard so I used Recipe 38148 http://www.food.com/recipe/creole-mustard-38148. It turned out perfect. Thanks for a great simple recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bill Butler June 14, 2012

I have made this approx. 20 times, each time topped on grilled Bacon Wrapped Collosal Shrimp. Have served at beach in mexico, tailgating, large family gatherings, and private dinners. Every time, the response is "Oh My God." The sauce is off the charts! Works well to substitute Old Bay Seasoning in place of celery salt.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dirty Bird November 14, 2008

delish! I put that s&*! on everything ;) !

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evol February 15, 2014

This sauce is so good that licked the spatulas when I transferred it from mixing bowl, to serving bowl, and to storage bowl. I served the sauce with crab cakes and it was excellent. I have tried tons of recipes and this is exactly what I wanted, a smooth sauce without chunks of celery, etc. I had to use True Lemon crystals and plain tomato sauce as substitutions and it was still great. It seemed a little thick for my taste, so I thinned it out with a little pinot grigio. I served the sauce immediately. I can't even imagine how good the leftover will be after sitting in the fridge for a while. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kayladunlap September 06, 2013

Excellent! I used 2 tsp of cayenne and it's perfect for the majority of my family. I could kick it up a notch for myself but I'll do that on my own plate. This is going to be perfect for my soft shell crabs tonight and I can't wait to use it on fried green tomatoes! Thanx so much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NVirginian June 08, 2013

More...I want more! You make me want to shout, put my hands up and shout! Happy Father's Day! [My 2000th review! Proves my daily obsession with food.]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng June 17, 2012

Great Recipe. Very easy and quick to make and it tastes great! I did not even add the parsley or garlic and the sauce was still wonderful. Served it with crab cakes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hoddy December 29, 2011

This was excellent Remoulade Sauce. I served this with shrimp. We really enjoyed it. Will use this a lot. Thanks for posting this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gwynn February 02, 2011
Cajun Remoulade Sauce