16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made these for dinner tonight. I used low fat cream cheese, the optional cilantro and the optional mushrooms. I used 9 jalapeno and 9 mini sweet peppers because we have some members of our family who can not stomach hot things. I also reduced the cayenne pepper to one pinch. I wanted to make sure that it had flavor but not heat. I didn't have the called for bread crumbs so I used a mix of panko and fresh ground Italian seasoning. While they took longer to cook than called for, they were a success. We served them with some hickory smoked Sloppy Joe's. Yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
whtbxrmom September 04, 2013

These were really hot, I was afraid it was too much cayenne (used a full tablespoon), but the Cajun folks at the party couldn't get enough. I followed the suggestion of sauteing the peppers in beer first, I left out the pimientos, and used a mixture of colby jack and cheddar (in addition to the cream cheese).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jaynine November 18, 2009

these did not turn out very well but i will contribute that to me being in a hurry and short on ingredients, rather than the recipe. i didn't have nearly enough cream cheese so I made up for it with mozerella, ricotta, and parmesan. I also did not saute the peppers as suggested. Mine turned out bland and too dry. but i will try them again soon and actually follow the recipe which seems pretty sound.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kimmarie300 November 19, 2008

These were so good. And I was worried about what to do with my accidental bumper crop of jalapeno peppers.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kerrbear September 09, 2008

These were excellent! I was wondering what to do with some of my bumper crop of Jalapenos this year and ran across this recipe. I made them as directed (except for the initial saute). I flash froze them on a cookie sheet then threw them in a freezer bag. I baked them double time from frozen with great results. They're all gone now so I have to freeze more for football games this year! Thanks very much for the recipe Lande!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Slim PA August 28, 2008

Amazingly good. Make some yourself and enjoy! Keep all seeds out if you don't like stuff too spicy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shaggy Red Chef July 26, 2008

loved it and so did all the other New York Giants fans on Super bowl sunday Feb 3, 2008 will make it again

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lies February 04, 2008

This was surprisingly easy to make. I tend to avoid things with too many ingredients or too complicated of instructions (and it doesn't take much to fall into either category for me), but I found this to be very simple. The worst part was seeding the jalapenos, which I did very thoroughly. My German mouth doesn't tolerate much beyond pepper, so I got rid of all the membranes; which, to be honest, made them a little too bland. In the future, I'll leave just a little bit, but definitely no seeds. Mine didn't brown very much, probably because I used panko, but I just trusted the cooking times and they turned out great (without any of the optional additions).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TifferCooks August 14, 2007

Who would have thought that making your own homemade Jalapeno Poppers could be this easy ... I sure didn't! Our entire family LOVED them! I have an abundance of jalapenos right now and have made this recipe twice. The first time, I used Sargento's Mexican blend cheese and they were perfect! The second time, I only had sharp cheddar on hand. While still quite good, we much preferred the blend of cheeses. Also, I didn't add any of the "optinal additions" because these little gems didn't need anything extra! This is a recipe I'm keeping handy for the rest of my jalapeno season. Thanks for sharing a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Paula~ August 31, 2006

These were great! But what was funny was that I forgot the recipe so I tried to remember what was in it.... I used the cream cheese, shredded cheese but lost it from there! I put in ground cumin, ground oregono, finly chopped onion, salt and pepper! But everyone thought they were GREAT! I'm going to try your exact recipe the next time around! and I'm sure it will max out on stars!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vacationgal August 21, 2006
Cajun Jalapeno Poppers