Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cajun Corn and Shrimp Chowder Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cajun Corn and Shrimp Chowder

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on January 19, 2008

      I made this last night and it was fabulous!!! I added 3 green onions instead of the medium onion...and roasted a large red pepper...chopped, 1 tsp of garlic, a 1/4 tsp of Hot paprika instead of sweet and used Chicken broth instead of the water. This soup is a keeper for sure! Not sure about the 8 servings as there were 3 of us and I had a small bowl left-over...boohoo!!! Thanks for the great recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2009

      Overall delicious!! I took the advice of another chef and substituted the onion soup with chicken broth. I also used fat free half and half instead of heavy cream and I added russet potatoes. I'd say next time I'll nix the Thyme....it was a little much.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2009

      I didn't care for this either. Too many spices (onion soup?), this overpowered the delicate flavor of the shrimp. Need to go with less ingredients. Instead of flour, maybe use potatoes, use small amount of water for potatoes and let that be the thickener. Sometimes less is more. sandy

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2008

      I'm the odd one out I guess. I made this last week and didn't like it at all. The onion soup flavour was way too overpowering. I followed the directions exactly. The only think I can think of is that in Canada we only have Lipton's onion sopu mix, maybe the U.S. golden onion soup is different?

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2006

      Very cajun! My husband said it tasted like something he'd find in New Orleans. We'd add another cup of corn. It was a nice change -- but the kids weren't impressed.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2005

      Tasty, hearty and easy to make. I used low fat ingredients like skim milk instead of cream and it was still great. Since I'm a shrimp lover, this will be made frequently in my home.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2014

      I add a little extra cayenne pepper and sometimes Cajun seasoning for a little more spice. We've also eaten it over stuffed clams and it is amazing! Does not reheat very well, the cream and butter get really oily but it's not too bad cold either.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2008

      This was delicious. I used everthing here along with a little bit of Mrs. Dash and a crumbed up bacon to top it off. My family loved it. Excellent recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2007

      We used 2 cans of corn, well drained, which was a cup more than called for, but it was fine. We also added 2 cans of lump crab meat and used peeled, deveined, pre-cooked shrimp. We cooked the shrimp less time than called for and it was still a bit chewy, but for us, it was worth the time it saved. Really like the flavor. Had more kick than we expected, and we enjoyed that. It warmed up well on the stovetop the next day. We'll make this fairly often this winter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2007

      The flavor was great! I did make some additions, though. I added scallops and lump crab meat along with the shrimp. I also boiled some potatoes in milk and added them to the chowder at the end. I'll definitely make this one again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2006

      This chowder was quite yummy. I substituted half and half for the heavy cream, and it was still excellent.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2006

      I made this a couple months ago and forgot to comment on it. This was the quickest, easiest recipe I have ever made, and it was totally delicious!! Made gumbo this weekend, and thought about it and now we are going to make this again tonight!! We served this over hot cooked rice and was just the best cajun food I had ever cooked! Thanks for sharing this one, your recipes are fabulous!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2005

      I have made this soup many times. The shrimp add interest and the onion soup mix give great flavor and texture. I love the zesty herb flavor. I would recommend this soup to anyone who loves shrimp like I do!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2005

      Di, this chowder is fabulous! Your recipes are always the first place I look when I'm craving something cajun. I've been wanting to try this and I'm so glad I did. I used some jumbo size shrimp so I cut them in pieces before adding to the chowder. I might not have added quite enough onion because after adding the flour and spices and stirring to a roux, it seemed to need more flour so I added another 1/4 cup. That absorbed the rest of the butter just fine. I stirred in the dry soup mix and added the boiling water as directed. It was nice and thick but not too thick. I ended up adding a teaspoon of Tony Chachere's just to spice it up a bit more for our preference. My dh had 2 bowls and wants the rest for his lunch tomorrow. This was very easy to make and I had it on the table and ready to eat in under an hour and that included cleaning the shrimp. Definitely staying in my Keeper Box! Very delicious! Thank you, Di!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2004

      Oh my, this was fantastic! NurseDi, you've done it again! The chowder was so easy to prepare...the hardest part was peeling the shrimp and if you buy them already peeled, you've got it made! The taste was superb with just the right amount of kick from the cayenne. I really liked the addition of the onion soup mix; it added a unique taste to the chowder. I served this with crusty french bread for a simply fantastic meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cajun Corn and Shrimp Chowder

    Serving Size: 1 (307 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 285.3
     
    Calories from Fat 164
    57%
    Total Fat 18.2 g
    28%
    Saturated Fat 10.9 g
    54%
    Cholesterol 133.9 mg
    44%
    Sodium 578.3 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 20.8 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 2.2 g
    9%
    Sugars 1.6 g
    6%
    Protein 12.1 g
    24%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites