Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cajun Chicken Jambalaya Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cajun Chicken Jambalaya

    Average Rating:

    31 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 31

    Sort by:

    • on July 09, 2002

      Very easy to make, and very very tasty! I am picky about spicy food and this one is a definite favorite:)!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2002

      Excellent make ahead meal and can be varied very easily, the kids loved this one and so dod we cheap and very tasty

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2003

      This is the best Jambalaya I have ever made! I have to triple the recipe whenever I make it. Everyone in my family just loves it--We love the flavoring from all the spices, a perfect combination and so easy to make!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2002

      What a flavorful dish with just the right amount of heat. I first thought that there wasn't going to be enough rice as it looked kind of sparse when I first added the rice but it turned out just right. The dish required a little chopping celery, onion, garlic, green pepper, and chicken) but was easy to put together once the chopping was complete. The one thing I would recommend, is to use a can of crushed or diced tomatoes rather than using canned whole tomatoes which you must crush (save time). I didn't end up having cajun spice (messed up only had Zataran's) so I mixed up one of Zaar's many cajun spice recipes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2002

      Oh my my my this was sooooooo good!!! I had everything but the tabasco sauce, and I used fresh thyme and basil, but it was delicious anyway. I will definately be making this again. Very easy especially since it is all in one pan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2003

      Hey Miss Annie, we loved your jambalaya. Very good mixture of spicy seasonings. Easy preparation and something I would like to make again only next time I will double the recipe so we will have left-overs. Thanks and Merry Christmas/Happy New Year to you and your family.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2003

      This recipe had excellent flavor. Just the right amount of heat. The only trouble I had was with the rice getting tender, it never really did. Even after continually adding water and cooking for over 45 minutes. Next time I make this I will add all the ingredients except the rice. I will prepare that seperately and serve this over the cooked rice. Thanks for posting we really enjoyed it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2011

      This was great! It was my first time making any Jambalaya but a great experience and will be put into the rotation :). I did change a few things mostly just to preference. I used andouille sausage and shrimp instead of chicken. I also left out the celery because my husband and I arent fans. Love this though!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2009

      This was very easy, and very good. I used diced turkey and diced tomato as they were what I had on hand. I held off on adding the turkey until the rice was finished, as I was worried that it would dry out. This worked perfectly, and I had nice, moist meat, and very tender rice. I cooked the rice in a covered skillet for twenty minutes over low heat, and it came out perfectly. This was a very spicy dish, so we served a dollop of sour cream on the side to tame the heat. Next time I think I will cut the tabasco and cayenne in half, to make it less spicy. Thanks for posting a great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2012

      This recipe was okay, but not great. It really didn't have enough "cajun" flavor or kick to it that I would have liked. The "cajun spices" listed needs to be more specific so that people can adjust to their tastes. Sorry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2010

      This was delicious! I used half butter and half olive oil, some extra onion, pepper and celery. I bet this will be excellent for lunch tomorrow! Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2010

      So good! I doubled the recipe and used two diced up chicken breasts, andouille sausage and shrimp. I also used diced tomatoes instead of whole, and substituted celery salt for the celery as I don't care for cooked celery. I added the chicken broth as directed but made the rice in my rice cooker and poured it over. We loved the heat, the ease and will make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2010

      Good! My husband says the spiciness factor is 4/5, so this is really hot but not unbearable. I think I'd cut the Tabasco in half next time I make it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2010

      Quick and easy recipe. I had cut the Tabasco and cayenne in half and still found that the heat element in this dish obscured a lot of the flavors of the dish...and I like some heat. I would recommend the recipe, but caution that you cut back on the cayenne and Tabasco, working your way up to a level you like as you taste the dish along the way.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2009

      We really enjoyed your jambalaya recipe. It was easy and the flavors were wonderful. I used the breast meat from a rotissarie chicken that I had just purchased and added some smoked sausage to your recipe. I also used basmati rice and your ratio of broth to rice was on the money. This is definitely a dish that I will be using in the future. Thanks so much for sharing this one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2009

      I looked at SEVERAL different recipes and combined aspects of each (they were all extremely similar, just slightly different measurements). I'm choosing to review this recipe, only, because I used this spice mix and in my opinion, it MADE this dish!! From my "research," it appears that two pounds of meat is ideal with 1 cup of rice. The meats tended to vary...all chicken; all shrimp; half chicken, half shrimp; half chicken, half andouille sausage; etc. I chose the half chicken, half shrimp option and my boyfriend and I both LOVED it. (From experience, though, each will be amazing!) I used 1 medium yellow onion, 3 cloves garlic, 2 stalks of celery, and 1 large bell pepper...all of which came out to be more veggies than specified in this recipe. I also used a can of diced (rather than whole) tomatoes and 2 cups of chicken broth. The spices I left as specified, although I did throw in a bit more Tony's at the end (I used Tony Chachere's creole seasoning for my "cajun spices"). The thyme was absolutely PERFECT in this recipe! I sauteed my meats with the veggies. In the future, I'll use brown rice (just our preference for health reasons), so I'll probably end up cooking it separately and then stirring everything together at the end (which is what my mom always did anyway...) Anyway, thanks a ton for the recipe - it TOTALLY hit the spot last night! I've been craving some good cajun cooking! I'm excited to make extra for the freezer (before the rice is mixed in).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2009

      Wow! This was fantastic. Even my husband (who has never, ever been wowed by a rice dish) said that it was delicious. I made some changes: I used olive oil instead of butter, and used way more onion and mixed (frozen) peppers. I also eyeballed the spices, which worked fine. The rice came out perfect with a lid on--I did not have to add any additional liquid. Thank you so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2008

      A wonderful one pot meal! I follwed this as written except, I stirred in 1 small rotiserre chicken, cut into medium pieces, when the rice was done.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2008

      I made this for my family of ten. I doubled it, but will triple it next time. I used a chunky tomato sauce and added some freshly chopped tomatoes, added a couple of cups of frozen corn, left out the cajun spices altogether (I didn't have any) and served it with saltine crackers for dipping. It has very, very good flavor that even my rice-hating child loved. Thanks for a new family favorite!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2008

      This was very tasty. Perfect for a cold winter's evening. Will certainly make this again. Would probably add some sweetcorn next time too. Many thanks for posting the recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cajun Chicken Jambalaya

    Serving Size: 1 (438 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 344.0
     
    Calories from Fat 104
    30%
    Total Fat 11.6 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 5.2 g
    26%
    Cholesterol 67.7 mg
    22%
    Sodium 408.8 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 35.6 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 3.5 g
    14%
    Sugars 6.6 g
    26%
    Protein 23.8 g
    47%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    cajun spices

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites