Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cajun Bourbon Chicken Bites Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cajun Bourbon Chicken Bites

    Average Rating:

    37 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 37

    Sort by:

    • on March 06, 2003

      These were tastey but a bit salty. Instead of baking in a single layer and continually marinating, I put the chicken in a covered casserole dish (reserving the excess marinade) and baked at 350 for 1 hour. Then followed the directions as instructed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2003

      Very good! I used lite soy sauce so it wouldn't be as salty. I boiled the marinade and added a tsp of cornstarch to thicken it a bit for a sauce to go over the chicken and steamed rice. FANTASTIC!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2003

      These didn't taste just like the malls but I thought they were very good. One word of advice...use a nonstick pan for the baking portion, it did stick quite abit! I served this on steamed rice with sides of cajun fried cabbage and a bagette. Good eating!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2003

      They were good, but the soy sauce taste overwhelmed the chicken bites a bit. I'll have to experiment with these a bit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2004

      Wonderful Bourbon Chicken!! This is a make again! My oldest son thought the sauce would be very tasty on pork ribs..so we may experiment with the sauce! Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2013

      Big hit at my Mardi Gras party last night! I made a quadruple batch, used mostly low sodium soy and they were great! I also put all the marinade in with the chicken and just sort of stirred them every 20 minutes while they were cooking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2011

      I just made this last night. I was very dissapointed. I used a good bourbon (Jim Bean) and I used only a 1/4 cup but the bourbon flavor was way too strong. It overwhelms the other flavors of the dish. Thanks for posting I may try the recipe again but I will definitely tweak it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2011

      Very Nice Bourbon Chicken Dish! I used chicken breasts instead of wings cause that's all i had on hand. Still turned out awesome! I don't care for salty foods and I was worried about his turning out too salty, but it turned out marvelous. I think the 24 hr marinade-a-thon & 2/3 of bourbon (I'm Southern, we like Bourbon) intensified the flavor of this dish ten-fold. I probably used too much chicken cause there really wasn't enough liquid to make a lot of sauce for the end. Definitely will be making again! Chart toppin!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2010

      We really liked this recipe. Served with jasmine rice for a very nice meal. Thanks for a new recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2010

    • on April 22, 2010

      Bourbon flavor a little too strong from my tastes. I've made another Bourbon Chicken recipe from this site that has no Bourbon in it and it was quite good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2010

    • on January 20, 2010

      I picked a winner for dinner Tonight! With my marinade I chose to not only use this with chicken but also with Shrimp as an appetizer. With the shrimp I chose to add cooked bacon along with the marinade and server it with rice. My DH could not believe how well this marinade with both of them. Looking forward to having this recipe again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2009

      OMG! I had this while on vaction at D.C. and had to have at my own. This is a simple recipe, a little time consuming but it is worth it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2009

      This was a lovely dish. I followed the recipe, except for reducing the amount of sugar. Just like the bourbon chicken we tried when in the US years ago. Served over a garden salad for a great dinner. Made for ZWT5 by a Hell's Kitchen Angel.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2009

      Great recipe! I accidentally added 1/2 cup white wine instead of 2 tbsp, but I'm not taking off stars since I could tell from the taste and the smell that it would have been even better if I'd added the right amount of wine. Made for the Epicurean Queens ZWT5: French/Cajun/Creole.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2009

      Great marinade, with a hint of burbon. I really liked the ginger and onion flake addition. Made for ZWT5 the Epicurean Queen Team.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2009

      This is To Die For good! It is just like that "Magic" Mall food that you crave but feel ever so guilty eating. I loved knowing exactly what was in it & the smell while it was in the oven... kept me wanting to come back to stir every 10 minutes! :) Okay, seriously now. I used boneless skinless chicken thighs (my first time ever using them but I trusted your assessment that the breasts are too dry). I only had 1/4 cup of soy sauce left so I used rice wine vinegar for the other 1/4 cup. I used fresh minced ginger & garlic as I had them on hand & everything else was as written (including the Jim Beam). The pieces marinated for 8 hours & we didn't feel like any one flavor overpowered the others. It's a very well-balanced dish. The sauce was beautifully caramelized & made the jasmine white rice taste like Magic Mall rice too! The only thing I will do differently next time is DOUBLE the recipe! :) Thanks for sharing, Nan! Love this dish!!! Made & enjoyed for ZWT 5 - Ali Baba's Babes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2009

      I'll start by saying my husband and I both loved this dish. My kids, not so much. For that, we'll give it only 4 stars. I doubled the recipe since I had 2 1/3 pounds of boneless chicken thighs. I used all ingredients as recommended, except for the white wine. I used only half since I forgot to double that too in the end. The one ingredient I will probably change the next time I make it is the bourbon. I used a very very good bourbon, since that's all I had, and I felt really guilty about it. I told my husband it was a very expensive chicken dish. He just laughed. I also thought the bourbon taste was a little strong so next time I'll buy a cheaper bourbon and use a little less. I didn't realize until after I had started baking this dish that I should have reserved the marinade for basting it seems. Instead, I had dumped it all in a 9x13 casserole and cooked all at once. I didn't baste as often since the chicken was pretty much floating in the marinade (maybe every 15-20 minutes), but that didn't seem to hurt the dish at all. After an hour, I opened the oven, put in the 2 tbsp of white wine (should have been 4T), stirred it and let it cook for about 10 minutes more. I served it over steamed white rice with Broccoli Salad #10733. Again, my husband and I loved it! And I loved it even more when I didn't have to dirty another pan or babysit it every 10 minutes. We will definitely be making this again! Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2009

      We absolutely loved this dish!! I used 1 heaped teaspoon grated fresh ginger and maybe that is why it was not too salty. Next time I will also use fresh garlic. I only marinated the chicken for 2 hours but will do it overnight the next time since we like the bourbon flavor and that seems to get stronger after marinating the chicken longer. Served it with noodles and a veg stir fry. As a plus , it was also very easy to make...many thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cajun Bourbon Chicken Bites

    Serving Size: 1 (215 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 360.9
     
    Calories from Fat 40
    11%
    Total Fat 4.5 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 1.1 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 94.4 mg
    31%
    Sodium 2118.0 mg
    88%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.8 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 28.3 g
    113%
    Protein 26.5 g
    53%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites