9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is an excellent recipe! Thank you for sharing. I added sea salt instead of table salt so it was a bit too salty. I will cut the salt in 1/2 next time.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GoingSomewhere January 27, 2010

This stirs my Cajun ancestral connections to hearth and home...which can make the sane and secure into raving maniacs.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng November 16, 2011

I really liked this! I did not have onion salt or white pepper, and I halved the amount of cayenne. It was still really spicy, I think it would have been too spicy for me with the full amount. I used to leftovers for salmon salad sammys the next day, and they were also great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bexxx November 22, 2009

WONDERFUL! I finally like SALMON!! Thanks for posting. BTW: we found a great "blackened seasoning" recipe here too (we cut the cayenne in 1/2 and was GREAT). Those who like a "milder" version, just mix your fish into your rice...YUM!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jina November 20, 2009

This was just what I was looking for. I used it on some frozen salmon patties and it was so perfect. I ate TWO patties by myself! Yummmmm! Thanks so much for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
windywood September 04, 2009

This was so tasty and full of flavor! I left out the cayenne and white pepper and used a little more black pepper. I served with an Old Bay Tartar sauce. Thanks for a yummy meal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 September 02, 2009

This is WONDERFUL!! I think I put a little to much on our salmon so next time I won't pack it on. The spice is amazing!!! We made it exactly as described. I think I may try playing around with it but this is a good thing to make ahead of time and bottle:) Thank you

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Your Mom October 25, 2008

Excellent!!! I made all the spice mixture as stated even though I was only making this for 2 fillets, as I thought if this is good and we enjoy it I will have extra to make again. We loved it and it was perfect, my Garlic powder had about 1 Tablespoon left. I could add everything else to this and I now have home made Cajun spice on hand and I use it often so this was perfect. I love spiciness and even I was concerned with the amounts, I tasted the mix before adding and my god it tasted way too spicy but once all added and I sprinkled over the salmon it was perfect. A wonderful recipe and one that is a definite keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Flying Chef September 03, 2008

I love salmon & found this recipe to be a winderful addition to my filesI know others will say, "But you ruined the 'Cajun' part of this recipe," & I'm sorry if I did, but I just HAD to cut back on the amount of paprika (used 2 teaspoons) & the cayenne pepper (used just 1 teaspoon), & I thought the resulting flavor was just GREAT! Maybe, sometime, I'll bring myself to make it as posted! [Made & reviewed for one of my adoptees in this Spring's Pick-A-Chef]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike April 17, 2008
Cajun Blackened Salmon