Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cafe Pasqual's Cilantro Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cafe Pasqual's Cilantro Rice

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on February 12, 2009

      I think I'm in the minority here. This had WAY too strong of a cilantro taste for us (and we love cilantro!) to the point that it overwhelmed the dish a bit. It was decent...but if I tried it again, I would cut the cilantro in at least half! I even thinned the puree' a bit with some water since it was thicker than it should have been. But still really strong for us. Glad we tried it. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2011

      I simply love this rice! It is such a pretty color and a nice alternative to Spanish rice with Mexican style food. I added about 1/2 cup of pinion nuts after the puree to the rice. I remember thinking the green rice at Cafe Psqual's in Santa Fe had pinon nuts when I ate it there.

      A word of caution - don't overdo the jalapeno pepper. If you do, it will overpower the other flavors. I did the first time I made this, since I like jalapeno, but it was a mistake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2011

      I loved this rice! It has a great flavor and I didn't think the cilantro was too much. I used green chiles in place of jalapeno and chives from my garden for the scallion. Otherwise followed pretty closely. Served with corn tortilla quesadillas, ranchero beans, and a simple guacamole- this was one of the best meals I've had in awhile. Will definitely make again. THANK YOU SusieQusie! [Made for Zaar Chef Alphabet Soup]

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2007

      If you are a cilantro lover like myself, you are going to love this rice dish! Even my 10 yr. old, who doesn't care for rice, enjoyed it! I made it as a side dish with some sweet Italian sausages, complimented it perfectly. One change is I just used Minute Rice (4 cups cooked), came out great!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2012

      Perfect! Loved everything about this, including how easy it is to make. Served with salmon and it was a great match. Made for Best of 2011 game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2010

      The flavor of this rice was great. I did cut down on the cilantro just incase it was too strong. I did find that i needed to add about 3/4 of a cup water so that the rice would soften. Not sure if its the pan i used or just me? I did use long grain white rice so i am not sure. I cooked it on very low once i added the extra water and it finished cooking fine. I think next time i might make white rice myself then use this cilantro mixture to mix in.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2008

      I found this truly fantastic! Since rice doesn't agree with my digestion, I used millet instead. Also, guess who didn't have any jalapenos because she forgot to buy them? *sigh* So I just threw in some crushed dried chilies which lent it a nice bit of heat without burning the mouth out. The flavors are so simple but- I took my first bite and went "WOW!" SOOO happy I tagged it! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2008

      I too, got the recipe from Gourmet. I tried it and LOVE it. I serve it with grilled salmon or fish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2008

      This was very good with King Ranch Chicken - I used all green onions instead of the white onion/scallion mix and left out the jalapeno. Very fresh tasting! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2007

      this is sooo good!! nice and fresh tasting, and seasoned just right!! i really loved this and will make it often. great change from plain old white rice without being too overloaded with flavor. thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2007

      Outstanding rice dish! I made it exactly as written, except I subbed in Basmati Rice for the long grain white. I don't think this changed the outcome of the recipe at all. A perfect blend of hot and spicy, with the cooling cilantro and lime juice, we LOVED this! Thanks Susie, made for Aussie Swap #7 :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2007

      I served this for the first time for guests, so I left out the jalapenos and used 2 cups of rice with only 1/4 c. onions to tone down the flavour a little. (Also used green onion instead of scallion.) Served with Turkey (or Chicken) Taco Bake, so a milder tasting side dish was perfect. We were all very impressed with the results. Next time I will use the called-for amounts of onions and rice for a more intense flavour. Lovely colour!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2006

      Very very good! I made the following changes, instead of jalapeno peppers I used green chili peppers and instead of scallions i used green onions. Also I used leftover regular white rice from Chinese restaurant. Reheated on stove, adding about ½ cup of water & ½ tbsp. of olive oil. I Didn’t puree cilantro, onion, green onion, green chili peppers, lime juice and olive oil, instead just chopped them down as fine as could with a knife (and cut down on the amount called for approximately in half).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cafe Pasqual's Cilantro Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (152 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 184.0
     
    Calories from Fat 9
    37%
    Total Fat 1.1 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 443.2 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 39.0 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 0.8 g
    3%
    Protein 3.6 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites