20 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Excellent! Going into my fast but good cookbook. I (sort of) halved the recipe, by using 6 ounces pasta, an 8 ounce bag of caesar salad mix and only about 1 tablespoon oil. Everything else I cut in half as written. Since we are vegetarians, I omitted the anchovy paste altogether and made this a complete meal by adding veggie chick'n strips. Thoroughly enjoyable and easy. Great midweek one-dish meal. Will make this again. Thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kumquat the Cat's friend April 20, 2010

This has become my "go to" salad for potlucks or BBQ. I used mini bow tie pasta (1/2 the amount listed). Great main course with chicken added!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Husker Jane August 17, 2013

I took this to a Fourth of July cookout last night, and it was definitely a hit! I made it exactly as directed. However, I made the dressing the night before, to let the flavors marry; I adjusted the seasonings by adding more anchovy paste, a bit more dijon mustard, and as other reviewers suggested, worcestershire sauce and a touch of white wine vinegar to even out the flavors. I tossed the hot pasta with grated cheese, part of the dressing and lots of fresh ground pepper, reserving the remaining dressing. We transported the pasta in a bowl, with croutons, the chopped romaine, the rest of the reserved dressing, and both shaved and grated parmesan packed separately. I put everything together right before serving, to excellent reviews. I would definitely make this again. Thanks for an excellent recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lizzie-Babette July 05, 2010

This is one of my favorite pasta salads. I usually make the pasta a day or two ahead and add the croutons and lettuce as it is served. I love the flavor of the dressing. Thanks for a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sacodeb June 15, 2010

So simple and so tasty! I served this topped with Grilled Italian Chicken Breasts and dined outdoors with our outdoor firepit. So romantic and so tasty!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DebS #2 April 02, 2010

Such a refreshing salad for these hot summer nights. This was really enjoyed along with some bbq ribs! I see me making this a regular on our dinner menus throughout the year! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KCHomeCook July 06, 2009

What a great salad this was! My friend and I had it for lunch. I added in some canned chicken and it was excellent! I plan to make this when the summer heat makes it too hot to cook. Just whip up the pasta in the evening and make up the rest of the salad when it's hot out and you have a great lunch or side for dinner! Thank you for sharing this wonderful salad with us Kim! Made for Zaar Stars 3/09 Linda

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linda's Busy Kitchen March 20, 2009

We really enjoyed this along with our ribs and corn. I added black olives to the salad because we love them so much. I also shredded some parmesean cheese over the top before serving along with some freshly ground black pepper and it was so good! Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vickyferland63 August 21, 2008

Very nice salad. I used a bit more garlic, and added shredded parmesan into the dressing to add a salty component. I agree with Culinary Explorer that it was a bit bitter, and think a tablespoon or two of red wine vinegar might add some sourness to offset it. I can see the addition of chicken, diced roma tomatoes and shredded parmesan pushing this into a one-dish meal category. (Made for Pick A Chef Spring 2008). Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cook4_6 April 03, 2008

What a great salad! We did use more garlic since we love it lol, but the rest we kept the same. We sorta felt the dressing was a touch on the bitter side, but couldn't really put our finger on any additions that might make it better. I sorta think maybe it needs a bit more saltiness with more anchovie paste or maybe even some sweetness added in with something like worcestershire or something. Anyway it was very good and we also added olives about midway through the meal. We think this would be great with some grilled chicken as well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CulinaryExplorer March 20, 2008
Caesar Pasta Salad