Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cactus Paddle Salad/Relish or Ensalada de Nopalitos Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cactus Paddle Salad/Relish or Ensalada de Nopalitos

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on November 27, 2002

      My partner only brought me back one bottle of cactus pieces from his trip to Las Vegas and am I ever glad we chose this recipe to use it in! It is very much like a fresh salsa and although we could have used it as a topping for tacos, we lapped it up as a side dish to our main Mexican meal. Thanks Di!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2007

      This recipe is very similar to my mom's, and she makes it all the time, especially for our special occasion barbecues, when we enjoy carne asada. If you are lucky enough to have fresh cactus pieces available, as we are, then you need to julienne, boil with salt, and drain them a couple of times to get rid of the sliminess. Then you can use them in this recipe. Chill this salad, and it is sooo refreshing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2011

      This was pretty good! Nice and quick easy! The kids gobbled in up. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2008

      Quite good. Makes a good salsa for chips. I'm taking this to a 4th of July party to freak out my Yankee neighbors.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2006

      This is an easy and awesome tasting salad, I even added, extra stuff, I added extra mexican oregano jicama,coleslaw,greenpeppers,red and yellow, Jalepeno and carrots.Thanks for your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2006

      This was really good! I ate it with tortilla chips, as a substitute for salsa. This was my introduction to nopalitos (admittedly, I was a little apprehensive), and I'm sure I'll be making this again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2005

      Very good. Used fresh cactus pads and cooked them according to recipezaars instructions, before tossing in the salad. I found the flavors and texture improving over night, so this is ideal to prepare the day before

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2005

      I never liked nopalitos so I made this for the rest of my family instead. The response was that it was spectacular. We used fresh cactus pads from our backyard nearly spineless prickly pear cactus (make sure they are still a deep green color) and then we pretty much followed the same procedure that it says here in recipezaar if you click the "cactus pieces" link above in the ingredient list. Careful not to let the foam boil over! I also added maybe 1/2-1tbsp of lemon juice as one of my family members suggested. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cactus Paddle Salad/Relish or Ensalada de Nopalitos

    Serving Size: 1 (35 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 41.7
     
    Calories from Fat 31
    75%
    Total Fat 3.4 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 76.3 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 2.5 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    3%
    Sugars 1.4 g
    5%
    Protein 0.4 g
    0%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    cactus pieces

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites