8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I didn't have a turnup so I substituted diced rutabaga instead. I also increased the water from two cups to four. I like this soup very much. gabe geber

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gabe Geber June 11, 2001

This was very good. I fried the bacon a little first (right in the pot) before I added the other ingredients. It made the bacon a little less mushy, and I think added a little more bacon flavor to the finished soup.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Terri F. February 21, 2002

Very good and really easy!!!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
clyde poole December 18, 2000

This has been a favorite soup of mine for many years. Like Sugar Jen, I had a ham-bone to toss in. Along with that, I used 1 cup of low-sodium beef broth, and 1 cup of low-sodium chicken broth - instead of the vegetable broth. I don't use onion in my cooking, so I substituted a clove of garlic, and also added a little basil and rosemary, to go with the fresh sage - and a carrot.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Jeff II April 14, 2010

Thank you for posting this recipe. We tried it tonight using leftover Easter ham, the only change I made was to add some carrots, and the whole family gives it 5 stars and declared it a Keeper for sure.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elvishdreamer March 31, 2008

yuuuuum! I wish I could give this 6 or 7 stars! I used my leftover ham from Easter and boiled the bone to use as the base. I don't know why, but for some reason I thought this required a rutabega (I think I read it on someone's review) so I threw one in. The soup was delish! I didn't make the herb bundles, just chopped some sage and parsley from my garden and threw them in. Also I couldn't find any dill seed so I just used dill weed. Thanks for posting, this was easy and yummy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SugarJen March 30, 2008

very nice tasting soup, thanks for the good recipe kirt

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Westbank Boy December 17, 2007

This is good. And easy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lali September 23, 2001
Cabbage Soup With Ham & Fresh Herbs