Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cabbage Soup With Cheese Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cabbage Soup With Cheese

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on February 13, 2007

      Marie Alice, I am so glad no one could see me scraping my soup bowl in order to get the last drop of this delicious soup! This recipe combines three of my favorites, soup, cabbage, and cheese! I used Emeril's Seasoning and omitted the dill and cayenne. I used homemade chicken stock (try Crock Pot Chicken or Turkey Stock, it's ridiculously easy and exceptionally rich). I worried about the consistency when I reheated it, but it turned out fine. This is going on my comfort food list. Thank You, MarieAlice! Sue

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2013

      Using what I had on hand, I made this recipe as written using red onion and purple cabbage, then subbed gorgonzola for the sharp cheddar. OMG. Wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2009

      Perfect on a cold night. I followed the recipe exactly, with the exception of instead of "dried fine herbs", I used sage, dill weed, parsley, cilantro, thyme, a dash of cajun spices and cayenne pepper, and a dash of seasoned salt. Thank you so much for sharing this wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2006

      Browsing around for something different and a little "light" for dinner, I came upon this recipe. It was so very delightful that I can't say enough about it. I did substitute "low fat" when I could...and it was quite easy, really...given fat free half and half doesn't really taste all that different from that heavy cream. Well....ok...but when you don't want or need all the calories....this is one terrific soup. My husband I devoured...I have already emailed my kids (who love to cook) and it's a keeper!!! Kudos Marie Alice!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2006

      FANTASTIC! One of the best soups I ever tasted. I did make a few changes... mild Italian sausage in place of the bacon and sour cream in place of heavy cream makes it a 6 star soup. Everyone whos has tasted it wants the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2006

      Wow! This soup is amazing! I made it with chopped peameal bacon chunks which gave it a lovely smoky flavor and since I didn't have any swiss cheese I used only the cheddar and some half-and-half instead of heavy cream. A perfect soup for a snowy day. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2006

      This soup is loaded with flavor! Perfect flavor combinations. I made it just as written, using thyme and parsley as the herbs. I garnished with some extra chopped green onion. Thanx for this recipe. I'll make this soup again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2005

      Wow! This is a very easy and delicious soup. Strangely enough (considering this is cabbage soup WITH cheese) I think it would work just fine without the cheese. I couldn't really taste it in the soup. Next time, I will just have shredded cheese at the table as an optional topping. I left out the green onions because there weren't any at the store, used half & half instead of cream, and used pieces of meatballs because we forgot to buy bacon! Also, I had no fine herbs, so used a bay leaf, and 1 - 1.5 tsp each of dried oregano and thyme. It is really a wonderful soup. Even better the second day! Thanks so much for the great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2005

      Very good!! Took Summerwines advice, and left out potatoes. Had leftover ham from Sunday dinner and added it to the soup. The slight smokey flavor, made the soup even better. I was snowed in and had to use whole milk, instead of the cream. The soup was still delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2005

      Fabulous soup! Nice and savory. Inexpensive and nutritious with a perfect texture, not to watery and not too thick. I couldn’t keep my spoon out of it! I froze a bowl as I made a huge pot. I might leave the potatoes out next time to keep the carbs down, plus I know I will make another huge pot like I did this time and I will want to freeze it again for a quick meal and the potatoes didn’t hold up too well after freezing, but it was still fantastic. I put the whole bowl frozen in the microwave on low until hot and loved it! Delicious comfort food that I know I’ll be making this throughout the winter. Thanks for this keeper Marie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cabbage Soup With Cheese

    Serving Size: 1 (483 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 752.2
     
    Calories from Fat 506
    67%
    Total Fat 56.2 g
    86%
    Saturated Fat 27.1 g
    135%
    Cholesterol 139.4 mg
    46%
    Sodium 1615.9 mg
    67%
    Total Carbohydrate 34.4 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 6.1 g
    24%
    Sugars 8.1 g
    32%
    Protein 28.9 g
    57%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    dried fine herbs

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes