Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cabbage Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cabbage Soup

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on November 20, 2003

      Evelyn this is definitely a keeper in my books. I didn't have any caraway seed but it still tasted great. Very easy to make, just have everything chopped up ahead of time. I made it this morning and have already had 2 bowls. Thanks for a great soup recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2010

      I've been meaning to make this soup for a while and finally got around to it. I followed the recipe exactly but found it to be too bland when it was completed so I added 1/4 of white vinegar, 1/4 more of fresh dill and I fried up 3 more chopped pieces of bacon. Then the soup tasted delicious. It needed something more than the original recipe. Evelyn's recipes are wonderful.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2007

      Wonderful!!!!! Fast, easy,and good for you too! I am going to use this in my cooking class. "learning in retirement" at the university here in hattiesburg. I also used some fresh ground nutmeg and toasted and ground up the caraway seeds, since I can't have any seeds. I used my "boat motor" to blend it ,but left it a little chunky. I served it sprinkled with fresh grated romano and a slice of old world rhye bread! :-) thanks for sharing. Ingrid

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2006

      This is very good soup. Flavors I have never tried together. I used onion instead of the leak and did everything else the same. DH tasted and said add some more pepper and a dash of cayenne. He really likes his cayenne--to taste not for the heat. He likes so we have a keeper. Gloria

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2013

      Sustituted whole milk for cream and onion for leeks. Needed a touch of salt to serve. Very good, will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2008

      I like it!! Found the recipe with a search for recipes with the cabbage potatoes and carrots I had left over from making corned beef and cabbage earlier in the week. (Corned Beef and Cabbage in Guinness) I used an onion instead of leek, added the leftover broth from the corned beef, and used milk instead of half and half. Added some rice vinegar and dried parsley at the end to brighten the flavor. I tasted it before pureeing and didn't like it at all. Then before adding the milk and it was better but not really good -- too "bacony." But the milk mellowed it out and it was delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2005

      This soup was delicious and one I’ll be making again and again. It was a bit of work but worth it. It didn’t look at all like what I expected. In spite of knowing it would be pureed, I kept thinking it would be like a broth with pieces of cabbage floating around. Instead of pureeing the soup in a blender, I used a handheld mixer, the one with the little circular blade on the bottom and pureed the soup in the pot. The consistency was similar to a vichyssoise. I like caraway seeds and dill in small doses. So I wondered if they might be overpowering but they weren’t. All the flavors blended well and there were no seeds either when the soup was finished. I assume you meant to use fresh dill because it called for a ¼ cup. I had dried dill weed on hand and used about ¼ teaspoon. I also drained off a little bit of the bacon grease. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2004

      Absolutely heart-warming! I made this with red cabbage and did not puree all of it (I did puree about 2-3 cups of the "solids") because I am not a big fan of totally pureed soup. As it is, it is delightfully dense and almost stew-like (just how I like my soups!). I did use the caraway seeds, but not the wine. Otherwise I followed the recipe to a "T", with a few minor changes- did not peel the potatoes (Russets), used whole wheat pastry flour for the flour, used Sucanat rather than sugar, added 2 medium cloves of garlic, and used only 3 slices bacon (Nieman Ranch applewood smoked, which are very flavorful). The soup turned out a lovely almost lavender color, making me think it might be nice for a romantic dinner or Valentine's . It's really lovely and creamy between the roux, the melting of the potatoes and the cream itself! I used homemade chicken-vegetable broth. The leeks add a very subtle oniony flavor, and the carrots add a nice sweetness. I served this with a sprinkling of fresh grated parmesean and some chunks of day-old homemade rye bread (Jan's Irish Soda Bread #9198, actually). Lovely dinner. Thanks, Evelyn!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2004

      This is a great soup! Although I didn't have the wine or caraway seeds it was still very good. I didn't puree it because I liked the texture. Next time I will try to have all the ingredients to make it correctly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cabbage Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (384 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 394.3
     
    Calories from Fat 155
    39%
    Total Fat 17.3 g
    26%
    Saturated Fat 6.9 g
    34%
    Cholesterol 35.4 mg
    11%
    Sodium 493.8 mg
    20%
    Total Carbohydrate 46.5 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 6.5 g
    26%
    Sugars 11.6 g
    46%
    Protein 13.3 g
    26%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites