Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cabbage Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cabbage Soup

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on May 09, 2009

      A highly adaptable recipe to which you can add other ingredients that you have on hand or that the whim of the moment inspires you to add. I doubled the recipe - some for the freezer! I used breezermom's yummy Basic Chicken Stock and Savoy cabbage. I always use Savoy cabbages - they're so much more flavoursome. I added onion, leeks, garlic and mushrooms, about 1/2 teaspoon of cumin and a selection of Italian herbs, and then added some noodles just before serving the soup. I also made this soup two days before we ate it and froze the rest. Those couple of days seem to make such a difference to flavour! The result was a superbly flavoursome soup which I'll certainly be making again. Thanks for sharing this yummy recipe, Boomette. Made for Zaar Stars Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2010

      This is very basic. I used homemade chicken stock and this warmed me up on a cold morning. Made for RECIPE SWAP #45 - October 2010.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2009

      Made this for myself for lunch. I used a bag of coleslaw mix as I had it on hand. As written, I thought it was missing something. I did add some onion and garlic. I didn't add the salt but did add a good bit of pepper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2013

      Outstanding and oh so easy! I added a little smoked sausage, white beans and garlic (always add garlic) for a very satisfying meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2011

      I scaled this back for 1 serve which was enough as a light lunch for the DM and I with sliced wholegrain sourdough. The only change I would make would be to increase the amount of cabbage as it seemed to disappear. The tastes were simple and satisfying. Thank you Boomette, made for Aussie/Kiwi Swap #53 June 2011.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2011

      Great all-purpose soup! I had a bunch of bok Choy and cabbage to use up so I threw them all in here, along with some shredded leftover chicken for added protein. As suggested, I added black peppercorns and bay leaf. Also, I topped it with a dash of cumin and chopped fresh cilantro at the end. Perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2011

      There are some days when you want something clean and simple and this soup fits that bill, but it can also be dressed up by simply adding desired veggies, noodles, chicken and seasoning. I made this soup as written using the two carrot option and by adding 6 peppercorns and a bay leaf at the same time as adding cabbage and carrots. Will be making this again. Thanks for the post.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2010

      Such great taste for such an easy soup! We enjoyed it just as the recipe states but this recipe leaves itself open to so many options: add meat, beans, noodles, additional spices.....We really enjoyed this - thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2010

      Great base for cabbage soup! Thank you for posting this. It was exactly what I needed. I can add beans or leftovers or whatever I'm in the mood to savor. I make large batches of this, divid into 2 cup portions, freeze and then I use it for lunches with a great black rye (pumpernickel)! All recipes should be adjusted to taste while cooking because it's an art, not a science.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2009

      A tasty soup made with things aI usually have around. I added a couple of peppercorns and a bayleaf, and also some chopped tomato, which provided a pretty color to the broth. I think a little chopped potato would also be a good addition. Nothing left for lunch tomorrow!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2009

      Light, tasty, easy... this makes it a 5 star recipe in my book! I used pre-cut cabbage to make this dish tonight with very little prep work. Like Sarah_Jayne, I also skipped the salt, because I think my chicken broth is salty enough. I did add some nice freshly ground pepper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2009

      I cut this in half and had a bowl for my lunch today along with a sandwich. I liked how easy it was to throw together and how nice such few ingredients could taste. I skipped the salt because the stock powder I used to make the broth was pretty salty already. Other than that the only thing I did different was to add a bit of garlic powder. Made for Beverage Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2008

      Delicious soup.Shared some with a neighbour ,she ask me for the recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2008

      Mmm good!!! I was a bit lazy, used preshredded cabbage (cole slaw mix) and it worked perfectly! Did double the recipe and added 2 onions and a bit of tabasco. Thanks Boomette! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2007

      Just what I needed to fill my hungry dieters belly! I spruced it up some - added a few chopped green onions, a little garlic and some parsley. A great basic soup that withstands endless tinkering. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2007

      I loved this recipe! It was simple and delicious. One thng though, I added some chicken meat to it. Will cook again. Thanks.:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2007

      This is a great basic recipe for cabbage soup. I added celery and onion as well to get in some extra veggies. This is great soup to have for lunch and I love that it is low in calories and fat. Thanks for sharing, Boomette!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2007

      I had a hard time deciding how to rate this recipe. As presented, it is a rather simple dish easy to prepare and wonderfully filling. Great go to recipe for those like me who count their points. Using just the ingredients listed, the soup was a wee bland even with a nice sprinkling of black pepper. At twenty minutes into cooking time, I added three or four rings of red onion and a few tablespoons of parsley. Made a terrific difference and with the changes I would say this was more a 3 1/2 or 4. Definitely will make again and continue to experiment with the endless possible spice combinations.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cabbage Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (370 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 115.1
     
    Calories from Fat 31
    27%
    Total Fat 3.5 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1879.2 mg
    78%
    Total Carbohydrate 6.3 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    7%
    Sugars 4.0 g
    16%
    Protein 13.2 g
    26%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes