18 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

A highly adaptable recipe to which you can add other ingredients that you have on hand or that the whim of the moment inspires you to add. I doubled the recipe - some for the freezer! I used breezermom's yummy Basic Chicken Stock and Savoy cabbage. I always use Savoy cabbages - they're so much more flavoursome. I added onion, leeks, garlic and mushrooms, about 1/2 teaspoon of cumin and a selection of Italian herbs, and then added some noodles just before serving the soup. I also made this soup two days before we ate it and froze the rest. Those couple of days seem to make such a difference to flavour! The result was a superbly flavoursome soup which I'll certainly be making again. Thanks for sharing this yummy recipe, Boomette. Made for Zaar Stars Tag.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bluemoon downunder May 09, 2009

This is very basic. I used homemade chicken stock and this warmed me up on a cold morning. Made for RECIPE SWAP #45 - October 2010.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat October 02, 2010

Made this for myself for lunch. I used a bag of coleslaw mix as I had it on hand. As written, I thought it was missing something. I did add some onion and garlic. I didn't add the salt but did add a good bit of pepper.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol April 13, 2009

Outstanding and oh so easy! I added a little smoked sausage, white beans and garlic (always add garlic) for a very satisfying meal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pbanwell March 10, 2013

I scaled this back for 1 serve which was enough as a light lunch for the DM and I with sliced wholegrain sourdough. The only change I would make would be to increase the amount of cabbage as it seemed to disappear. The tastes were simple and satisfying. Thank you Boomette, made for Aussie/Kiwi Swap #53 June 2011.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'mPat June 21, 2011

Great all-purpose soup! I had a bunch of bok Choy and cabbage to use up so I threw them all in here, along with some shredded leftover chicken for added protein. As suggested, I added black peppercorns and bay leaf. Also, I topped it with a dash of cumin and chopped fresh cilantro at the end. Perfect!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hammadjamila January 15, 2011

There are some days when you want something clean and simple and this soup fits that bill, but it can also be dressed up by simply adding desired veggies, noodles, chicken and seasoning. I made this soup as written using the two carrot option and by adding 6 peppercorns and a bay leaf at the same time as adding cabbage and carrots. Will be making this again. Thanks for the post.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbwl January 02, 2011

Such great taste for such an easy soup! We enjoyed it just as the recipe states but this recipe leaves itself open to so many options: add meat, beans, noodles, additional spices.....We really enjoyed this - thanks for sharing the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loof September 05, 2010

Great base for cabbage soup! Thank you for posting this. It was exactly what I needed. I can add beans or leftovers or whatever I'm in the mood to savor. I make large batches of this, divid into 2 cup portions, freeze and then I use it for lunches with a great black rye (pumpernickel)! All recipes should be adjusted to taste while cooking because it's an art, not a science.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dukkie70 February 23, 2010

A tasty soup made with things aI usually have around. I added a couple of peppercorns and a bayleaf, and also some chopped tomato, which provided a pretty color to the broth. I think a little chopped potato would also be a good addition. Nothing left for lunch tomorrow!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
duonyte February 11, 2009
Cabbage Soup