Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cabbage Sausage Supper Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cabbage Sausage Supper

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on March 16, 2010

      Ah, comfort food! DH scarfed down two platefuls. Served with Beer Bread #73440. Even better next day as leftovers. One big change I made, because we like our cabbage tender-crisp... Cooked sausage and onion as directed, then added potatoes, carrots, and water to cook for the 25 minutes. LASTLY, added the chopped cabbage and cooked another 10 minutes. This was perfect for us. Oh, and I halved it. It made two filling meals for the two of us. Only spice it needs is black pepper. Thanks for such an easy, yummy, nutritious dish. Love one dish meals!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2005

      Excellent. I added cubed apples & used chipolata sausage. My husband & I really enjoyed it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2013

      The smoked sausage sounded so good, but I only had uncooked Italian chicken sausage. So I cooked that up with the onion and a little bit of Liquid Smoke. Instead of potatoes (we avoid them because of their glycemic index) I added sliced, unpealed sunchokes (Jerusalem artichokes). I also added a few de-ribbed and chopped collard greens because I didn't have a full head of cabbage, a chopped apple, and a Creole seasoning blend. I don't like overcooked cabbage, so all the veggies went into the pot at the same time. Since there is no grain in this dish, I served it with slices of whole wheat bread. Excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2013

      I made this just too easily. I feel so cheap. :-) *Recipes Without Photo's Tag*

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2009

      We love this with a hot/spicy smoked sausage ... a little red vinegar on the table for those who like it ... very yummy, very filling, very comforting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2008

      This is sooooo good. Loved the smoked sausage. Will make this again soon. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2007

      Shredded the cabbage in a food processor, used Italian sausage, browned whole and then sliced, and didn't drain after browning, but otherwise followed the complex directions to a tee. Terrific! Here's how good it was: I canned the leftovers in a pressure canner. The fairly bland ingredients and absence of other spices act like a sausage amplifier -- a simple but great effect. So the choice of sausage is key, and I can appreciate kielbasa not working so well. This simple combination is right up there with classic corned beef and cabbage, but with the advantage of the more complex flavor of sausage. I plan to try with a hot and spicy breakfast sausage, seared to smoking, with most of the fat drained. Imagine pepperoni.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2007

      Great recipe for getting bunches of veggies onto the kid's and DH's plates not to mention my own. This is very, very good and I will make this again. For those of us who enjoy a little more spice, this could be doctored up easily with the addition of a good Cajun spice and/or Tobasco sauce. Six thumbs up in this house. Thanks Denise in da Kitchen for a super recipe. It's definately a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2005

      Tried this tonight for supper, and it was GOOD! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2004

      My aunt used to make this dish and I just got a hankering for it! Glad to see it posted here, because I couldn't remember everything that went into the pot! Thanks Denise!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2004

      I have made this many times,it's great for winter time. Even though the recipe doesn't call for any seasoning, the flavor is great from the sausage and cabbage.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cabbage Sausage Supper

    Serving Size: 1 (300 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 340.5
     
    Calories from Fat 195
    57%
    Total Fat 21.6 g
    33%
    Saturated Fat 7.1 g
    35%
    Cholesterol 46.2 mg
    15%
    Sodium 673.0 mg
    28%
    Total Carbohydrate 24.8 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 5.1 g
    20%
    Sugars 6.1 g
    24%
    Protein 12.3 g
    24%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites