22 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made the recipe fairly close to written (no veal so more hamburger, real celery instead of celery salt and I doubled the spices), but the result was rather bland. I'm hoping the flavors with intensify over time because there are plenty for leftovers! The blandness could be because I used home canned Roma tomatoes for the sauce. Next time I will either use pork sausage vs. ground pork or/and add garlic and more spices to the tomato sauce. I love cabbage rolls so will keep adapting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
renajune December 12, 2012

I have made these before but not using this recipe, so I thought I would give this a try! I did make mine in the Crock Pot rather than baking.I cooked them on low for about 17 hours, I checked them after 10 hours and the cabbage was not cooked completely and the carrots were a little hard.The taste to me seems better cooking them in the Crock Pot because the moisture being kept inside the pot. I used the extra cabbage to cover the rolls up so they would not dry out.I only used ground beef rather than veal and pork.I doubled the liquid because of the rice soaking up the sauce.Next time I think I will use my spaghetti sauce thats home made from scratch. These freeze very well so don't be afraid of making to many.I did not add any eggs also.I also added 1/4 cup brown sugar.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Mit That's Tim October 27, 2011

This rating is more on my tastes than my families. I dont really like cabbage or heavy tomato tasting food.......but had to use up the stuff in my fridge from another instance where I chickened out of a cabbage recipe. ;-) but DH loved it. Needless to say, he has a freezer bag full of it to eat as he pleases.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TiffanyH #2 October 07, 2009

I followed the recipe exactly. My family and I just didn't care for it. For us something was missing...can't figure out what.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julie55 March 12, 2006

These are fantastic. I actually made them some time ago and here I am getting the recipe to make them again. So, I thought I better rate them while I'm here (forgot to last time) I don't think I have tasted better!! The sauce is terrific, not that boring tomato sauce you sometimes get. I also froze the leftovers and they were just as delicious as they were fresh. I followed the recipe exactly as posted and even had them with mashed potatoes as suggested. FANTASTIC!!! Thanks Rita L these are the only cabbage rolls that will be served in my house.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PennyG December 24, 2005

delicious sauce! i bought stuffed cabbage rolls, but needed to find a way to prepare them, this was perfect! my german dh LOVED it, he asked me to make it again next week when our out-of-town guests come. lol, he said, "now that's good german cooking!" & i had to laugh because it's polish!!! i unintentionally left out the tomato paste,carrots & mushrooms (was in a big hurry), but did add tomatoes

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dolphyn722 October 27, 2005

The sauce on these is wonderful!! I used ground beef, also froze the cabbage before hand...as it defrosted it wilted perfectly so I could roll. DH and I each ate one with dinner tonight...actually made these for a quick meal during the week! Love stuffed cabbage...and we love this recipe! Thanks!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katie in the UP October 21, 2005

These are very good,the only thing I will change next time is to use one cup rice.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NoraMarie October 14, 2005

This is a good recepie, I use to make the golabki in similar way. The only thing I make diferent is the sauce my sauce is not tomato sauce but I mix the ketchup with the cranberry sauce ( about one cup or more of Ketchup and 1 big can of cranberry sauce) I dont put the carrots and mashrooms over the cabbage but I think I may do that next time. I highly recommend that recipe and if you like it try it with my sauce (You will like the sweet aned sour taste). I just want to add that that sauce I learn from my sister -in -law who ate in in restaurant and they were so nice and tell her about that sauce. Smacznego.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bileczka22 September 04, 2005

Great recipe! I couldn't find veal so I used the same amount of lamb instead--which was sharp smelling when raw but once cooked it blended well. I had lots of meat left over however which was so tasty I'm sure I could use it for a stuffed pepper recipe. I wonder if you don't need 2 cabbages or if I just didn't boil it long enough to get the right amount of leaves. At any rate, my husband and I loooved it and I didn't halve it so we'll love it again and again ;) ...and again, great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pearlspine January 05, 2005
Cabbage Rolls / Golabki / Stuffed Cabbage