Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cabbage Rolls / Golabki / Stuffed Cabbage Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cabbage Rolls / Golabki / Stuffed Cabbage

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on April 29, 2003

      I made a few changes to this recipe for religious reasons, and a few just because I'm lazy, and this worked out to a superb dinner! I don't eat pork, and veal is a little hard to get, so I used 3 pounds of ground beef. I splurged a bit and had the butcher grind up the beef for me from a beautiful piece of meat, and I'm glad I did, because it was really worth it. As for the laziness, I didn't parboil the cabbage. I kept it in the freezer overnight, and the leaves peeled off easily in the morning. I also made this in the crockpot, slicing the carrots thinly, and started it up in the morning and cooked it on low for about 10 hours. The house smelled heavenly when I got home. The kids wanted to know why we were eating such special food during the week, they just don't understand how special Zaar Tag can be! Leftovers for lunch the next day made that day special as well (BTW, these reheat beautifully in the microwave)!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2009

      So, we're vegetarian and I LOVE to take non veg recipes and make them veg worthy and this one really passed the test! It's delicious with soy ground meat substituted and no eggs. A perfect Polish hearty vegetarian meal...Thanks a bunch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2011

      This was my first time making cabbage rolls. I was really looking forward to it, sadly it wasn't good. I think for my personal tastes it was the combination of cabbage and tomatos. It might be a great recipe for some but not for me and my family. I will be searching for another one though!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2011

      Best cabbage rolls ever. My 4th time making and everyone loves them. The only change I make is not using veal. I use two pounds beef and one pound pork. Also, I love carrots but not with this dish.
      I prefer green beans or corn.Yummy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2009

      The only change I made to this was to sub elk for the veal because I couldn't find veal and an elk-pork sausage mixture is what I usually use in my golabki anway. I didn't think these were quite as flavorful as my usual recipe, but it was still good enough to get non-cabbage eaters to eat cabbage. The leftovers reheated well in the microwave too. I would probably double the seasonings next time, but otherwise very good. Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2009

      It's my second time using this recipe. My family really enjoyed them. I used ground turkey with ground pork and just added a little more of the spices for more flavor. For the sauce I also used a can of tomato soup with the crushed tomatoes and brown sugar. My mom made these alot but didn't serve anything else with them. BUTdon't forget the mashed potatoes. This is a wonderful compliment to the meal. My husband just raved about the meal. Thanks

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2008

      Wonderful. I made an entire pan of these and they were devoured! The only change I made was I used ground turkey instead. I had meat mixture left over so I formed meat balls and placed them in the pan along with the rolls. Also, I hate to waste a thing so I took the smaller leaves from the center and chopped them and spread on the bottom of the pan to keep the rolls from sitting on the bottom and possible burning- plus the loose cabbage soaked up the sauce and released even more juices and flavor. MMM it was so good. I have never had cabbage rolls before that had mushrooms and carrots in the sauce. What a great addition. Thanks Rita for an authentic and delicious Polish recipe! *Made for ZWT4- East Europe*

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2008

      DH and I really enjoyed this recipe, and it is one that I will make again, trying out a few modifications. We halved the recipe for the 2 of us (and we will still have plenty of leftovers) and followed the instructions exactly as posted. The dish came together very nicely and I did not find it difficult to prepare. It smelled wonderful. I think the meat filling could have been more flavorful, and next time, I will use the proportions of spices listed for the whole batch, while continuing to use half of the meat and rice. I will also add salt to the meat mixture instead of only sprinkling it on the top of the dish. We served the dish over mashed potatoes as suggested. Thanks for a nice meal and one that I will try again. Made for ZWT4.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2008

      My grandmother used to make cabbage rolls when I was younger and I remember loving them. So, I had to try making them myself. These were wonderful!! I accidentally forgot to put the egg in but, they turned out great anyways. In fact, I will probably just ommit it next time as well. Also, I didn't use veal, just beef and pork. I will definately be making this one again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2006

      I made a few changes to this recipe I omited the veal,carrots, & mushrooms. This is the first time I have ever made these and I tell you these came out as good as my mother used to make.These are Great. I made these some time ago and I am back here getting the recipe to make them again. Like the other review I also thought I better rate them while I'm here. I have not tasted better since my mother made them when we were younger!! The sauce is just like moms and I also froze the leftovers and they were just as delicious as they were fresh. Thanks Rita L these are my favorite cabbage rolls that will be served again and again. Jan 09, 2006

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2012

      I made the recipe fairly close to written (no veal so more hamburger, real celery instead of celery salt and I doubled the spices), but the result was rather bland. I'm hoping the flavors with intensify over time because there are plenty for leftovers! The blandness could be because I used home canned Roma tomatoes for the sauce. Next time I will either use pork sausage vs. ground pork or/and add garlic and more spices to the tomato sauce. I love cabbage rolls so will keep adapting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2011

      I have made these before but not using this recipe, so I thought I would give this a try! I did make mine in the Crock Pot rather than baking.I cooked them on low for about 17 hours, I checked them after 10 hours and the cabbage was not cooked completely and the carrots were a little hard.The taste to me seems better cooking them in the Crock Pot because the moisture being kept inside the pot. I used the extra cabbage to cover the rolls up so they would not dry out.I only used ground beef rather than veal and pork.I doubled the liquid because of the rice soaking up the sauce.Next time I think I will use my spaghetti sauce thats home made from scratch. These freeze very well so don't be afraid of making to many.I did not add any eggs also.I also added 1/4 cup brown sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2009

      This rating is more on my tastes than my families. I dont really like cabbage or heavy tomato tasting food.......but had to use up the stuff in my fridge from another instance where I chickened out of a cabbage recipe. ;-) but DH loved it. Needless to say, he has a freezer bag full of it to eat as he pleases.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2006

      I followed the recipe exactly. My family and I just didn't care for it. For us something was missing...can't figure out what.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2005

      These are fantastic. I actually made them some time ago and here I am getting the recipe to make them again. So, I thought I better rate them while I'm here (forgot to last time) I don't think I have tasted better!! The sauce is terrific, not that boring tomato sauce you sometimes get. I also froze the leftovers and they were just as delicious as they were fresh. I followed the recipe exactly as posted and even had them with mashed potatoes as suggested. FANTASTIC!!! Thanks Rita L these are the only cabbage rolls that will be served in my house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2005

      delicious sauce! i bought stuffed cabbage rolls, but needed to find a way to prepare them, this was perfect! my german dh LOVED it, he asked me to make it again next week when our out-of-town guests come. lol, he said, "now that's good german cooking!" & i had to laugh because it's polish!!! i unintentionally left out the tomato paste,carrots & mushrooms (was in a big hurry), but did add tomatoes

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2005

      The sauce on these is wonderful!! I used ground beef, also froze the cabbage before hand...as it defrosted it wilted perfectly so I could roll. DH and I each ate one with dinner tonight...actually made these for a quick meal during the week! Love stuffed cabbage...and we love this recipe! Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2005

      These are very good,the only thing I will change next time is to use one cup rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2005

      This is a good recepie, I use to make the golabki in similar way. The only thing I make diferent is the sauce my sauce is not tomato sauce but I mix the ketchup with the cranberry sauce ( about one cup or more of Ketchup and 1 big can of cranberry sauce) I dont put the carrots and mashrooms over the cabbage but I think I may do that next time. I highly recommend that recipe and if you like it try it with my sauce (You will like the sweet aned sour taste). I just want to add that that sauce I learn from my sister -in -law who ate in in restaurant and they were so nice and tell her about that sauce. Smacznego.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2005

      Great recipe! I couldn't find veal so I used the same amount of lamb instead--which was sharp smelling when raw but once cooked it blended well. I had lots of meat left over however which was so tasty I'm sure I could use it for a stuffed pepper recipe. I wonder if you don't need 2 cabbages or if I just didn't boil it long enough to get the right amount of leaves. At any rate, my husband and I loooved it and I didn't halve it so we'll love it again and again ;) ...and again, great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cabbage Rolls / Golabki / Stuffed Cabbage

    Serving Size: 1 (585 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 492.8
     
    Calories from Fat 213
    43%
    Total Fat 23.7 g
    36%
    Saturated Fat 9.4 g
    47%
    Cholesterol 144.1 mg
    48%
    Sodium 698.9 mg
    29%
    Total Carbohydrate 39.3 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 7.9 g
    31%
    Sugars 10.2 g
    40%
    Protein 33.7 g
    67%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    celery salt

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites