Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cabbage Rolls Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cabbage Rolls

    Average Rating:

    40 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 40

    Sort by:

    • on September 04, 2013

      Great tip for the cabbage. Put your cabbage in 2 plastic bags and tie them up tight. Put your cabbage in the freezer. The night before you make your cabbage rolls take out your cabbage and let it thaw out. Cut out the core and the leaves will just peel off. There is no need to boil the cabbage. My Mother was a Chef and this is what she taught me. It works every time and it is so easy to do. This takes a lot of work out of making these scrumptious cabbage rolls.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2006

      My very first attempt at Cabbage Rolls/Stuffed Cabbage and they turned out wonderful! The hardest thing about it was separating the cabbage leaves from the head without tearing. To get each leaf in one piece without tearing, I put the whole head of cabbage in a 12" wok half filled with water over medium heat to wilt the leaves, then cut each leaf one at a time from the base. Thanks for posting. Will definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2009

      This was amazing! I never used bacon in it before and it was to die for! I added a can of sauerkraut in with the sauce over top because that's the way we like it. A keeper for sure! Thank you for sharing this most excellent recipe! xo LA :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2005

      By far the best cabbage rolls I've ever made!! I cooked the rice before hand and was careful in mixing the right proportion of beef to rice (fluffy) I had about 3 pounds of ground chuck to work with. I grated the carrots and parboiled them for less than a minute, just so they were no longer raw. Then the carrots and onions added to the beef/rice mix made the filling texture perfect-light and loose but still holding together,with great flavor from the veggies and bacon!!The only thing I added to the filling was about a half a teaspoon of garlic powder (would have used fresh garlic if I had had more time.) I took the cabbage apart by cutting out the inner stalk and parboiling each layer to make it easy to remove without tearing (this took a while.) I was looking for that sweet spicy hungarian flavor in the sauce and made it by using one family-size can of condensed tomato soup and one large can of tomato sauce. I used the juice of 4 medium lemons and about 1/4 cup brown sugar, plus almost 2 teaspoons of fine ground black pepper and a few small shakes of ground cloves(not much for the amount of sauce I had.) Took a while to bake at 375, maybe 2 hours (big pan.) I baked it covered at 375 for 1 1/2 hours and another 20 minutes after I took the foil cover off. Great dish. I will always follow this recipe for cabbage rolls!! The carrots and the bacon really make them tasty and the lemon juice added zing to the almost sweet sauce. Very yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2006

      I loved this recipe! My 5 year old and 7 year old were a bit skeptical at first, but they even liked it. I did spice it up a bit by adding ~1/8 tsp cayenne pepper to the sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2009

      I made this last week and my roommates and I thought they were just "okay." The sauce was great but the filling was too plain - could use more flavouring and more veggies. The sacue was great though.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2009

      I'm always looking for recipes that I can fix when friends and family are coming over and saw this. I knew I had to try it and I am so glad I did. The rolls were delicious! I used brown rice instead of white. I left out the bacon, as I prefer them without. I added celery in with the onion and carrot. The end result was a great pot of cabbage rolls that everyone gobbled up and complimented me on with each bite!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2008

      Delicious and healthy. This recipe is a keeper! I used ground turkey instead of ground beef. The results were excellent.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2008

      I can't believe I never rated this. I made it over a year ago. Sorry it took me so long because they are really really delicious. The sauce is wonderful but absolutely needs to be doubled. Gloria

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2008

      I was amazed at the taste of these. The sauce was sweet but not that sweet. Just perfect. The meat was very good also. I had to use my food processor to grate the onion and carrot so they were pretty mushy. I also used it for the bacon and that was finely diced also. I think that is what made the meat so tasty. No chunks of stuff in the meat. It was so good. The whole family devoured it. Even my fussy grandson loved these. Thank you so much for this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2006

      Hi! Since I make a different version of this recipe (which I have not posted) I am not rating it. HOWEVER-try sour cream as a topping. OH YUM! Also, if you want some more zest in the sauce, try Worchestsire sauce. Chops.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2006

      This was my first time, eating, and making cabbage rolls. So Im not sure how they compare to OTHER cabbage rolls. I liked them. To me they were like a meatball, rolled up in a cabbage leaf. My kids ate them, when I said that was what they were! I steamed my head of cabbage first, so it would be easy to roll up, and the cabbage was not at ALL tough as I seen some people complain about. I added a bit of garlic as I seen suggested, I think if I were to make them again, I would put a bit more salt, and mabye some more spices of some sort... It seemed to be missing somthing. Either way it was good, and easy and also a good Frugal recipe :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2006

      Very good! This was my first time making cabbage rolls and we liked them very much. I thought that 8 oz. tomato sauce didn't sound like enough for the sauce, so I used a 14 oz. can of diced tomatoes in juice plus half of a small can of tomato paste. I think I would do this in the future as well. Will definitely make again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2006

      Excellent!! The sauce for these cabbage rolls is amazing. It's sweet, but not overly so. I doubled the recipe and used one red cabbage and one green cabbage. I also added some garlic to the meat mixture just for some added taste. I would rate this 10+ stars if I could. Thanks for a wonderful recipe, MarieAlice!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2006

      These cabbage rolls were awesome!!! Used ground turkey meat, turkey bacon (don't eat red meat), red cabbage and jasmine rice. Had a bunch of people over for Sunday dinner and they went so fast. Even the skeptics ate it and went back for seconds. Will definitely make again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2005

      An excellent recipe. I loved the filling! The sauce was a wonderful contrast. I made this recipe exactly as written, except for adding a bit of minced garlic. The only problem I had was that the cabbage leaves were VERY tough, after cooking. Any tips to prevent this? I don't think the actual recipe was at fault, so I gave it five stars.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2013

      Yum! Everyone liked this recipe and that almost never happens. I did think the sauce was too sweet, but considering the toddlers ate it, it doesn't matter. I used Gailanng's method for wilting the cabbage (#378164) and added parmesan to the meat mixture and subbed garlic powder for the onion to see if the little ones would eat it because they do like garlic. Perhaps that is the trick. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2012

      This was great! I added tumeric, fresh crushed garlic and cayenne pepper because we like spicy. Also we used a hot/sweet salsa for the topping. Entire fam enjoyed it. Thanks very much:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2012

      I love the fact that I don't have to pre-cook the rice for this recipe. I've made it a couple of times now, and here are my modifications - skip the bacon (I have trouble finding un-factory farmed bacon, so I just don't eat it), and replace at least half the beef with 2 cups cooked white beans (any variety; 1 cup dried, soak overnight, boil 30-45 minutes). You still get all the beef flavour and protein, but with half the fat, guilt, and GHG emissions (yay!). I'm too lazy to individually wrap the cabbage rolls, so I chop some cabbage and add it to the mix. Pour half the sauce into a casserole dish, then line the dish with 3-4 layers of cabbage leaves, put the filling into the cabbage "bowl" you've created, cover with more leaves and pour the rest of the sauce on top. The downside is you have to bake it for an hour to an hour and a half. I suggest mixing up some cookies or dessert to make good use of the oven while it's on :).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2011

      Great recipe. I will use again. Prepared exactly as recipe stated but may make some changes next time to give the meat a little more "flavor". The sauce was amazing. Great comfort food. Thanks for sharing. Definitely a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Oven Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cabbage Rolls

    Serving Size: 1 (1467 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 171.9
     
    Calories from Fat 71
    41%
    Total Fat 7.9 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 2.9 g
    14%
    Cholesterol 43.9 mg
    14%
    Sodium 375.7 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.2 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    4%
    Sugars 11.2 g
    45%
    Protein 9.0 g
    18%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites