13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is exactly how I make this, except that I only mix 1/2 a can of the tomato soup into the rice mixture. Then I pour the rest of the tomato soup on in layers like a sauce. I also only do one layer of meat stuff in the middle and end w/ cabbage on top and pour a whole can of tomato soup over the top. I like it to have some sauciness to it, because just like traditional cabbage rolls, we always serve this with mashed potatoes and the sauce is amazing over it! I make this and freeze it quite often. When freezing, I pre-cook the rice and saute the cabbage so that it's mostly cooked. I let it thaw in the fridge overnight and put it in the oven and yumm. Oh, you can also do this in the crockpot :)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NoDramaMama October 06, 2009

Easy and good for you. Only problem I had was in READING the timing on the recipe carefully enough. I got it all together and ready to stick in the oven and THEN saw the hour and a half! One call to the Dominos man, and we had the Casserole the next day.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Mike F October 23, 2002

My favorite casserole! I make exactly as written and it is perfect every time!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
myangelhayden November 11, 2014

I doubled this as I was hoping my family would really like this and I was right. I did not pre cook my rice, just mixed it in and added extra water--about 1 can of water for a double batch. This is easy and so much less work than cabbage rolls. Thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cilantro in Canada September 29, 2010

I did not find that there was enough cabbage in it or atleast I did not get enough of a tast of it,the othere ingredients overpowerd it.I will make it again with less meat and more cabbage,you know these dutch people do not eat much meat!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Els December 03, 2009

UPDATE: Cabbage as still crunchy, but flavour was great. Next time I will soften the cabbage prior to assembly. Can't wait to eat this meal. I just prepared it for the freezer, as I am filling before baby arrives. I added Soy Sauce and HP, as another poster suggested. Meat mixture tasted delicious. I also doubled the cabbage called for. I already sprinkled some grated sharp cheddar on top.I'll come back and review once we eat this meal!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Steph_40135 November 25, 2009

Really good. I too added some garlic and spices. Even my picky DS liked it. It's a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lilcinluwho September 01, 2009

Great recipe. I made it with an 18oz can of campbells select tomato soup and a little extra cabbage. TIP- Cut cooking time in half by microwving the cabbage with a little water for about 5 min. This saved me 50 minutes and it turned out awesome.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kaleen1 December 17, 2008

Easy and tasty weeknight meal. I only had one can of soup so I added some fire roasted tomatoes from the garden, with a couple spoons of homemade garlic habanero salsa for spice. The last touch which I think really added another level of flavor, was to sprinkle some cinnamon into the mix. My family loved this meal. Thanks! This recipe will be one of our wintertime comfort meals.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mama Q September 17, 2008

We loved this. I added a 1/2 can of tomato paste, seasoned the browned beef with Lawlry's salt, black pepper and a splash of worchestire sauce and A1. Followed directions otherwise except mine was done at 1 hr. and 10 minutes. This is delicious cold too. The flavors were great! Thank you Tara.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Doelee July 30, 2008
Cabbage Roll Casserole