Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cabbage Patch Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cabbage Patch Soup

    Average Rating:

    30 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 30

    Sort by:

    • on January 02, 2008

      I made this last night and it was wonderful. I make a "Caldo de Res" soup, its very different but also very similar, however, that soup takes 3-4 hours to cook from beginning to end. This cabbage soup only took me about an hour and the results were magnificent! I just love cabbage, I also added natures seasoning, celery, and carrots for more veggies, I also used dice tomatoes in can; other than that I followed the recipe as is. The recipe makes plenty for leftovers for a couple days, next time I'll probably cut it in half seeing as its just my husband and I and my 5 mth old son who doesn't eat yet. But one day when he can, he'll be praising you for this great recipe because I'll be making it often on those cold nights!! Thanks again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2009

      I found this to be bland for me... I did only have 2 bouillon cubes though so maybe that was the reason,but I just kept adding seasonings until it tasted perfect, thyme, basil,sugar,garlic salt,red pepper flakes, and now it is to do for. Also when I served it I added a spoon of sourcream in the bowl as well that was a great addition.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2008

      This recipe is a good example of why Recipezaar draws me back time and again. I would have dismissed this recipe had it been in a magazine as it sounds so ordinary when you read the ingredients. But here you get to read all the great reviews which give you incentive to give it try. This soup was wonderful!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2013

      This recipe was terribly bland. Something must to be missing. I used 8 cups of water (which included the one cup with dissolved bouillon). A flavor check after thirty minutes of cook time was disappointing. I added another three bouillon cubes, more black pepper, salt, one tablespoon each of chili powder and parsley and another teaspoon of oregano. It helped but the flavor wasn't that great. I decided to try this recipe because everything was on hand and it was super easy to make. This is not a soup I would recommend. I probably won't make it again because, honestly, it just wasn't all that special.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2013

      I added some balsamic vinegar, mushroom stock, and a bit of saracha sauce and ketchup. No kidney beans, ground beef, peppers so left peppers out and used lentils and ground turkey as substitutes. I tripled the garlic used. Even with these changes it is good and I would make it again. Smells like heaven in my home right now :0)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2013

      I have made similar version for years. Since my husband has a small garden and this year has 8 cabbages for me to use I am always looking for new recipes which freeze well. The above soup freezes very well and we love it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2013

      If this is from Lakewood, WA. Then there are a few items that are missing. I know this because I helped many a time the 'Bag Lady' Susan prepare it for the cafe. You left out the heavy cream and curry. Of course there is also a few missing steps,but you wouldn't know about them because they weren't included on the cafe recipe.Many times the beef was cut with lamb...this wasn't served to the customers but set aside for family. I think it's better with the lamb.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2012

      I have made this soup a few times now and it is easily my favourite cabbage soup. Nice and spicy and warming. I do admit to halving the chili but that is to keep all family members happy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2011

      This tastes just like a soup that I loved as a little girl when my mom worked in Snohomish, WA. A restaurant called the Cabbage Patch served this with open face toasted bagels with cheddar. Mmmmm! I've been looking for this recipe for a very long time. Thank you so much for posting jmelyn. You've satisfied a 25 year craving!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2011

      Yum! This soup turned out really good! I used 1 pound of turkey Italian sausage removed from the casing instead of beef. we like hot and spicy, but the 2 T of chili powder was too much. Ours must be extra hot. After tasting the soup at the end, it seemed a little flat so I added about 1/3 cup of red wine and simmered a little longer. I know I'll make this soup again making a couple of adjustments to suite us. So healthy and satisfying. Thanks so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2011

      Wonderful, tasty recipe; like a Mexican twist on a cabbage soup! I made 1/2 recipe, but used 2 garlic cloves and 2 bouillion cubes - and only 1,5 ts of my extra hot chili powder, which made this juuust right, hot but not burning! Will definitely make again, thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2010

      This is my favorite soup. you can add any type of spice, any kind of meat, any kind of liquid and it still comes out perfect. My in-laws think I am a genius!
      Thanks for a great basic recipe that provides endless opportunities for great variations and flavor styles.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2010

      i made this today and it is great! the only changes i made was to use 2 cans of whole tomatoes instead of fresh ones, and i used extra beef granules, probably doubled what the recipe called for. other than that i followed the recipe exactally.
      thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2009

      We really enjoyed this soup. Made it today and followed the recipe with just a few changes. I used 1/2 lb of italian sausage and a can of diced tomatoes...also skipped the grn peppers. I also added about 3 TB of rice just for fun. Good stuff!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2008

      I loved this!! My dh is boycotting soups right now :( so I made this for myself and froze portions for lunches. It was so good! I love the addition of the beans and green peppers. Yum! Its super simple too! Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2008

      The weather has been damp, cold and foggy here lately, so we thought this would be a great dinner. It was!! This was easy to make, and tasted fantastic!! DH and I have enought for at least another day of this. A perfect combination of flavors. YUM! Thank you for sharing this recipe with us!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2008

      This is a wonderful soup and very easy to make. I added 1/4 cup of balsamic vinagar for a little extra kick. Next time I'll use a little less chili powder than the recipe calls for because it tasted a little too much like chili. I froze really well and almost tasted better. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2007

      Loved this recipe, very good. Thanks for a great post!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2007

      This is a very good recipe. We all loved it! Thank you jmelyn.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2007

      This recipe is going in my "best of the best" cookbook! I added more beef boullion cubes but that is the only thing I did differently. Everyone who tried this soup wanted the recipe. Thanks for posting and look forward to trying more of your recipes!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cabbage Patch Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (502 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 293.4
     
    Calories from Fat 130
    44%
    Total Fat 14.5 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 5.5 g
    27%
    Cholesterol 61.8 mg
    20%
    Sodium 678.3 mg
    28%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.7 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 6.7 g
    27%
    Sugars 8.2 g
    32%
    Protein 22.1 g
    44%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites