10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I used half a head of regular cabbage that I had hanging around. Otherwise, I stuck to the original recipe. It was a big hit. I was nervous about the amount of sugar, but it wasn't over-powering. This type of recipe is really my "thing", but the rest of the family was as enthusiastic as I was about it. We all had several helpings, even DD, who hates cabbage! Thanks, Sly Girl!!

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sudie January 19, 2003

This salad is WONDERFUL !!! LOVE IT !!! I really like the fried noodle and sesame seed mixture , and the dressing has the best flavor . I can see this with some chicken or maybe even pork or steak added for a nice summer MEAL? THIS IS GOOOOOD!!

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Theresa P January 18, 2003

WOW! I originally tried this recipe in order to use up some left over cabbage, but I didnt expect this recipe to be so tasty! The whole combination of ingredients seemed a bit strange - but dont let that put you off, I will definitely be making this again! I also replaced some of the veg oil with sesame oil. Thank you for sharing it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AndreaN July 09, 2008

This is a fantastic recipe. I've made it as written a couple of times, but wanted to play with the flavour a bit. If you toast the sesame seeds first and replace 1/4 cup of oil with dark sesame oil, it is SO much better! Also, if you are making in advance you're better off using a more robust cabbage such as savoy. It stays crunchier longer!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GrumpyIrishLady November 05, 2007

Its about time !!!!! I made this about 2 months ago and accidently erased it from my cookbook and i had the hardest time finding it until iI sat down and just hunted. This dish is awesome no changes needed!!!! Thank you

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rennug June 19, 2005

What more can I say about this recipe then it is totally yummy! It went great with my BBQ chicken. I loved the addition of the soy sauce to it, I also added fresh green onions out of the garden. Thanks a whole bunch Sly Girl......

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sheri-BDB May 21, 2005

This is sooooo good. I didnt have enough almonds, I bet it would be even better w/ correct amount. Very good. I will make again. The cup of sugar is a scary caloric thought, I wonder if splenda would be ok??

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MeccaJean January 19, 2005

I forgot the sesame seeds the first time and it was sooooo good that we did not notice till I came to review, lol. I think that made it a little lower in carbs (lets play like). Love it Deb!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
riffraff March 11, 2004

This is great. I used 2 green onions and chicken ramen. I used canola for the oil in the dressing. Excellent salad. Will be using this recipe again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
melsmom February 05, 2004

This was wonderful! Just one question though, are you supposed to cook the ramen noodles first? The first time I didn't, thought it was a bit hard, so I picked them out then cooked up 3 packages and added them to the mixture...fablous flavor..it was a hit at my family gathering...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
strawberryjane December 26, 2003
Cabbage Oriental