19 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wow diner, what a delicious recipe. The picky dh was in heaven. He loved it. It looks burnt but wasn't. It was full of flavors, was tender and juicy. We Loved the butter, cheese and bacon additions to this dish, so yummy. It was quick and ultra easy to make. Made ours on the bbq. Can't wait to make this again. My bro is coming at the end of the month. He is going to love this. Thanks for sharing a wonderful recipe my friend. Made for Culinary Quest - Southern USA for the Suitcase Gourmets.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato August 12, 2014

My husband got rather excited about this grilled dish. I couldn't help but tease and goad by suggesting I loved when he talked that kind of talk. You'd be surprised what you can get out of a man when you speak his language. Made for Everyday Is a Holiday.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng February 17, 2010

This is a great summertime side dish on the grill - I always love to find new recipes for grilled vegetables. My entire family enjoyed this - and cabbage is inexpensive, so that helps!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Viclynn June 17, 2010

This is so yummy!! The cabbage was so flavorful and tender. I baked mine in the oven (400 degrees) for about 45 minutes, then unwrapped and broiled to crisp up the bacon. Really delicious! I will make this often. I think everyone who has this will be pleasantly surprised! Made for ZWT 6.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
susie cooks May 23, 2010

Perfect combination of tastes, blends and herbs! The bacon on the top made this over yonder hill, and I am so excited by this dish, I could of sprung a leak. As Nimz reflected, I pre-cooked my bacon, and was perfection on a stick. I put mine on a long chop-stick and ate mine over a plate. :) Didn't change anything. Made for *ZWT SIX* Zee Zany Zesty Cookz, May 2010

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andi of Longmeadow Farm May 23, 2010

Excellent way to make cabbage, which I love. I used a Garlic and Fresh Herb mixture and salt and pepper and it was perfect. Only used 1/2 slice bacon and layed it over the top. Baked it at 400 for about an hour. Next time I'll precook the bacon a little as it didn't get done. Thanks diner for sharing. Made for ZWT #6 :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Nimz~ May 23, 2010

I do a recipe alot like this, but I cut the cabbage in 4 chunks, butter all cut sides salt and pepper and add a little mccormicks vegetable supreme then wrap each piece up in foil and grill until soft and crispy on the outside...we love it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CIndytc February 18, 2010

Great way to cook a vegetable on the grill while you are grilling. Since I am the lone cook at my house, it helps to have everything in one place! I did cook the bacon partially before placing it in the foil packet with the cabbage. Five stars for the easy preparation! But to be honest, I think I prefer plain old fried cabbage. As stated though, this is another great vegetable recipe for the grill, to be used along with my corn, zucchini, squash, eggplant, onion, mushroom, etc recipes!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom February 22, 2009

Really good cabbage recipe! I didn't use the bacon. Kept everything else the same. My girls were expecting potatoes to be unveiled from the foil, so I got a few funny looks, but everyone really enjoyed this alongside grilled chicken. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BamaBelle30 February 03, 2009

Yummmm! I love cabbage. This was delicious! My DD#1 who hates meat gobbled these up. I think my cabbage was bigger than yours as I ended up needing to split mine into eighths. Now here is what I changed - lol - I cooked these in the oven at 350F along with a few other things. I think they were in there for about 50 minutes total. The bacon was a little gooey yet, so I put them under the broiler for about 5-8 minutes. Worked perfectly. I did not use the parmesan, but half of the family wanted it on theirs afterwards. I did not add salt, nor did I use butter. The bacon grease worked well for both things. - All that being said, this was quite good. I can't wait to make these this summer on the campfire! Made and Reviewed for Football Playoffs Pool - Congrats! Thanks :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LilPinkieJ January 13, 2009
Cabbage on the Grill