Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cabbage Noodles With Crispy Bacon Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cabbage Noodles With Crispy Bacon

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on September 23, 2011

      This is really good. I did it a little different cause I wanted to use the bacon grease to fry the cabbage so it would get more of that yummy bacony flavor. I fried the bacon up first and then added the cabbage to the fried bacon and continued from there. My bacon wasn't crispy because of the way I did it but I like it that way. I skipped the salt but added some nice fresh, minced garlic. I think this dish is great as a main course or a sidedish. It tastes even better the next day. I'm going to try your suggestion of using sour cream as a condiment with this. I'd never thought of doing that before. Thanks for sharing your wonderful recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2010

      Very nice! Simple and satisfying summer meal. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2010

      Pretty good. I just made a meal out of this!:) I used 1 head of cabbage a little more butter, 16 oz bag of egg noodles, and a whole pack of bacon. It was very good. I didn't cook the cabbage until all of turned brown, but i did get it a little brown throughout. I think that next time I will brown more of it... Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2009

      Another excellent cabbage recipe for my favorites binder! Instead of buying the coleslaw mix I shredded some cabbage and carrots and added a couple teaspoons of minced sweet onion. Other than that made it exactly as written. The first time I made it to go with Seasoned Thyme Pork Roast. The second time I made it I served it with chunks of hot kielbasa, mustard, and rye bread and butter. Two great dinners that will be made again. update March 29, 2009 Made this again using shredded cabbage and dried thyme. Served with kielbasa and home fries. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2008

      Haven't added bacon to cabbage and noodles before, but really enjoyed the added flavor. Omitted the thyme or dill and it was still delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2007

      This is a good dish. A bit on the salty side, I would just omit the salt or use low sodium bacon next time. I loved the differences of textures it offers. And a wonderful blend of flavors too. Thanks Kathy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2007

      I couldn't see how this wouldn't be a winner - I love fried cabbage, adore bacon and eat a lot of egg noodles. Sure enough, the combination was excellent! I halved the recipe (as there's only 2 of us), used regular egg noodles (I couldn't find wide ones) and used fresh cabbage rather than bagged shredded. I didn't cook the cabbage for quite as long as directed - probably about 40 minutes - but that's just personal preference as to how we like our cabbage. My other half didn't rave about it quite as much as me but he enjoyed it also (praise indeed!) and we'll definitely be having it again. I served it on it's own (no sour cream or yogurt) with some extra veggies and it was spot on. This is quite a salty dish with the butter, salt and bacon, so do be warned if you're not a big salt fan. I love salty foods and this was fine for me, but I can imagine it might be a little much for some people. Thanks for a great recipe Kathy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2007

      So good! I ate far too much. I did use more bacon (drained the fat) and didn't serve any other meat. I have never cooked cabbage like this before but it won't be the last time! Thanks for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2007

      This was delicious. I've made cabbage and noodles before but never thought of adding the bacon to it. It was a nice touch. Very yummy. I used dried thyme instead of the dill due to personal preference. Very good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2007

    • on October 23, 2005

      This sounds like inside-out cabbage pierogi! I have a similar recipe I call lazy cabbage pierogi, though I do use some sauerkraut in it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cabbage Noodles With Crispy Bacon

    Serving Size: 1 (142 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 295.9
     
    Calories from Fat 80
    27%
    Total Fat 8.9 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 4.5 g
    22%
    Cholesterol 64.0 mg
    21%
    Sodium 281.3 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 45.2 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 3.9 g
    15%
    Sugars 3.5 g
    14%
    Protein 9.3 g
    18%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites