9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this recipe on 3/19/12 for the " Black Pepper Event " in Photo Forum, and for mine and my SO's Dinner.Since it was just the two of us, the recipe was cut in half. Then instead of the kielbasa, smoked sausage was used. I made the broth by using a little over a cup of water and a chicken bouillon cube. As the broth was simmering, a bit of garlic powder was added.I do think that 8 hours on low is way too much for my crock pot, so maybe next time I'll just try about 6 hours.This taste of this recipe reminds me of something similar that my Mother used to make. Thanks for a recipe that brought back very good memories. " Keep Smiling :) "

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef shapeweaver � March 19, 2012

As my husband ate more than his fair share I thought about those Hefty stretch garbage bag commercials. How is it said, "Exactly how much CAN they hold?" Made for Alphabet Soup Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng January 24, 2010

Wonderful crock pot recipe! I made this in a 6 quart crock pot and it was nearly to the top with ingredients. My head of cabbage was pretty big so I added another unpeeled large potato and a large onion. Used 30 ounces of beef broth instead of chicken and 4 pounds of Eckrich skinless polish sausage. Took this to my inlaws for supper and had enough for 3 generous servings and plenty of left overs for the next day. Served with Onion Cheese Bread (Bread Making Machine) by Bethany Taylor and enjoyed by everyone. Made and reviewed for the Cookbook Forums Favorites of 2008 Recipe Tag Game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauralie41 February 22, 2009

Nice Meal. DH husband licked his plate clean and asked when we can have it again. He told me to give it 5 stars.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
happynana February 21, 2008

I opted for another rater's suggestion and decided to use my dutch oven on the stovetop on a low simmer. In about an hour everything was done and was perfect. I used the smaller red potatoes and left on the skins and also mixed in some yellow mustard to the chicken broth for some added flavor. Everything came out perfect and tasted wonderful.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
batricefredsti September 04, 2007

Didn't realize it was a crock pot recipe until I started. Didn't have time for the crock as I was planning to have for dinner. Didn't panic, placed everything in my dutch oven as instructed, cooked at a low simmer for about 45 minutes and WALA dinner was ready. My 19 year old twins loved it as did I. Have placed this recipe into my "Keeper" cookbook as we will be having again. Thanks for sharing

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lee from New Mexico August 19, 2007

Excellent, made this today for Sunday dinner. It smelled heavenly all day. Comfort smell. It was done way before direction time so potatos were a little too soft. Next time I make this I will add more cabbage and some carrots and a shorter cooking time. I would think that you could use most any meat. It reminded me of Boiled Dinner. Thank you talldoc for submitting this great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Riggeroni May 20, 2007

Like the other reviewer, I reduced the recipe to 2 generous servings and cooked it in my Crockette for 5 1/2 to 6 hours. The cabbage was a coarsely shredded coleslaw mix. After giving it a quick taste test, I felt that it was missing something so after it was served, I sprinkled it with freshly snipped dill. It was served with some stone ground mustard and crusty bread for a complete meal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG May 16, 2007

I cut this down in size to fit in my 1 1/2-quart crockpot using 2 cups cabbage, 2 potatoes, and 1/2 pound of kielbasa. I cooked it for 6 hours on low and it was done. This makes 2 generous servings for a solo diner. I will be making this again. Very good comfort food. Made for PAC Spring 2007.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ElaineAnn May 16, 2007
Cabbage Kielbasa Supper