Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cabbage for Those Who Dislike Cabbage Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cabbage for Those Who Dislike Cabbage

    Average Rating:

    200 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 200

    Sort by:

    • on October 14, 2002

      This is the recipe that I use, to get my husband to eat cooked cabbage, but if you add sliced ONIONS to the fry pan the dish takes on a whole new flavor--- like carmalized onions! It is delicious -believe me!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2002

      My family is very fussy but I put this on the table and didn't tell them what it was...no one asked either. They all liked it very much but I would add much more basalmic vinegar next time. I think it needs more flavor. Instead of chopping my own cabbage I used cole slaw mix from the store. I will make this again soon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2002

      This is delicious! I used garlic powder as I had run out of garlic, the sweet and sour flavour in this dish is really nice. Thanks for posting Lennie. =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2002

      This was really good, Lennie! I used chopped onions instead of garlic, plain vinegar, and butter. Had this tonight with chappatis for a very nice dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2002

      Normally a recipe would have to knock my socks off before I gave it a 5 but this cabbage was great (I'm not the biggest cabbage fan). I will certainly make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2003

      Made this with Mark from Yooperland's crockpot ham & Miss Erin's garlic taters for a New Years Day meal. Very Irish & delicious. I also used some broad cabbage leaves, torn, not shredded, & cooked in a dutch oven with lid, instead of a skillet. Came out perfect. Hubby actually thanked me for the meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2002

      Really yummy, thanks Lennie, I used balsamic vinegar and it was delicious, will definately be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2002

      Maybe my cabbage was too big but we didn't think this dish had a whole lot of flavor. Will try again but double the brown sugar and vinegar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2002

      I like cabbage, but not everyone in my family feels the same way. They enjoyed this, actually eating what was on their plates. Really tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2002

      I agree that this recipe could do with a bit more flavour and would suggest doubling the flavouring ingredients

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2003

      Wow, was this good. I sauted some sliced onion in the butter/brown sugar before I added the cabbage. I also used garlic powder instead of the cloves. I like garlic only in small amounts. I tried to get my cabbage hating DH to try it, but he woudn't. My DD came in and found the leftovers in the pan and quickly finished it off exclaiming how good it was. I will definitely make this again even though DH won't even try it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2003

      I tasted as I stirred, and,like the others, thought the dish needed more flavor. I had already doubled the brown sugar and the balsamic vinegar,but still, it needed something. I crushed nearly 1/2 tsp dried tarragon and sprinkled ground ginger on it. It added the flavor I was looking for, but next time I won't double the sugar. I thought it was too sweet. DH gobbled it up and kept saying how delicious it was, and he is not too fond of cabbage..he ate the remainer that was in the pan and asked me to make it again!I had a small head of cabbage because DH dislikes cabbage!I used onions instead of garlic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2003

      I agree with Susan and Debbie. Maybe I had too much cabbage for the amount of "sauce". I will try it again, but with less cabbage.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2010

      After trying coleslaw once, I thought I would hate cabbage for life. Right now, I'm on a fat-flush diet (for the first time in my life). At first, I was disappointed to find that cabbage is high on the list of items to eat to attack belly fat. And THEN I found a Chinese Egg Rolls recipe (I used turkey meat) and now THIS recipe. My mouth was watering before this recipe finished cooking! I followed the recipe, except no salt, and then made some substitutions and additions, for personal taste. First, I took another reviewer's advice and added a whole yellow onion, thinly sliced. I had part of a cole-slaw package leftover from the egg rolls that I used with a whole head of shredded green cabbage. I substituted olive oil for the canola, and ended up with about 1/4 cup olive oil, couldn't resist a second tbsp of butter, and 4-5 cloves of garlic in the pan. I also substituted Balsamic Vinegar for the red wine vinegar. I usually use a lot of spices, but on a whim, I was generous with Greek Seasoning as the only seasoning. Also, personally, I like my food spicy, so I added some thin slices of yellow hot peppers. Finally, I didn't want the package of crab meat I had on hand to go to waste, so in the last 2 or 3 minutes of cooking, added that, too. (I threw in the hot peppers at the same time as the crab.) Once the crab and peppers were thrown in, I added a small splash of lemon juice in the last minute of cooking. I could hardly wait to eat by the time this was ready. I ate 2 servings of this with half a serving of Turkey Cutlets With Balsamic-Brown Sugar Sauce. I was in absolute heaven. Could have had an orgasm. lol Thanks, Lennie, for this recipe! My diet is now something I am really really enjoying!! (Imagine that.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2003

      After reading the reviews, I was unsure of whether to use red wine vinegar or balsamic. I went with the balsamic because I love the stuff. I also added sliced onion, which was AWESOME!! I didn't cook for quite 20 min. I would say it was more like 15, and the texture was perfect. I might be weird, but I think this recipe would be GREAT on hot dogs!!! Well, at any rate, definitely 5 stars in my book! Thanks Lennie! ~Manda

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2009

      5 star all the way! - This recipe is so simple and the end result is so good . I got everthing ready i in the morning so it only took me minutes to prepare, I only cooked the cabbage for about 8 minutes (I like it crunchy) added the vinegar after 4 minutes.Instructions are clear and easy to follow . Thank you Lennie for a great recipe. P.S. there is a bit left over and that will be going into my "clean the Fridge: fried rice - Can't wait Added note: I made this again last night for about the 6th time! with a difference I chopped up a large onion and sauted it it the butter/oil until it was really golden brown then followed the recipe except I used Balsamic vinegar - either way the original recipe or last nights variation this is an excellent veggie dish Thanks again Lennie

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2004

      As one who rarely uses cabbage even though I like it, this was really good! I made this with half green and half purple cabbage to give it nice color. LIke the others suggested, I doubled the sauce ingredients, mixed the brown sugar with the melted butter and oil, and added the vinegar (I used balsamic) after the cabbage had sauteed for a few minutes. Instead of canola oil, I used sesame oil, which gave a nice flavor! I served this with corned beef brisket and the sweet/tangy taste was a nice compliment to offset the saltiness of the corned beef. Also, one thing i noticed is the cabbage reduces ALOT in size after sauteƩing for 20 minutes. My big wearever skillet was full when I started and it reduced to about 1/4 in the skillet when it was fully cooked. I shred 1/2 each of an average sized green and purple cabbage into larger than bite size pieces and it was enough for the two of us with no leftovers. Will definitely make this again with the different variations of red wine vinegar and/or onions. I thought I'd try it also with red cooking wine sometime as well to see how that tastes. If I do, I'll let you know! Definitely a keeper and a great excuse to make cabbage more often!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2004

      Served this with dinner tonight, and it was delicious! Per the suggestion of other reviewers, I doubled the "sauce" ingredients, and found it to be just perfect. I decided to play with half of the recipe, and added a bit of onion, some cayenne, and a small amount of soy sauce...and it was quite delicious too! Thanks for this recipe :) We love cabbage...and will be making this many many times!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2004

      Very Very good!!! Lennie. Will be making it again and again and again..... Did use the sliced onion which caramalised very nicely. And used sunflower oil and plain vinegar (do not have balsamic or red wine)and all of us absolutely went bonkers!! The taste was very different from what we are used to. I made it both ways (cooked longer and shorter) and must say I prefer the crunch. I make cabbage in many ways and thanks for adding to my arsenal!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2004

      Best dang cabbage we ever ate we did leave out the brown sugar we don't eat sugar any more will make again thanks angie

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 10

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cabbage for Those Who Dislike Cabbage

    Serving Size: 1 (80 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 89.3
     
    Calories from Fat 56
    63%
    Total Fat 6.2 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 2.6 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 10.1 mg
    3%
    Sodium 51.6 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.1 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 2.3 g
    9%
    Sugars 5.2 g
    20%
    Protein 1.3 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites