43 Reviews

Yummy, easy recipe to prepare and the perfect dish for a cold winters night. I used 1 pound of ground beef and 1/2 pound of hot suasage.

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Virginia Chandler January 04, 2002

I made a bunch of changes to this, but I still stuck with the overall theme and same ingredients. First, I cut the cabbage into four sections and peeled of the layers. I then boiled those for about 5 minutes. I used ground turkey. I used 1/4 tsp of all of the spices. I browned the turkey and then added the spices to it. I divided everything up into thirds and made three layers of cabbage, then meat mixture, then rice (I used 1/3 cup), then sauce, then cheese (I used 2-3 cups - a handful per layer, lol). I put it in the crockpot on low for about 6-7 hours. IT WAS WONDERFUL! Thank you SO much for such an amazing dish!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Luv2Cook/Hate2Clean:) November 17, 2009

This was great. I was just pleased at how easy it was to throw in the crockpot, not expecting to love it. My kids even like it, and this isn't thier kind of meal. I did cut the cheese in half, and used 1 lb of light sausage for the meat and about 2 cups of cooked brown rice, layering it all like you would a lasagna. Thanks for a great recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sjones168 November 05, 2008

This was really good. I only used half of the cheese and a 26 oz jar of spaghetti sauce. The recipe doesn't tell you what to do with the rice, hence the 4 stars. You need to precook the rice before adding.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Melimae81 February 04, 2010

Everybody liked this recipe. The only reason I gave it only 4 stars is that the directions involving the rice were unclear. When the hour was up the rice was not done. Otherwise a very good recipe that I will make again; precooking the rice first.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
martjc January 22, 2008

I love cabbage and this is the perfect dish for anyone. I make a double batch once a week and freeze half of it for the next week. Also a great source of fiber.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kristal Johnson December 13, 2003

Great comfort food for a chilly night!! i mixed the pork, cooked rice and spaghetti sauce together, started with a layer of cabbage, then all of the meat mixture, then the cheese and finally another layer of cabbage, and dotted some butter on the top. Good stuff !!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChefDebs November 03, 2013

I would say 3.5 stars. I asked my husband to rate it, and he gave it three stars, but I served it to some girlfriends who all liked it. It was very watery, perhaps because I used cooked rice? The recipe was unclear.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CongoGirl January 22, 2010

My batch improved on the second day. Next time I make it I'm going to try to flip it to Mexican by browning the meat and onion with a package of taco seasoning and topping it with cheddar.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kimosabe December 18, 2009

This was good and easy to put together. Next time I'll halve the recipe just for my husband and I. Thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
drinkmore November 20, 2009
Cabbage Casserole