Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cabbage Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cabbage Casserole

    Average Rating:

    43 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 43

    Sort by:

    • on January 04, 2002

      Yummy, easy recipe to prepare and the perfect dish for a cold winters night. I used 1 pound of ground beef and 1/2 pound of hot suasage.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2009

      I made a bunch of changes to this, but I still stuck with the overall theme and same ingredients. First, I cut the cabbage into four sections and peeled of the layers. I then boiled those for about 5 minutes. I used ground turkey. I used 1/4 tsp of all of the spices. I browned the turkey and then added the spices to it. I divided everything up into thirds and made three layers of cabbage, then meat mixture, then rice (I used 1/3 cup), then sauce, then cheese (I used 2-3 cups - a handful per layer, lol). I put it in the crockpot on low for about 6-7 hours. IT WAS WONDERFUL! Thank you SO much for such an amazing dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2008

      This was great. I was just pleased at how easy it was to throw in the crockpot, not expecting to love it. My kids even like it, and this isn't thier kind of meal. I did cut the cheese in half, and used 1 lb of light sausage for the meat and about 2 cups of cooked brown rice, layering it all like you would a lasagna. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2010

      This was really good. I only used half of the cheese and a 26 oz jar of spaghetti sauce. The recipe doesn't tell you what to do with the rice, hence the 4 stars. You need to precook the rice before adding.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2003

      I love cabbage and this is the perfect dish for anyone. I make a double batch once a week and freeze half of it for the next week. Also a great source of fiber.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2013

      Great comfort food for a chilly night!! i mixed the pork, cooked rice and spaghetti sauce together, started with a layer of cabbage, then all of the meat mixture, then the cheese and finally another layer of cabbage, and dotted some butter on the top. Good stuff !!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2010

      I would say 3.5 stars. I asked my husband to rate it, and he gave it three stars, but I served it to some girlfriends who all liked it. It was very watery, perhaps because I used cooked rice? The recipe was unclear.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2009

      My batch improved on the second day. Next time I make it I'm going to try to flip it to Mexican by browning the meat and onion with a package of taco seasoning and topping it with cheddar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2009

      This was good and easy to put together. Next time I'll halve the recipe just for my husband and I. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2009

      I won't lie, I was really worried about this all the way up until I tasted it. It was SO good! Just like a cabbage roll. I used purple cabbage because that's what we had from our CSA. Also, I halved the recipe, but used 1 lb. pork. YUM. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2009

      Loved this recipe. My kids don't like cabbage much, but they had seconds on this!! Even took the last two helpings over to the neighbors to try and they loved it. I am now printing out the recipe for them to try. Thanks for a great new recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2008

      This was excellent! The only change I did was I made it in a crock, and then at the end I sprinkled all the cheese on and broiled it till golden brown. We ate it with sour cream (cabbage and sour cream seem to go together). Great flavor! Easy! Easy! Easy! Thank you for sharing such a yummy recipe! XO LA :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2008

      DH does not like cabbage - at least not until now. I am thrilled because I can have "lasagna" without the pasta-guilt. The only variation was due to my not reading the recipe through first. I did not alternate layers, but instead put all cabbage on the bottom and put each remaining ingredient on top as listed in the recipe. And it is STILL great. Thanks for the "keeper"!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2008

      My husband and I loved this dish!! I did change several things (I had to make due with what I had) but it was still great. I did not have ready made spaghetti sauce so I made a semi-homemade sauce with 1 can stewed tomatoes (chopped) and one can petite cut tomatoes with garlic and olive. I also used a blend of Italian spices instead of what the recipe called for. Finally, I did not use the cheese (to cut down on the fat). I can only imagine how good this tastes with the cheese!! My husband is not a fan of cabbage or tomatoes and he ate three large helpings of this recipe. We will definitely put it on our healthy eating list and make it again. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2008

      It was pretty good. My son still managed to pick out the cabbage though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2008

      Everybody liked this recipe. The only reason I gave it only 4 stars is that the directions involving the rice were unclear. When the hour was up the rice was not done. Otherwise a very good recipe that I will make again; precooking the rice first.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2008

      it was ok.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2007

      Wow, this is a keeper! For our family, with allergy issues (gluten, dairy, pork and soy), this was a perfect choice. It was loved by all, and easy to prepare (mind you, I broke my food processor on the cabbage--oops! My bad...)My daugher, who I would consider to be fussy, wolfed down her supper, and had THIRDS for the first time in her two year old life! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2007

      I wasn't overly impressed with this recipe when I first made it and planned on giving it two or three stars. However, I reheated the leftovers the next day and it tasted so much better and we actually enjoyed it much more. I did make some modifications - I used about six cloves of minced garlic in place of garlic powder as I always use fresh when possible over powders and salts - and I also used sharp cheddar instead of mozzarella.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2006

      I folowed the directions, as stated. I found it an easy dish to prepare. It makes a large amount. Though I normally like cabbage casseroles, as well as lasagna, I did not feel that the spaghetti sauce and the cabbage mesh well in this recipe. The cabbage was overwhelmed by the sauce's flavor--perhaps a lighter flavored tomato sauce would work better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cabbage Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (179 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 15

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 268.8
     
    Calories from Fat 156
    58%
    Total Fat 17.3 g
    26%
    Saturated Fat 7.8 g
    39%
    Cholesterol 57.3 mg
    19%
    Sodium 360.9 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 11.9 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 2.5 g
    10%
    Sugars 5.4 g
    21%
    Protein 16.0 g
    32%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites