65 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I make this all of the time - really great recipe that tastes like cabbage rolls. I add celery and fried bacon to my recipe version - terrific!!!

22 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Graybert March 08, 2002

This was SO easy to make and the taste was not the least bit disappointing. I have attempted to make stuffed cabbage and it has always been a disaster. This casserole gave me the great taste of stuffed cabbage without the hassle! i think my family would eat it 7 days a week. Im not a great cook....but this recipe made me look good. I Really enjoyed this one! :)

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kiiah April 08, 2002

Wonderful! I didn't think I would ever have enough patience to try and attempt make actual Stuffed Cabbage; and this recipe tastes exactly like my moms stuffed rolls; but without the fuss! This is a keeper! Wonderful; would give it more stars if I could! I always wanted to make stuffed cabbage rolls like my mom, but never had enough confidence in myself to "stuff, roll & tuck" without making a mess of it. This recipe tastes exactly like my moms rolls, but without the fuss! The only thing I did different was added a bit more rice, about 1 - 2 more Tbsp. This is a keeper!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TheDancingCook April 22, 2002

We loved this - good old fashioned comfort food! I did fry a few pieces of bacon and then brown the beef and onions in the bacon fat. Thats the way I make cabbage rolls, so thought it would add some nice flavor here too. Easy to make and very filling. If you're a cabbage fan (I love it), then you will like this one. I did have to cook about 30 minutes longer to get the cabbage tender, but I think my oven is a little off

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SuzieQue June 04, 2002

This is good. I will make it again, but I will make a few changes. I would add some hot peppers for some zing. Also would blanch the cabbage first and would throw the rice in the microwave for a bit before adding it to the casserole. I would also like some garlic in it too. It's a great way to fix cabbage and I will fix it again and I'm really glad I found this recipe. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DesertDweller February 24, 2009

Surprisingly good-- especially for someone who doesn't like cooked cabbage. Very easy prep. I didn't have the soup and tomato sauce, so I used 1-6. oz can of tomato paste plus 3 cans of water. I still added the 3/4 water, too. I only needed half the cabbage-- maybe I got a big one? I will definitely make this again. Update: We have made this dish many, many times. It has become a favorite. Sometimes I double the meat in the topping. After cooking, it freezes and reheats well. This is a great dish for people who can't eat gluten or wheat-- the sliced cabbage reminds me of noodles. Very tasty AND filling!! One last thing-- if you have a food processor, it will make the prep go much faster! 2nd Update: Found a faster way to make this. Slice up the cabbage and layer in pan. Place the cooked beef on top. Sprinkle everything else on top. Bake as described. Still comes out good. Much faster (esp. if you bake the hamburger to cook it).

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jackie's Mom December 06, 2008

I was soooo impressed with this recipe! I am trying to eat low-carb to wanted to try this & it was so much better than I thought it would be! Even my picky boyfriend liked it! I used ground turkey and didn't use any oil to brown the meat. I only used a half a head of cabbage because I didn't think the rest would fit in my 13 x 9 pan but now I can see how much it shrinks down so I will definitely use the whole head of cabbage next time - and there will be a next time. This has such great flavor for how little ingredients it involves! Thanks so much for this great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MissJohnnie March 23, 2015

I'm not normally one for cabbage, but with the beef and its sauce, this was really nice. I didn't quite need my whole head of cabbage, but the cabbage to beef ratio was still good! This was lovely and filling and the whole family enjoyed it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anniesnomsblog January 27, 2015

Good recipe. I used a bag of shredded cabbage which made it super easy. It was hearty and we enjoyed it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cinda Lu January 21, 2015

We really liked this. Will make again. I did add a tablespoon of Worcestershire sauce, but that's just personal preference. Not sure it added anything to this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Connie Lea August 23, 2014
Cabbage Beef Casserole