Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cabbage and Potatoes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cabbage and Potatoes

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on January 29, 2014

      We really enjoyed this tasty and comforting dish. Thank you for sharing another winner with us Paula, it is sooo good. Quick and easy to make with ingredients often found in the pantry. I love the addition of the caraway seeds, gives it a lovely punch of bold flavor. The potatoes and cabbage were perfectly cooked. Made as written, but added a little brown sugar to the mix, personal preference only. A wonderful side or main dish with great flavor and wonderful textures.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2011

      This was a really good dish. I changed the proportions a little to have more potato and less cabbage. The bacon definitely makes it. I used 2 pieces of Trader Joe's uncured beef bacon, which is low in fat but has lots of flavor. We had this as a main side dish, so it fed 3.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2010

      Another keeper, Paula. I increased the bacon, I just couldn't help myself. My first time using caraway, and think this was one of the things that really gave this tater dish a real zing. Thanks for a great meal. Made for ZWT6

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2010

      Wow, this was really delicous! We devoured this at dinner and I'm looking forward to eating a little bit of the leftovers for lunch tomorrow. The caraway seeds lend a wonderful flavour to the cabbage. Thanks for posting! Made for ZWT 6 :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2010

      Paula you got a winner here!! I did use a bit more bacon, but controlled it a bit and only used 3 slices. I would even increase that more the next time as I am a huge bacon fan. I added the salt and pepper at the end while browning the potatoes. Loved, Loved, Loved this! Made for a Seasoned Sailor and his Sassy Sirens - ZWT6!! Danke!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2010

      This is the best stuff ever, and I am a happy happy girl for choosing to make this today! To me this is ultimate comfort food. I could graze on this all day until the pan is gone. Really great recipe, I'll make this often. Thanks for sharing PaulaG! Made for ZWT6: No-Nonsense Nibblers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2008

      REALLY GREAT!!! Let me preface this review by stating I dislike cabbage. I belong to an organic vegetable program and get all kinds of things delivered and cabbage and red potatoes came in this weeks shipment. I thought about tossing the cabbage since I've never had a good experience but I decided to get creative and try to work in the potatoes to see if that would improve things. THIS WAS FABULOUS! I actually really liked this a lot...which says a lot. My husband also hates cabbage and thought this was great as well. My kids didn't like it too much...but they don't like anything. I used turkey bacon (wouldn't recommend that again), more red onions than called for (about 3/4 cup), misread the directions and used 3 tablespoons of red wine vinegar (would definitely keep it as I did it) and eyeballed the caraway seeds (which I didn't crush). WONDERFUL! Can't wait for the leftovers today. Made this with saucy burgers from this site and tomato basil pasta salad from this site for the 4th of July. GREAT FEAST! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2008

      I made this for dinner tonight, I needed a bit more than the 1/4c water but I think it just really depends on your spuds. Nice flavour, we liked it and the vinegar gave it a good tang. It would probably be nice with cider vinegar if you were out of red wine vinegar. Made for ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2008

      Wonderful cabbage recipe and it's quite easy to make! It's not overly bacon-y, just enough to give the hint of smpokey bacon flavor. I used ground caraway seeds. So tasty! I'll make this again. Thanx!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2007

      So tasty! I love the intense licorice flavour of the caraway seeds. That really made the dish for us! I replaced the bacon with a slice of salami when I realized we were out of bacon, and it worked out just fine. Very quick to throw together! Thanks Paula!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2006

      This is fantastic, the red wine vinegar and caraway seeds makes this recipe! I also added in a couple teaspoons of brown sugar. Thanks for sharing this recipe Paula!...Kitten:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2005

      This is a great side dish!! DH and I both loved it! Only thing I did different, I skipped the bacon and used olive oil. Wonderful flavors! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2005

      Paula, this was FANTASTIC!!! I followed your recipe exactly except that my kitchen help (DW) forgot to buy a red onion and I was forced to use white. It made little difference. This dish was easy to make and the texture and flavor were perfect. I can't wait to make it again. Thanks for another great recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2005

      I know my DH already left a review, but I feel I should leave one too, since I did all the chopping of the cabbage and potatoes! This was the first time I had ever tasted cabbage and potatoes and it was excellent! It was so easy to prepare and the flavor was wonderful. I will be making this side dish often from now on. Thanks Paula!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cabbage and Potatoes

    Serving Size: 1 (158 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 92.1
     
    Calories from Fat 8
    82%
    Total Fat 0.9 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.9 mg
    0%
    Sodium 45.4 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.4 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 4.5 g
    18%
    Sugars 5.1 g
    20%
    Protein 3.2 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes