23 Reviews

Great recipe, even with the changes I made. I wanted a lighter soup, so I used one can of fat free evaporated milk. It was still delicious. I also used brown deli mustard since I discovered I was out of dijon. Otherwise, I followed the recipe. Easy to make, and nice for a change from the usual potato soups I make. When I reheated the leftovers, I added some smoked sausage and that was a good addition. The smoked sausage flavor goes well with the mustard and caraway. Definately a soup I would make again.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
galponetta February 01, 2011

So, so good. I did fresh rosemary, thyme, and parsley in place of the caraway. And I added some garlic, and used light evaporated milk as I didn't have half and half. Oh, and some lean ham that I sauteed til crispy. And lemon juice. But the base flavor here in the recipe was what made it great... I tasted it before adding the mustard and after, and couldn't believe the difference. Who'd have believed mustard would taste this good in soup? Weird. Delicious. Will make again and again...

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karenlyn2 January 26, 2011

Very good! I made corned beef with boiled cabbage, carrots and potatoes. Instead of dumping the flavorful broth, I skimmed the fat and strained it and used it in place of the chicken stock. I also added some bits of the leftover corned beef to the soup. Yum.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
norava December 05, 2010

What a fabulous comforting soup! I didn't go the low-fat route by adding kielbasa. I skipped the caraway and subbed white onion for the leeks. It was exactly what I was looking for to help warm up one of the first fall weather days.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cause4chubbyhubby September 13, 2006

Creamy, comforting, if I could rate it 10 stars I would. Recipeezaar member lfirebrand served up this decadent soup for a late supper. The flavors are superb, and the smokiness of the bacon (a helpful addition) adds a special boldness to this creamy, elegant dish. I'll make it time and again. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Blanket Girl January 11, 2006

The flavors are unexpected,but they work so well together. I garnished this with a little garlic boursin cheese. YUM. My new favorite potato soup.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ElleFirebrand November 18, 2005

This soup is out of this world delicious! DH & I both loved it. I couldn't stop eating it. The ingredients sound a little odd, but don't let that discourage you from trying this-you will add it to your favorites for sure.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SUSANNASUS May 10, 2005

Wonderful!!! Made this last night for dinner and we really enjoyed this. Went out today and bought garlic bread to go with it for leftovers tonight. This soup will become a regular at this house.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cats Eye May 04, 2005

The combination of potatoes, cabbage and the seasonings made for an excellent soup. This is a delicious soup, one enjoyed by family and special enough to be served to friends. Make plenty because everyone will be looking for seconds. Thanks Dotty2.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gerry March 28, 2005

I agree with others.......the base of this soup is very good but I just couldn't get it to taste "just right", it seemed to be missing something. I did add a bit more salt and pepper and some celery salt and it was almost "right'. Then I added about 1/2 palm full of Parmesan cheese and it was exactly to my taste. <br/>I don't like to rate a recipe that I have changed and almost didn't review, but I did learn that I used a couple of seasonings that I had never used before and they were perfect for the soup. Next time I will chop the cabbage into bigger chunks.......we didn't like the stringy shredded cabbage that much. I will make this again.........just adapted more to our taste in flavorings. Thank you for a soup that I would never thought to make ....the ingredients were very unusual from the soups I have made.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
donnie27 January 06, 2015
Cabbage and Potato Soup