Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cabbage and Potato Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cabbage and Potato Soup

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on February 01, 2011

      Great recipe, even with the changes I made. I wanted a lighter soup, so I used one can of fat free evaporated milk. It was still delicious. I also used brown deli mustard since I discovered I was out of dijon. Otherwise, I followed the recipe. Easy to make, and nice for a change from the usual potato soups I make. When I reheated the leftovers, I added some smoked sausage and that was a good addition. The smoked sausage flavor goes well with the mustard and caraway. Definately a soup I would make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2011

      So, so good. I did fresh rosemary, thyme, and parsley in place of the caraway. And I added some garlic, and used light evaporated milk as I didn't have half and half. Oh, and some lean ham that I sauteed til crispy. And lemon juice. But the base flavor here in the recipe was what made it great... I tasted it before adding the mustard and after, and couldn't believe the difference. Who'd have believed mustard would taste this good in soup? Weird. Delicious. Will make again and again...

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2010

      Very good! I made corned beef with boiled cabbage, carrots and potatoes. Instead of dumping the flavorful broth, I skimmed the fat and strained it and used it in place of the chicken stock. I also added some bits of the leftover corned beef to the soup. Yum.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2006

      Creamy, comforting, if I could rate it 10 stars I would. Recipeezaar member lfirebrand served up this decadent soup for a late supper. The flavors are superb, and the smokiness of the bacon (a helpful addition) adds a special boldness to this creamy, elegant dish. I'll make it time and again. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2005

      The flavors are unexpected,but they work so well together. I garnished this with a little garlic boursin cheese. YUM. My new favorite potato soup.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2005

      This soup is out of this world delicious! DH & I both loved it. I couldn't stop eating it. The ingredients sound a little odd, but don't let that discourage you from trying this-you will add it to your favorites for sure.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2005

      Wonderful!!! Made this last night for dinner and we really enjoyed this. Went out today and bought garlic bread to go with it for leftovers tonight. This soup will become a regular at this house.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2005

      The combination of potatoes, cabbage and the seasonings made for an excellent soup. This is a delicious soup, one enjoyed by family and special enough to be served to friends. Make plenty because everyone will be looking for seconds. Thanks Dotty2.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2012

      I followed the recipe exactly, and tasted it. I immediately thought... this needs corned beef. I put the soup in the fridge, put a corned beef roast in the crock pot overnight and this morning I diced up part of the corned beef and added it to the soup. Delish. It was good without the corned beef, but the flavors all point to corned beef and cabbage. Good soup!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2011

      What a wonderful tasty recipe!! I did use Bavarian seasoning (found out I was out of caraway seeds) and other than that followed the instructions...definately a keeper. Thank you! Next time I will fry up some bacon and add that to the soup for DH for his "meat". Made for Zaar Cookbook tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2010

      I thought that this was really good. I made a few substitutions to make it clean and vegan. I used organic vegetable broth, 5 organic red potatoes & left the skin on, organic coconut oil for butter, one organic onion for a leek since I didn't have any, brown rice flour for all purpose white, 3 garlic cloves, organic dried parsley, and unsweetened almond milk for half-and half. I omitted the caraway seed, tabasco sauce. and worcestershire sauce since I don't have any. I'd like to add carrots next time. It was great to use some of my cabbage and potatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2008

      This is going to be one of our regular favorites! I added some carrots and some parsnip that I had in my fridge which added just another layer of complexity that was wonderful. I've never had dijon in soup before but it brought out all those wonderful flavors. I pureed it with my hand mixer so my 8 year old wouldn't know it was so full of great veggies. Outstanding soup! Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2008

      Excellent flavor and texture! I lightened this bit by using fat free half and half. Still creamy and delicious..... just less fat. I love the extra flavor from Dijon, Worcestershire and caraway seeds! I'll certainly make this again. Maybe add some cheese to it.... that would just put this right over the top. Mmmmmm. Thanx for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2008

      This soup is absolutely delicious! I added about a cup and a half of shredded colby jack cheese to it near the end of cooking time, and it was even yummier! Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2008

      Yum! This was excellent! I used 2c fat free half and half and a cup of skim milk to cut the calories and make this 5 servings, and it was still creamy and wonderful! Thanks Dotty2!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2007

      This is so delicious! I made some changes to make it more of a whole meal. I also needed to serve three adults and three young children. There was not a drop left after dinner. I used 4 cups of chicken broth instead of three and I also used four cups of shredded cabbage instead of two. I used about a pound and a half of red potatoes with the skin on, as I prefer them that way. After the potatoes and cabbage had simmered for ten minutes I added about three quarters of a pound of cut up chicken thighs, skinned and deboned. I also used just one cup of 2% milk and and a half a cup of whipping cream, hoping to make it a little less fattening and not too creamy. And finally, I used a half a teaspoon of red chilli pepper flakes instead of tobasco to give it some spice and I added a tablespoon of cooking sherry for a little more flavor. It was one of the best soups I've ever had. Thank you, Dotty!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2006

      Made this soup for lunch, it was fabulous! I have been using only evaporated skim milk for cream soup & sauce recipes & this was the only exception to the recipe as written. It was thick, creamy & rich, & even better the next day. Thanks for a great recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2006

      What a fabulous comforting soup! I didn't go the low-fat route by adding kielbasa. I skipped the caraway and subbed white onion for the leeks. It was exactly what I was looking for to help warm up one of the first fall weather days.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2006

      Tasty soup! I made a few changes to decrease cholesterol, fat and calories (Olivio spread instead of butter and milk instead of half and half). It still came out great. For those on Weight Watchers - Using 1 c. whole milk and the other 2 c. skim milk I figure it would come out to about 2 WW points per bowl.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2006

      Although its not big on eye appeal, it sure tastes good! I substituted a red onion for the leeks as that was all I had. To reduce fat & colesterol, I used Becel margarine & 1% milk at step 10 - it still tasted good. Thanx Dotty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cabbage and Potato Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (272 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 222.3
     
    Calories from Fat 126
    56%
    Total Fat 14.0 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 8.5 g
    42%
    Cholesterol 41.2 mg
    13%
    Sodium 407.5 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.5 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 1.8 g
    7%
    Protein 6.4 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes