Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cabbage and Potato Fry Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cabbage and Potato Fry

    Average Rating:

    30 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 30

    Sort by:

    • on March 02, 2010

      I love this type of food - very easy to put together and can add or delete ingredients to your taste and still come out delicious. I added minced garlic along with onion and instead of coconut (did not have), I added lightly beaten egg and covered the pan the last 2-3 minutes without mixing. Came out perfectly. The taste is excellent and so nutritious. Thank you eatrealfood for posting this - it's a keeper! Made for Asian Forum's India tag game March 2010.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2008

      This dish was very good. I did follow another reviewer's advice and doubled the spices, and added a little cayenne. I also squeezed a little lemon over it at the table. Yum!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2014

      this recipe was good but I found it rather dry. perhaps is supposed to be like that.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2012

      Nice basic recipe for Indian cabbage fry, but the garam masala we always use, would take it up another notch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2011

      This was a tasty, relatively easy dish to make. It did feel like it was missing something though, especially the cabbage (maybe I just had too much cabbage?). I'd probably make this again. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2011

      Really tasty dish. I didn't have the whole seeds, so just used the powdered versions instead. Thanks! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2010

      This was a very delicious and simple recipe! The flavors worked really well together and the smell is amazing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2009

      This was very good. I did not have the mustard seed, so I use powdered mustard and, in place of the tumeric and coriander, I used Penzey's Punjabi Garam Masala. It was good the next day, maybe even a tad better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2009

    • on February 22, 2009

      This was very good. Didnt have the seed spices on hand so I fried up the ground cumin and mustard in the oil until they were slightly darker and fragrant. Didnt have coconut so I used s splash of coconut milk. We enjoyed this, leftovers were great too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2008

      This dish was pretty good. I had leftover cabbage and potatoes to use, so I'm glad I stumbled upon this recipe. Next time I will double the spices as others have mentioned. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2008

      This was an excellent dish, although we found it to be just a tad bland. Another 1/2 tsp of turmeric and a heaping teaspoon of garam masala did the trick. I also tossed two sliced carrots and a can of shredded chicken in with the potatoes, and served topped with greek yoghurt lightly spiced with coriander and cumin. With these modifications, this dish got a resounding 5 stars around the table. YUM! Thanks, this one is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2008

      I'm not a huge fan of cabbage but after subscribing to a weekly mixed box of fruit & veges I have had to find recipes for my growing supply of cabbage. This recipe is the best I've found yet. It's really tasty and with the addition of potatoes has more substance than most cabbage stir-fries.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2008

      I made this as stated, but doubled the spices mentioned along with adding a good handful of dessicated coconut, since I like it spicy. It is an easy to prepare, good vegetarian dish that should please any palette. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2008

      I made this almost exactly as written - exceptions being the omission of fresh coriander and coconut. I added more spices, as it was a bit bland, and that helped a lot. This was tasty, easy and cheap - I'll probably make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2008

      Very easy to make and provides a delicious way to add vegetables and use up cabbage. Did not add the coconut to maintain the salty/tangy flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2007

      We are Krsna conscious so I substituted the onion with 1/2 tsp yellow hing and 1/2 tsp ginger powder. Also added a tsp of brown sugar. Yum. Left out coriander. Just like mummy makes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2007

      I love cabbage and potatoes and this was a nice hearty additon to a week night meal. I thought that the spices could have been increased a little. Certainly is a healthy alternative to my mother's method of frying cabbage and potaotes up in bacon grease!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2007

      I don't often give 5 stars for a recipe, but I don't often try recipes that take me right back to grandma's kitchen. This is the most delicious healthy recipe ever, and SO economical. I only used one large potato, and I did add about 1/2 tsp of red chili powder. DH was really not thrilled with the idea of cabbage/potatoes for dinner, thinking it would be bland. He had seconds- now that's something!!!:) Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2007

      Since i found this recipe i thought cabbage was hard to cook, but i'so happy i tried this one ! i made it yesterday, i didn't have any indian saffron, so i made without turmeric powder. I used coconut, Thank you ! i will make this again !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cabbage and Potato Fry

    Serving Size: 1 (187 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 7

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 122.5
     
    Calories from Fat 38
    31%
    Total Fat 4.2 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 28.1 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.9 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 4.9 g
    19%
    Sugars 5.3 g
    21%
    Protein 3.1 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes