157 Reviews

Very yummy and NO leftovers (we kept going back for more). Served with sliced ham.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ty's Kitchen September 30, 2011

Soooo good!!! Made this for dinner one evening and had so much left over I took it to a family dinner the next day as an extra dish. It was the first thing gone!! Keeper!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
2monkeymommy September 29, 2011

I love this dish! Very inexpensive to make too! bacon is a must!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommymakeit4u August 06, 2011

Wow!! I was very leery of this recipe, but I've been looking for meatless dishes and this one had high ratings so I gave it a try! WOW! It was melt in your mouth deliciousness! It is a far cry from the traditional southern food I am used to but it is a keeper! 9 year old loved it too!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hannahsmommma November 10, 2010

halved the recipe, used 3 Tbsp butter and no olive oil (could have reduced to 2 Tbsp butter for a lighter meal). I omitted the green pea but added in chicken apple sausages, and a splash of chicken stock just to not make it become too dry. I flavored the dish with 1 tsp salt, and 1/2 tsp black pepper.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
myoungp March 04, 2010

I made these noodles tonight and I must say I have died and gone to heaven. I have never had noodles and cabbage before but I must say this was a real comfort food for me!! I made the whole bag of noodles even though it was just me and my husband...I am taking leftovers (not all) to work tomorrow. I did not use a half of a cabbage, but a bag of the tri color cole slaw...that way we had cabbage, shredded carrots and red cabbage. I added the peas to the noodles the last two minutes of cooking time. A recipe a will be making again and again and again...just hope I have company next time. Served this with Crockpot Maple Country Ribs, but would have loved the noodles as served...thanks for an outstanding recipe Rita.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Denise in NH February 21, 2007

A simply wonderful dish so reminiscent of my Polish grandmother's cooking. I was going to serve it with a grilled ham steak - but the cabbage and noodles were so delicious that DH and I wanted nothing else! While the peas add color, a sprinkling of chopped fresh parsley would suffice. Thanks Rita - this is not only a keeper - but - food for my Polish soul!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lorac January 02, 2003

Only the adults liked this. DH gave it three stars, but then said "You know what this needs....garlic." So, he got the shaker of garlic salt & pepper blend and added it. He changed his rating to four stars after that so I tried it and agreed. Bacon sounds like a great addition, but with some vegetarians in our house, it wasn't an option for our family.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
whtbxrmom June 17, 2015

Yummy and quick. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama January 18, 2015
Cabbage and Noodles