Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cabbage and Noodles Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cabbage and Noodles

    Average Rating:

    155 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 155

    Sort by:

    • on February 14, 2011

      Amended from an earlier review: Being of Hungarian descent I grew up eating it, although without the peas; we called it Haluska, and we had cottage cheese on the side, which tastes awesome. Also, it was served as the main course, not a side dish. Another thing that really enhances the flavor is turning the heat up at the end and getting a good crisp on the bottom. Today I substitute whole wheat egg noodles to enhance the nutrition content. I only give this four stars for one reason, whenever it's cooking it always smells like there's going to be something even better in the pot (say stuffed cabbage?) and when I was a kid I was always dissappointed!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2010

      Husband loved this Rita!! My mom made a similiar dish while we were growing up which everyone loved so I knew he would enjoy this. I did use farfelle noodles since we are vegan and I cut back on them a bit just because they are much heavier than egg noodles. Vegan butter spread worked just fine in place of the salted butter and we replaced some of the salt with spicy season salt. I served with jelly bread - we would always have fresh bread with homemade jelly along with peppery cabbage dishes. This was soooo easy to make, inexpensive, and totally filling!! The DH ejoyed the leftovers the next day just as much. Thanks so much for this keeper Rita!!! Recipenap for Veg*n Swap 28!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2013

      It is just divine!

      I have made this several time, but forgot to post a review. The first time, I added mushroom; because I had to use a few up.

      The second time, made as is.

      This time. NO peas, I was out, but I added some broth as the cabbage cooked. Also, the broth really got soaked up by the noodles which I liked. I also added some red pepper flakes to compensate, NO peas. I know different flavors, just wanted a little extra punch.

      SO - overall, it doesn't matter, Follow it exactly, or do a couple of minor changes like me. I liked each and every time; and will make it over and over.

      This is easily a main dish as well, served with a salad.

      My fave ... those 'big thick' egg noodles. Nothing better. 10 stars for me!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2012

      This was delicious Rita...I used freshly picked cabbage from my garden and made as written except for the peas....deer ate my peas. So, it was onion, cabbage and noodles with the butter, olive oil, salt and pepper. Lots of pepper as you stressed in the recipe. We had this with some grilled bratwurst for a very nice summer supper on the deck. Thanks so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2011

      Yum! This is easy, inexpensive and delicious! I even love the the snuck in peas! Only thing I changed was cutting the butter in half and subing with olive oil just because I couldn't bear to add that much butter! This will be made again and again. Thanks so much Rita!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2013

      Great recipe! I was able to put more cabbage than it (almost a whole head)!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2013

      Excellent. I didn't have noodles, so I added some cooked julienned ham in place of the noodles. Sliced both the onions & cabbage in the food processor with the slicing attachment, very quick to put together & tasty too. Kids loved it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2013

      DH and I absolutely enjoyed this recipe for dinner tonight. Made no modifications and thought none were needed. It was easy, required little prep, was flavorful, and great for a weeknight meal. We made the meatless version. I would definitely make again. Made for Sun and Spice 2013

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2012

      This was great. I made it just about as written. My only change was to omit the olive oil and use about 1 T bacon fat instead. I also added three crumbled slices of bacon at the end. I served it with cottage cheese on the side. So yummy! Next time I will probably cut back on the butter by a tablespoon and reduce the noodles to 12 oz instead of 16. Thanks for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2012

      This is a good, simple way to use up leftover cabbage. We made just as directed adding some bacon bits at the end. It does make a lot though, so be prepared for leftovers!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2011

      Very yummy and NO leftovers (we kept going back for more). Served with sliced ham.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2011

      Soooo good!!! Made this for dinner one evening and had so much left over I took it to a family dinner the next day as an extra dish. It was the first thing gone!! Keeper!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2011

      I love this dish! Very inexpensive to make too! bacon is a must!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2010

      Wow!! I was very leery of this recipe, but I've been looking for meatless dishes and this one had high ratings so I gave it a try! WOW! It was melt in your mouth deliciousness! It is a far cry from the traditional southern food I am used to but it is a keeper! 9 year old loved it too!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2010

      halved the recipe, used 3 Tbsp butter and no olive oil (could have reduced to 2 Tbsp butter for a lighter meal). I omitted the green pea but added in chicken apple sausages, and a splash of chicken stock just to not make it become too dry. I flavored the dish with 1 tsp salt, and 1/2 tsp black pepper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2007

      I made these noodles tonight and I must say I have died and gone to heaven. I have never had noodles and cabbage before but I must say this was a real comfort food for me!! I made the whole bag of noodles even though it was just me and my husband...I am taking leftovers (not all) to work tomorrow. I did not use a half of a cabbage, but a bag of the tri color cole slaw...that way we had cabbage, shredded carrots and red cabbage. I added the peas to the noodles the last two minutes of cooking time. A recipe a will be making again and again and again...just hope I have company next time. Served this with Crockpot Maple Country Ribs, but would have loved the noodles as served...thanks for an outstanding recipe Rita.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2003

      A simply wonderful dish so reminiscent of my Polish grandmother's cooking. I was going to serve it with a grilled ham steak - but the cabbage and noodles were so delicious that DH and I wanted nothing else! While the peas add color, a sprinkling of chopped fresh parsley would suffice. Thanks Rita - this is not only a keeper - but - food for my Polish soul!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2014

    • on September 22, 2014

      I really enjoyed this dish. I love veggies so it was a perfect...quick, easy, and delicious for an after work meal. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe. I can't wait to try it with different things like corn beef! MMMMM, I also had it as a main dish instead of a side, but I guess either way would work just fine. :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2013

      Looking at a few other recipes it was suggested to sweat the cabbage with a tablespoon of salt. So after shredding the cabbage, I sprinkled it with a tablespoon of kosher salt. I let that sit for about 30 - 45 minutes. Before adding the cabbage to the cooked onions, I added lots of pepper smoked paprika and regular paprika to the cabbage. After the cabbage cooked 5 minutes I was ready to eat the veg then! But after 10 minutes we added the pasta and peas.
      The kids liked it but said next time no peas and to double the onions and cabbage. I agree about the onions and cabbage, but I liked the peas too.
      We served this with kielbasa on the side.
      Super yum, 4 out of 7 kids had more than one helping.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 8

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cabbage and Noodles

    Serving Size: 1 (183 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 497.7
     
    Calories from Fat 182
    36%
    Total Fat 20.2 g
    31%
    Saturated Fat 7.0 g
    35%
    Cholesterol 84.1 mg
    28%
    Sodium 100.5 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 66.7 g
    22%
    Dietary Fiber 6.4 g
    25%
    Sugars 7.3 g
    29%
    Protein 13.6 g
    27%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites