157 Reviews

Amended from an earlier review: Being of Hungarian descent I grew up eating it, although without the peas; we called it Haluska, and we had cottage cheese on the side, which tastes awesome. Also, it was served as the main course, not a side dish. Another thing that really enhances the flavor is turning the heat up at the end and getting a good crisp on the bottom. Today I substitute whole wheat egg noodles to enhance the nutrition content. I only give this four stars for one reason, whenever it's cooking it always smells like there's going to be something even better in the pot (say stuffed cabbage?) and when I was a kid I was always dissappointed!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HunkyVeggie February 14, 2011

Husband loved this Rita!! My mom made a similiar dish while we were growing up which everyone loved so I knew he would enjoy this. I did use farfelle noodles since we are vegan and I cut back on them a bit just because they are much heavier than egg noodles. Vegan butter spread worked just fine in place of the salted butter and we replaced some of the salt with spicy season salt. I served with jelly bread - we would always have fresh bread with homemade jelly along with peppery cabbage dishes. This was soooo easy to make, inexpensive, and totally filling!! The DH ejoyed the leftovers the next day just as much. Thanks so much for this keeper Rita!!! Recipenap for Veg*n Swap 28!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mindelicious November 02, 2010

It is just divine!

I have made this several time, but forgot to post a review. The first time, I added mushroom; because I had to use a few up.

The second time, made as is.

This time. NO peas, I was out, but I added some broth as the cabbage cooked. Also, the broth really got soaked up by the noodles which I liked. I also added some red pepper flakes to compensate, NO peas. I know different flavors, just wanted a little extra punch.

SO - overall, it doesn't matter, Follow it exactly, or do a couple of minor changes like me. I liked each and every time; and will make it over and over.

This is easily a main dish as well, served with a salad.

My fave ... those 'big thick' egg noodles. Nothing better. 10 stars for me!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SarasotaCook January 22, 2013

This was delicious Rita...I used freshly picked cabbage from my garden and made as written except for the peas....deer ate my peas. So, it was onion, cabbage and noodles with the butter, olive oil, salt and pepper. Lots of pepper as you stressed in the recipe. We had this with some grilled bratwurst for a very nice summer supper on the deck. Thanks so much for posting!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hey Jude July 27, 2012

Yum! This is easy, inexpensive and delicious! I even love the the snuck in peas! Only thing I changed was cutting the butter in half and subing with olive oil just because I couldn't bear to add that much butter! This will be made again and again. Thanks so much Rita!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jennyblender January 25, 2011

Great recipe! I was able to put more cabbage than it (almost a whole head)!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
monkeyexistent May 29, 2013

Excellent. I didn't have noodles, so I added some cooked julienned ham in place of the noodles. Sliced both the onions & cabbage in the food processor with the slicing attachment, very quick to put together & tasty too. Kids loved it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Larawithoutau April 20, 2013

DH and I absolutely enjoyed this recipe for dinner tonight. Made no modifications and thought none were needed. It was easy, required little prep, was flavorful, and great for a weeknight meal. We made the meatless version. I would definitely make again. Made for Sun and Spice 2013

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dr. Jenny February 13, 2013

This was great. I made it just about as written. My only change was to omit the olive oil and use about 1 T bacon fat instead. I also added three crumbled slices of bacon at the end. I served it with cottage cheese on the side. So yummy! Next time I will probably cut back on the butter by a tablespoon and reduce the noodles to 12 oz instead of 16. Thanks for the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
spanica March 03, 2012

This is a good, simple way to use up leftover cabbage. We made just as directed adding some bacon bits at the end. It does make a lot though, so be prepared for leftovers!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kohtzy January 31, 2012
Cabbage and Noodles