28 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Excellent cabbage dish! I omitted the bacon & used apple juice in place of the water. The result was slightly sweet, savory, a wee bit of spicy, and excellent cabbage. TThank you for sharing this recipe! =)

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susie D February 03, 2010

This is a wonderful meal. I only par cookedthe bacon and added it back in when I added the sausage. I then fried the whole thing until it was carmalized. We served this with garlic mashed potatoes and rolls. (I like to eat the dish on top of the mash potatoes) We will definately make this again, like another reviewer, we thought the balance of flavors was perfect. Thank you so much for sharing ths with us.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour March 04, 2011

I can't believe that I haven't rated this one before now. It has become one of our go to quick meals. I add a splash or two of balsamic vinegar and serve it over mashed potatoes. Even my husband who doesn't really like cabbage likes this. It is a great stick to your ribs, quick meal.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kimberly Keller July 19, 2011

This is a knockout dish. Perfect balance of spicy, salt, and sweet. One of the very few dishes in my repetoire that I'll make exactly the same way every time. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Delvis March 21, 2010

Really great recipe. I reduced the amount of brown sugar by half because I wasn't sure how much I'd like this dish to be sweet. I don't think I'd add the full amount in the future. I also cooked it a little longer, maybe 10 minutes more because I like my cabbage carmelized. I will certainly make it again, great for a winter night!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nat's Eats December 10, 2008

Loved this recipe. I served it over brown rice

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rwhiteman March 04, 2013

This dish is so delicious! I used granny smith hard cider in place of the water but otherwise followed the recipe as written. This has already become a favorite and we'll be having it again and again. Thanks Ms. MO.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mae2september May 11, 2012

This was a great tasting dish. It was also quick and easy to prepare. Will use this many more times. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gwynn May 04, 2012

This was great! I added diced mushrooms to the recipe because my wife loves mushrooms with practically everything. My sons loved it so I guess it was a big hit! We will definitely have this again!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jimocracy November 04, 2011

Yum! We ate this over mashed potatoes, and it was a hit. It was a bit spicier than I expected, so next time I will halve the red pepper. I think we could also handle only using half the sausage. (We are not big meat eaters. It was a fun change of pace to be eating meat and potatoes.) I may also play around with using maple syrup instead of brown sugar next time. Thanks for a solid recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
spanica September 28, 2011
Cabbage and Kielbasa