Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cabbage and Ground Beef Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cabbage and Ground Beef Soup

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on January 12, 2011

      Super good! There was not much broth just in case you are looking for a "brothy" soup. It needs a little bit more flavor. I can't think of what could be added but I would definitely make it again. Great ingredients. Do not be scared of the cloves, nice addition.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2009

      Perfect for a winter day. Terrific aroma and taste! Easy, healthy, and economical. I did sub a small can of tomato sauce for the tomato paste after finding out that I had no tomato paste but otherwise made as posted. This would be also good with diced tomatoes. Made for Everyday is a Holiday.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2011

      This was the perfect bowl of soup to enjoy on a snow day! I was pretty faithful to the recipe, except I used a 6 oz. can of tomato paste, and 4 cups of low-sodium beef broth and 2 cups of water. I also did not use the lemon wedges. A bowl of this is quite filling. Thanks for sharing. Made for Please Review My Recipe Tag Game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2010

      I'm on a diet, and looking for recipes I can make and still fit into my diet.....so I used ground sirloin instead of ground beef to cut fat and calorie count. I was so pleasantly surprised by this recipe....It was delicious! I was able to eat a bowl full of this and still stay within my boundaries!!!! Thanks so much for a delicious, filling recipe. Made for Holiday Tag.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2009

      This was really good. I told my kids it has hamburger rice soup because if I mentioned the cabbage, they wouldn't have eaten it. But my 16 year old son went back for seconds. I didn't have tomato paste, so I used 2 cups of tomato juice and 2 cups of canned tomatoes. I added uncooked rice (about 1/3 cup) and let it cook for about 20 minutes right before we ate.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2009

      I totally loved this soup! I knew I would the minute I saw it. I also used some wild rice mix, but it would be great either way. I also threw in a can of stewed tomatoes. I left out the cloves because I'm not a fan of them. Using the V-8 is a great idea, and I will be doing that next time for sure. Made and Reviewed for Zaar Stars - Thanks! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2009

      I really enjoyed this soup. I used some cooked wild rice that I had in the freezer and V-8 juice instead of the water. I also used coleslaw mix instead of chopping the cabbage.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2008

      I halved the recipe and got about 3 servings. I also made this vegetarian by using meatless crumbles and vegetable broth. Thanks for a hearty soup!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2008

      Tasty & easy! To make it easier, I used the prepackaged cole slaw mix (it was on sale this week) instead of a chopping a head of cabbage. I also added a tsp of Kosher salt, personal preference, and used at least 2 cups of cooked rice. Yum! Perfect! I love it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2008

      This was a great recipe...and very forgiving too! I used all the ingredients pretty much as directed, except I threw the rice in uncooked and just let it simmer longer. As a result, my soup was more like stew, which we loved, and the flavor was fantastic. Made a nice large batch so guess what we'll be having for dinner tonight?

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2008

      Boomie, This is just great. I made it exactly as writted except that I used a carton of beef broth and water to make up 6 cups of liquid. I used brown rice. Very filling, full of vegetables and economical meal.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2008

      Delicious. I too used all beef broth instead of adding water. Also used more ground meat. A very hearty and filling soup, great for cold weather. Boomette, thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2008

      I love cabbage and beef soups and this one is no exception! I found it full of flavor and it has everything I love in it. I replaced the 3 cups of water with 3 cups of additional beef broth. I loved the addition of cooked rice; I used brown rice. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2014

      My whole family gave this 5 stars. And it is simple to modify to your likeing. My grandmother made something very similar with her dumplings. It was so warm and comforting. I thought we'd never have this again since she passed away, but I am so thankful this is on here. The cloves were a nice addition. I used baby carrots to make it easier for me. I let it simmer for about an hour till the cabbage was nice and tender. This just brings back so many memories. Throw in a can of diced tomatoes or a can of kernel corn... This makes a really good dump and pour recipe as it's hard to mess it up. And it's a cheap to make soup as we'll.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2014

      I doubled the recipe. Added a little more cabbage than called for. Omitted the cloves and added 5 large cloves of garlic. Had a very good taste! I didn't add the rice and it was still very good. Adding the rice would have made it a really hearty complete meal. Good fall or winter meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2014

      Loved this soup, very filling, low in calories and it tastes good,

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2014

      Wonderful!!!! All I had was ground deer meat so I used that, and I used the whole 6 oz can of tomato paste. I added another cup of water, 1 beef bouillon cube and 1/2 cup of uncooked rice and cooked it in the pot with the soup. It is not a very brothy soup, but so delicious and tasty - this is a keeper and cannot wait to share this with my extended family! We are always looking for new soups and this one will become a regular. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2014

      Easy to make and healthy too! I added a can of diced tomatoes with basil and garlic. I love garlic so I added 2 additional cloves. Great Paleo soup recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2013

      After I made my typical corn beef and cabbage dinner for St. Pat's my father (who is very Polish) asked me to make cabbage and hamburger soup. Having never made it, I chose this one on a whim and I'm glad I did. This recipe was so super easy and it really impressed my dad. The only exception I made was instead of using the broth recommended in the recipe I used the stock from the said St. Pat's meal and that worked out great too. Thanks a lot :) I'll definitely be using it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2013

      This soup was perfect for me during a bad time with a cold. Was craving something warm and comforting and this soup did the trick. LOVE cabbage in my soup and I also bought the packaged cole slaw mix, used ground round, and all beef broth instead of the water. Made instant brown rice and liked the flavor in the soup better then plain white. Boomette thank you for sharing your recipe! Made and reviewed for the Went to the Market recipe tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cabbage and Ground Beef Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (307 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 295.5
     
    Calories from Fat 110
    37%
    Total Fat 12.2 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 4.0 g
    20%
    Cholesterol 55.2 mg
    18%
    Sodium 529.5 mg
    22%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.0 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 3.9 g
    15%
    Sugars 6.6 g
    26%
    Protein 20.3 g
    40%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    reduced-sodium beef broth

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes