23 Reviews

Super good! There was not much broth just in case you are looking for a "brothy" soup. It needs a little bit more flavor. I can't think of what could be added but I would definitely make it again. Great ingredients. Do not be scared of the cloves, nice addition.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ck2plz January 12, 2011

Perfect for a winter day. Terrific aroma and taste! Easy, healthy, and economical. I did sub a small can of tomato sauce for the tomato paste after finding out that I had no tomato paste but otherwise made as posted. This would be also good with diced tomatoes. Made for Everyday is a Holiday.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WiGal January 04, 2009

This was the perfect bowl of soup to enjoy on a snow day! I was pretty faithful to the recipe, except I used a 6 oz. can of tomato paste, and 4 cups of low-sodium beef broth and 2 cups of water. I also did not use the lemon wedges. A bowl of this is quite filling. Thanks for sharing. Made for Please Review My Recipe Tag Game.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JackieOhNo! January 07, 2011

I'm on a diet, and looking for recipes I can make and still fit into my diet.....so I used ground sirloin instead of ground beef to cut fat and calorie count. I was so pleasantly surprised by this recipe....It was delicious! I was able to eat a bowl full of this and still stay within my boundaries!!!! Thanks so much for a delicious, filling recipe. Made for Holiday Tag.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom September 20, 2010

This was really good. I told my kids it has hamburger rice soup because if I mentioned the cabbage, they wouldn't have eaten it. But my 16 year old son went back for seconds. I didn't have tomato paste, so I used 2 cups of tomato juice and 2 cups of canned tomatoes. I added uncooked rice (about 1/3 cup) and let it cook for about 20 minutes right before we ate.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jane49423 December 06, 2009

I totally loved this soup! I knew I would the minute I saw it. I also used some wild rice mix, but it would be great either way. I also threw in a can of stewed tomatoes. I left out the cloves because I'm not a fan of them. Using the V-8 is a great idea, and I will be doing that next time for sure. Made and Reviewed for Zaar Stars - Thanks! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LilPinkieJ January 10, 2009

I really enjoyed this soup. I used some cooked wild rice that I had in the freezer and V-8 juice instead of the water. I also used coleslaw mix instead of chopping the cabbage.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
55tbird January 04, 2009

I halved the recipe and got about 3 servings. I also made this vegetarian by using meatless crumbles and vegetable broth. Thanks for a hearty soup!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 December 31, 2008

Tasty & easy! To make it easier, I used the prepackaged cole slaw mix (it was on sale this week) instead of a chopping a head of cabbage. I also added a tsp of Kosher salt, personal preference, and used at least 2 cups of cooked rice. Yum! Perfect! I love it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HisPixie December 28, 2008

This was a great recipe...and very forgiving too! I used all the ingredients pretty much as directed, except I threw the rice in uncooked and just let it simmer longer. As a result, my soup was more like stew, which we loved, and the flavor was fantastic. Made a nice large batch so guess what we'll be having for dinner tonight?

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ckorkow December 16, 2008
Cabbage and Ground Beef Soup