42 Reviews

This was delicious, I wasnt sure what the 'liquid reserved' for the tomatoes meant in the directions, I just used the whole tin of tomatoes anyway, and I added a chopped red onion. Was a filling tasty dinner, loved the addition of the kidney beans. Thanks for posting. =)

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Evie* April 17, 2002

Awesome!! I changed a few things. First I added an chopped onion while frying the ground beef. Then 4 cups beef broth & 2 cups water, 2 beef bouillon cubes. Doubled all spices plus 2 T. worcestershire sauce & 3/4 head of cabbage. I also omitted the beans to keep it low carb. So hearty and good! will make often.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
busymommybee August 01, 2007

Super easy and super delicious. I might substitute cooked brown rice for the beans next time to make it a "stuffed cabbage"-type soup, but it was excellent with the beans as well. I'm looking forward to having the leftovers for lunch today!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jodi_m March 25, 2009

This was a really nice cabbage soup which my family enjoyed a lot. I used fresh garlic and added an extra can of diced tomatoes with about a 1/4 cup ketchup for flavor since I was out of beef bouillon. Toward the end, I decided it still needed something so I added about 1/4 cup apple cider vinegar for some tang. Just what it needed!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amy @ Homestead Revival January 21, 2010

We really enjoyed this! I did make a few changes to the recipe...after cooking the beef, I added some sliced carrots and chopped onion and sauteed for a bit then added the tomatoes and cooked another few minutes. Then I added all the spices and substituted chicken broth for 3 c. of the water; used last c. of water to rinse the tomato can out really well. I also used napa cabbage and added in the last 1/2 hour. I omitted the beans this time (only because I felt like it). Will definitely make again! We LOVED it!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SandwichQueen January 19, 2010

Very good, like several others I added an onion into the mix and used 3 cloves of garlic and some red pepper flakes for some heat. I used fire roasted tomatoes and added some smoked paprika as well. Veggies were good and still had a little bite to them after an hour!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Love to Eat!! March 07, 2009

This is absolutely delicious! I LOVE SOUP and so this will definitely be a regular soup in my house! I did make a few changes. I had no celery in the house so I omitted it, but I did chop up a green pepper and add it. As another reviewer, I added onion to the ground beef while it was browning and also a teaspoon of minced garlic. I had a few beautiful tomatoes from the farmers market, so I chopped them up and got as much of their juice from the plastic cutting board into a bowl, added a little water and let it sit for a while, so they could flavor it. I guess my cabbage was huge so I ended up using 7 cups of beef bouillon flavored water, and 4 plain cups of water. I didn't have fresh parsley, so I added it dry in the beginning, probably 2 tablespoons. I also added 6 tablespoon of Francesco Rinaldi's Tomato & Basil marinara, about 2 teaspoons of hot sauce and 2 tablespoons of cayenne pepper and about a teaspoon of season salt plus 2 more teaspoons of minced garlic. And like another viewer, I added a second can of kidney beans!! I know I made a lot of changes, but I like a lot of flavor and it worked out beautifully!!!Absolutely Delicious!!! My boyfriend just ate 3 bowls!!!! It was so good that I'm rating it right now, and it's still on the stove waiting to be put away! Thanks for the recipe!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LaReinita September 20, 2007

The recipe, made as directed had way too much garlic, it overtakes the flavor of the soup, and there just wasn't enough liquid that soup needs, so our altered recipe used 1 tsp of minced garlic, no garlic salt or powder. We added 1/2 tin of tomato paste, and for the beef we used 8 teaspoons of beef bovril, yield 4 cups of broth. We also added in 1 1/2 teaspoons of Worcestershire sauce and salt to taste. I gave the recipe 4 stars just because we had to make so many adjustments to the original recipe, but with the adjustments, this is a soup we will make again and again, so thanks very much for posting the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BussBoss2 July 29, 2014

On 10/15/10 I made this for mine and SO's dinner.As usual I can't leave a recipe alone:) I did " tweak it "some, but I don't think it affected the recipe. Here are the changes that were made as the beef was browning, onions were added.I also added the seasonings to the beef as it was browning to give the soup a deeper depth of flavor. After adding the rest of the ingredients, more seasonings were added to the broth. After simmering for awhile a " tasted test " was done, and I felt it needed something to give it " a little flavor boost " so I added a bit of Old Bay seasoning.And that seemed to do the trick.Since it was more than just the two of us could eat,the rest was frozen for another " tummy warming " meal. Thanks for posting and, " Keep Smiling :) "

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef shapeweaver � October 15, 2010

A definite 5 star! I love cabbage, and the 1/2 head that I had was probably as large as a regular grocery store head. This made A LOT of soup! Not only did I eat all I could handle, I was able to freeze about 4 quarts for later. This is a very versatile soup, and I have an entire list of potential "add-ins" for a future batch. I like that it wasn't overly "tomatoey", but that may have been due to the veggie portions that I used as much as anything else. I love it. Thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DEEP September 27, 2007
Cabbage and Beef Soup