Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cabbage and Beef Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cabbage and Beef Soup

    Average Rating:

    40 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 40

    Sort by:

    • on April 17, 2002

      This was delicious, I wasnt sure what the 'liquid reserved' for the tomatoes meant in the directions, I just used the whole tin of tomatoes anyway, and I added a chopped red onion. Was a filling tasty dinner, loved the addition of the kidney beans. Thanks for posting. =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2009

      Super easy and super delicious. I might substitute cooked brown rice for the beans next time to make it a "stuffed cabbage"-type soup, but it was excellent with the beans as well. I'm looking forward to having the leftovers for lunch today!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2007

      Awesome!! I changed a few things. First I added an chopped onion while frying the ground beef. Then 4 cups beef broth & 2 cups water, 2 beef bouillon cubes. Doubled all spices plus 2 T. worcestershire sauce & 3/4 head of cabbage. I also omitted the beans to keep it low carb. So hearty and good! will make often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2010

      This was a really nice cabbage soup which my family enjoyed a lot. I used fresh garlic and added an extra can of diced tomatoes with about a 1/4 cup ketchup for flavor since I was out of beef bouillon. Toward the end, I decided it still needed something so I added about 1/4 cup apple cider vinegar for some tang. Just what it needed!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2010

      We really enjoyed this! I did make a few changes to the recipe...after cooking the beef, I added some sliced carrots and chopped onion and sauteed for a bit then added the tomatoes and cooked another few minutes. Then I added all the spices and substituted chicken broth for 3 c. of the water; used last c. of water to rinse the tomato can out really well. I also used napa cabbage and added in the last 1/2 hour. I omitted the beans this time (only because I felt like it). Will definitely make again! We LOVED it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2009

      Very good, like several others I added an onion into the mix and used 3 cloves of garlic and some red pepper flakes for some heat. I used fire roasted tomatoes and added some smoked paprika as well. Veggies were good and still had a little bite to them after an hour!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2003

      Thought I was a Shoney's, taste great. I love cooked cabbage the other ingredents just set it off. Thanks for sharing. Danny

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2014

      This recipe was very good. I threw in some mixed vegetables but it was very filling and I will be eating this for at least a week as I made way too much. I just started my diet today so this will be my lunch for a while. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2014

      The recipe, made as directed had way too much garlic, it overtakes the flavor of the soup, and there just wasn't enough liquid that soup needs, so our altered recipe used 1 tsp of minced garlic, no garlic salt or powder. We added 1/2 tin of tomato paste, and for the beef we used 8 teaspoons of beef bovril, yield 4 cups of broth. We also added in 1 1/2 teaspoons of Worcestershire sauce and salt to taste. I gave the recipe 4 stars just because we had to make so many adjustments to the original recipe, but with the adjustments, this is a soup we will make again and again, so thanks very much for posting the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2014

      Great soup, I did some tweaks to my families tastes below....yummmy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2012

      Delicious, healthy and filling... will definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2012

      Easy and delicious. Good base for variations depending on what's on-hand.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2011

      Love this recipe!! Didn't have kidney beans so didn't use those. Added 2 carrots (shredded), used beef and onion soup mix since I didn't have cubes. Turned out so good, both my girls (4 and 9 yrs old) had seconds!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2011

      This was very good! We served this for dinner tonight. I did add Kashi Pilaf, butternut squash instead of carrots (I didnt have any on hand), butter beans, and minced garlic instead. Low-cal, low-fat, nutritious, and just very healthy! Nice warm soup on a cold winter night! This will go in my remake recipes. Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2010

      On 10/15/10 I made this for mine and SO's dinner.As usual I can't leave a recipe alone:) I did " tweak it "some, but I don't think it affected the recipe. Here are the changes that were made as the beef was browning, onions were added.I also added the seasonings to the beef as it was browning to give the soup a deeper depth of flavor. After adding the rest of the ingredients, more seasonings were added to the broth. After simmering for awhile a " tasted test " was done, and I felt it needed something to give it " a little flavor boost " so I added a bit of Old Bay seasoning.And that seemed to do the trick.Since it was more than just the two of us could eat,the rest was frozen for another " tummy warming " meal. Thanks for posting and, " Keep Smiling :) "

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2010

      This was really good, and I did take the advice of other reviewers: carrots, onions, worcestershire, apple cider vinegar, chili flakes, fresh garlic, less salt, smoked paprika and brown rice. Also used veggie crumbles and topped it with nonfat sour cream. The combination went very well together!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2010

      This was delicious! I added some carrots and brown rice, and extra water to make up for the water that the rice absorbed. It was kind of like stuffed cabbage in soup form. I made it twice in two days, it was that good. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2009

      Great soup - I used ground turkey because that's what I had.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2009

      Real good filling soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2008

      Very tasty! I have a lot of cabbage to use and was looking for new ideas.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cabbage and Beef Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (269 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 126.3
     
    Calories from Fat 39
    31%
    Total Fat 4.3 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 1.7 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 24.7 mg
    8%
    Sodium 494.4 mg
    20%
    Total Carbohydrate 11.1 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 3.8 g
    15%
    Sugars 4.1 g
    16%
    Protein 11.0 g
    22%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes