Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cabbage and Beef Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cabbage and Beef Soup

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on March 02, 2010

      I must agree with the other reviewers, this is a nice base recipe. I didn't add an extra can of water, used only 2 buillion cubes, a whole onion, and dumped the whole can of tomatoes in. Half way through the simmering time I found it to be a little bland. I added some oregano, basil and 1T of ketchup then at the end zipped it up with a smidge of vinegar. Thanks for this simple recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2009

      Absolutely delicious - I also used low sodium beef broth and Muir Glen Fire Roasted Crushed (because I don't like diced) Tomatoes (my new favorite for all things tomato). Other than that everything else the same. I'm making it tonight with some leftover T-bone steaks (chopped very small) & the bones to flavor the stockfrom last nights grilling menu. Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2012

      Good base- added lots of Worcestershire sauce for extra taste and northern beans.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2011

      Ideal for a warm, filling meal in the cool weather. I made this as written, but didn't simmer quite as long as listed. It's not gourmet, but it's homey and comforting. Thanx for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2011

      This was really good but a little bland. Will try the italian sausage suggestion.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2010

      Instead of ground beef I use turkey Italian sausage. It adds some extra zest to the soup. I use half the amount of tomatoes called for and use one 15 oz can of fire roasted diced with juice. I don't like celery so I omit that as well. The Italian sausage really adds something to this soup. We love it. And it is great in that you can add anything you want.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2010

      A simple recipe that is quick and made from ingredients I normally keep on hand. Nicely blended flavor and freezes well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2009

      I modified this recipe but it was a great base to adjust according to what I had in the house. I used 1/2 the amount of beef and garlic salt &, doubled the onion, and added cooked rice at the end. It was a delicious soup & I will definitely cook it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2009

      Wonderful winter meal. I used a package of spicy Italian sausage to give it more flavor. And I substituted low sodium beef broth instead of the water and beef bouillion.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2009

      Delicious, easy, and pretty nutritious on top of it all! I agree, a can of beef broth subs for the water and bouillon. I also included the tomato liquid -- easier, and the soup can use it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2009

    • on December 05, 2008

      Just what I needed on this cold, winter day! YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2008

      Excellent! Better the next day! Did use low sodium bouillon cubes, topped it with sour cream and served it with crusty artisan bread. Thanks Manda for this keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2008

      This soup delivers. Easy and fast to prepare, and it simmered for an hour while I had to go out. I came back and supper was done. I added to this wonderful lineup of ingredients a medium-large size potato, diced chunky, and a left over zucchini, diced, and used vegetable bouillion instead of beef. It makes a lot! Great! There's more for another day! Thanks for posting, Manda.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2008

      None of us has ever had cabbage rolls, though I've always considered making them. This soup is fantastic, though. Thanks for a nice hearty dinner that's fairly inexpensive to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2008

      I woke up yesterday wanting to make some cabbage soup (don't ask me why, I've never made it before!) and looked through the Zaar's recipes and settled on this one. Let me tell you, this soup is WONDERFUL --- and so easy to make! I added more onion (probably about 3/4 cup). Also, I substituted a can of beef broth for the water and threw in the "reserved" tomato liquid. Also, I "guesstimated" on the seasonings, probably erring on the heavy side. Thanks, Manda, for this great recipe. I am sure I will make this often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2008

      This was a good and hearty soup but was kind of bland. I fixed that by putting in 2 tsps each of dried basil and oregano. Other than that, great recipe, Manda!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2007

      This was a very tasty soup and quick for me to prepare. I just subbed pinto beans for the kidney and used dried celery flakes,(no fresh on hand)used scallions instead of onion.This made a ton, so off to the freezer with the rest. Thanks for the recipe. Will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2007

      I've been making this soup for years. It is so delicious and very filling! I also use 1 can of beef broth in place of the water and I sometimes omit the kidney beans due to personal preferences in my family. This soup is very versatile!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2006

    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cabbage and Beef Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (446 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 386.0
     
    Calories from Fat 118
    30%
    Total Fat 13.1 g
    20%
    Saturated Fat 5.1 g
    25%
    Cholesterol 74.3 mg
    24%
    Sodium 1479.6 mg
    61%
    Total Carbohydrate 34.9 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 11.8 g
    47%
    Sugars 12.7 g
    51%
    Protein 33.2 g
    66%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites