10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I was surprised by how much my husband - a foodie - liked this recipe. I eliminated the onions because I can't eat them, and substituted a lot of broccoli for the small amount of green peppers. It was a great way to use up ham and I think it would be an excellent way to get kids to eat their vegetables. I would imagine you could use chicken instead of ham or peas instead of peppers or broccoli and have good results.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Liv D. April 19, 2014

I had cooked a ham and was looking for a recipe to use the leftover ham. Tried this recipe and found it to be very good. You definitely need to use the onions and green pepper in the sauce. I had leftover peas and added them to the sauce. Definitely a do again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Truffle Lady46 October 26, 2011

I would rate this 3 stars, but since my husband would not allow me to put onions in (he hates them...) or green pepper I will give this an extra star assuming it would have been better with at least the onions included! We found this to be a bit too bland. Just not enough flavor. Also, I personally thought it would have been better without quite so much ham, but my youngest son wouldn't agree since all he ate out of the casserole was the ham! Since I did not use onion or green pepper, I cut the butter down to 3 tablespoons and that seemed to work out fine. Also probably ended up using more than 3/4 cup cheese in order to better please my husband and sons! All-in-all not a bad meal, but not necessarily well-liked enough by my family to make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AprilShowers September 30, 2007

Great recipe. I cut it into thirds, 'cause it's only DW and me. Otherwise, I followed your recipe. Turned out just wonderful. A nice quick meal.Thanks for posting. jim

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jim in Washington February 22, 2005

This is good and was a good way to use up some ham. This is one to keep in my recipe rotation for variety. Thanks! The sauce was creamy and good and the cheese and onions really finished off the flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mama T January 07, 2005

Yummy. Black Forest ham was on special at the deli counter so I had the deli counter staff cut a couple of thick slices so I could chop it up and try this wonderful recipe. The only change I made was to add a little more grated cheese. Thanks for another 'keeper'.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
foodtvfan May 31, 2004

Wonderful ham and potato dish. I followed your directions exactly with the exception of adding garlic only because I add garlic to everything. This is definately a keeper. Thanks for this very tasty dish. Jan

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Auntie Jan March 28, 2004

This recipe is great! I had leftover ham and was glad I tried this recipe. Next time I might add a few slices of Amer. cheese, only because we think it needs a little more cheese.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
freona November 18, 2003

Tasty and easy to make family meal, very similar to one I have made for years. Steamed some cauliflower and broccoli to go along with it, the sauce in the casserole was just like having a white sauce for the vegetables. Thanks for posting. =)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Evie* May 28, 2002

Oh this was wonderful I made it today for our lunch, it was so fast and easy..It's a keeper.thanks you so much. Dancer^

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dancer^ May 27, 2002
C Hudson's Ham & Potato Casserole