Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Byerly's Wild Rice Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Byerly's Wild Rice Soup

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on November 24, 2010

      We lived in Minnesota 16 years ago and fell in love with this soup. We have it every year at Christmas. The only change I make to the soup is to omit the extra salt. The ham makes it salty enough for us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2010

      I am originally from Minnesota and nothing is better than this recipe! The only variation I do to this is use "Heavy whipping cream" instead of the half and half and double the sherry. I couldn't tell you how many people I have made this for and they all want the recipe! Enjoy it!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2009

      Great recipe. If you want this soup to taste more like the soup from Byerly's double the amount of sherry to 4 tablespoons. This is what helps give it that rich flavor (obviously along with the cream.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2011

      The best I have ever tasted! TY dawn.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2011

      A repeating winner recipe in our house. I was thrilled to find this at food.com. as I don%u2019t have my Byerly cookbook here in AZ with me-just can%u2019t drag around all my cookbooks. Have made this exact recipe many times over the last 20 years. Made as posted except for the fresh parsley. And if you use Oven Wild Rice to prepare rice and then freeze in portion, this recipe is easy and fast. Thank you dawn for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2009

      I am from Minnesota, and LOVE this recipe! I've been making it for years. Thank you for posting it. I was just about to, now I don't need to! I don't vary the recipe at all, just double it because it gets eaten SO fast. It freezes well, although the texture is a little different when you thaw it. The flavor is still the same, though. We're having friends over tomorrow night for dinner, and this soup paired with some crust bread will be perfect! ENJOY!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2007

      I make this every year for Christmas. The soup is rich and creamy and my family can't get enough of it! I've never added the sherry and we don't miss it. Also, I usually just dice the carrots. Serve with breadsticks. This soup is addictive. Thanks for posting this recipe. It is the absolute best wild rice soup recipe out there.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2011

      Best recipe for wild rice soup! I make this every year to go along with our Christmas Eve dinner. I also over the years have added 1 pound cooked bite sized chicken pieces and have even added sauteed sliced button mushrooms. All ways are just to die for! I love my Byerly's recipes!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2011

      I am home-grown Minnesotan and I just love Byerly's wild rice soup. I have been craving it and looking for recipes when I found this site. Woo Hoo !! :) I am so happy and I am making it today. Thank you ... thank you ... thank you. lol

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2008

      This is a wonderful and satisfying soup, I have also chopped up pepperoni and used that instead of the ham - gave it a wee bit of spice. This is now one of our favorites - thank you !

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2008

      I am so happy this recipe is posted! I have made it before and it is delicious. (as everyone knows in MN and been to Byerly's, YUM!) I plan to use leftover turkey and ham to inspire everyone to finish it up! Thank you.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2007

      I used to eat this soup when I was in college. I was searching for a soup similar to the Byerly's recipe. I was excited to find it! This is EXACTLY what I was looking for. Best wild rice soup ever! I doubled it and served it for a non traditional soup Thanksgiving. I also left out the sherry. Will definately make again and again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2014

      I always try to follow a recipe exactly the first time around. <br/>I wondered about the ingredients listing "2 cups wild rice, cooked". That would mean you boil 2 cups of wild rice, which ends up being almost 4 cups. This is way too much for the amount of liquid. I had to add additional broth to compensate, which threw the other flavors out of whack.<br/>"2 cups cooked wild rice", or "1-1/2 cup wild rice, cooked" seems like a better proportion. <br/>Also, the rice will absorb additional liquid if stored. You may need to thin it further for leftovers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2013

      Amazing recipe!! I add diced, cooked chicken!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2013

      Fast soup when ingredients are ready. I love the flavor and everyone else does, too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2013

      This is very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2012

      This recipe is the EXACT version that Byely's restaurant in Minnesota serves. It is excellent!!! I made it as printed except substituted cooking sherry for regular because I didn't have sherry. Since the cooking version contains salt, I left it out and it was perfect. BTW this recipe is available on the back of the label of Canoe brand wild rice, which is the brand I bought. It is canned and already cooked. Makes the recipe super-easy. Not sure who came up with the recipe first, Canoe or Byerly's?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2012

      LOVED IT! Wow, what a great soup, the consistency was perfect and the flavor was wonderful. I used non-fat half and half to cut down on the calories. Thanks for the recipe dawnie and thanks for the recommendation Northern Cook. Please see my rating system, can't wait to make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2007

      I thought this recipe was very bland. Nothing like byerly's wild rice soup....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Byerly's Wild Rice Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (403 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 676.6
     
    Calories from Fat 277
    40%
    Total Fat 30.8 g
    47%
    Saturated Fat 16.6 g
    83%
    Cholesterol 78.7 mg
    26%
    Sodium 1051.7 mg
    43%
    Total Carbohydrate 78.2 g
    26%
    Dietary Fiber 6.4 g
    25%
    Sugars 3.8 g
    15%
    Protein 23.3 g
    46%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites