210 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I can't believe how good this recipe was. I got a couple of large bags of frozen shrimp and was looking for recipes to cook the shrimp with. My first recipe was this one and I am amazed how simple and how good it is. I used more garlic and a little less cream and it turned out great.

21 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LEIGH HENDERSON October 24, 2002

Very yummy!! A great dish for entertaining. The sauce was very rich and creamy. The basil and garlic flavors are true standouts. A beautiful presentation. My family and I gave it 5-stars. Thanks Inez, you have another winner here.

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sunflower August 19, 2002

this recipe is great. I loved it after having a really long day- great comfort food.And really simple to make to boot! I will definitely make this one again and again. Thanks MizzNezz!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
geishafrog March 12, 2003

I made this last night and it was delicious! I used frozen shrimp and bowtie pasta. I left out the red pepper flakes since my kids wouldn't eat that, and I added broccoli to round it out. The sauce was a bit thinner than I'd like, but I'll definitely make this one again. It was a big hit with my kids and husband.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wyndechyme August 10, 2010

On the way home from work, I was thinking about making a quick shrimp and pasta dish and decided to go to my favorite recipe source. When I signed on - there it was - the first recipe listed on the first page under recent 5* reviews. I decided that was meant to be it - so I tried it. WOW! Am I glad I did! I didn't have half and half so I used evaporated milk. It didn't reduce as well, of course, but the dish was outstanding anyway. I didn't alter anything else. Next time, and there will be many more next times, I'll make sure to have all the ingredients. DH said to give a "high five" for this one after he had 3 helpings. No left overs even with just the two of us! Thanks for sharing this great recipe.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PanNan October 26, 2002

Awesome! I used fat free half & half and had to thicken it with some cornstarch, but absolutely divine! Thanks for the great recipe!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cyn February 13, 2004

Simple, quick, easy but a little rich for me. Still yummy, thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nclpalacios June 07, 2011

Fantastic!! Made if for my hubby on Valentines Day. Used 1/8 c.butter and then a little over 1 tbsp of olive oil. Sauteed the shrimp with the garlic. Removed shrimp and added 1 1/2 cups skim milk then 4 oz or more of cream cheese. Had to add about 2 tsp of cornstarch after that. Put the shrimp back in and added about 2 tsp. cajun seasoning, the basil, 1 tsp red pepper and the parm. cheese. Served over whole wheat linguini. Quick, easy and we loved it!!! Thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VickiC February 14, 2011

Fantastic! Just amazing. I loved it and so did my family. Definitely putting in my cookbook and making it again in the future! Thanks for the recipe.

I used frozen shrimp instead of fresh & drained the extra water that collected in the skillet then added a little extra butter. I don't think this is the correct name for the dish because it doesn't taste super buttery but it definitely tastes amazing!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
blinsley December 26, 2010

Pretty good but definitely add cornstarch...I didn't add enough. But I added roasted cauliflower and broccoli at the end and that was really good. I roasted the veggies over olive oil in oven for about 25 minutes. My son loved it.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Texas Crazy 4 Cooking Gal October 12, 2010
Buttery Shrimp And Pasta