24 Reviews

I made this yesterday, and it turned out great. I will admit I've been cooking for over 50 years, so perhaps a few words of advice to those who try this after me: #1. Don't try to make candy when it's humid or damp. #2 Don't trust your thermometer. I started testing for soft ball stage when the temp was 230, and to my surprise, it was ready. #3 You should have a pan full of molten gold. I poured mine into my glass mixing bowl and beat in the powdered sugar...but I stopped at 1 1/2 cups because it looked like it was thick enough. Sure enough, it set up just fine, and is very sweet. A tiny piece goes a long way, but it does very much resemble the See's butterscotch squares in flavor (also my favorite). Oh, and #4 ALWAYS use real butter. <br/>Thanks for a keeper recipe.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon S. September 29, 2013

Lovely taste and texture. My second attempt at fudge (the first was gritty with undissolved sugar.) and it went very well. I have a tip not included in the recipe; do NOT scrape the sides if the pot after it boils, the undissolved sugar from the sides will cause all of the sugar to crystalize.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
November August 13, 2008

DELICIOUS! I just made this Fudge and had to give it an immediate review. It's my 3rd kind tonight, one more to go. Maple Nut is next, and then I'm done with the Fudge. This Penuche is so good!!!!! Came out perfect. Not crumbly at all. I couldn't find my doggone candy thermometer, so I just winged it, and it came out fabulous. My favorite thus far! Very much recommended. Will be a favorite for my Holiday Fudge Recipe Collection.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mamalore58 December 11, 2009

I just made this and like one of the reviews I got a crumbly mixture. I've been making candy for a long time. I think this is something having to do with my dry climate and high altitude. There was a time when I was adding the powdered sugar that I thought the consistancy was about right, and I still had a lot of powdered sugar to add. I will make this again, because it tastes delicious. Just looks weird. Next time I will add powdered sugar until I get the thick creamy texture you get immediately when making chocolate fudge. I hope this helps someone!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NMMomof2 December 03, 2008

These were delicious and so easy to make. The flavor and consistency were almost exactly like See's Candy makes ... and they are my absolute favorite. I've tried many penuches (or brown sugar fudges) made by lots of candy companies and See's is just the best. Fantastic recipe, followed it exactly as written. Thank you NitaCook!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
joy of jess December 02, 2008

I'm sorry but this fudge did not turn out as good as I'd expected it to. I had alot of problem in step 5. On adding the powdered sugar, the fudge did not turn thick and smooth. Instead, it was dry and not of the consistency of fudge at all. What I had in my mixing bowl, were tiny round balls of the mixture of butter-milk-brown sugar and salt(that had been cooked until the soft ball stage). I thought that the amount of butter was less, and added 3/4 cup(melted) more. But, when I tried mixing it with the electric mixer, it was still no use. Then, I tried mixing it with a spoon and it was somewhat better. But still, it hasn't come out upto the mark. Taste-wise it is nice. But, still I wish I knew where the mistake lies in the recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charishma_Ramchandani August 30, 2003

I have never made fudge before. My son and daughter-in-law came to visit at New Year's and Jeffrey asked if I could make them some fudge just like his grandma used to make. This seems a lot simpler to make, but the end result is fantastic: very smooth, creamy and flavorful. We used pecans from our trees, instead of the walnuts and also used the dark brown sugar. Just delicious!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Monica H. January 02, 2014

This is pure heaven. We made this recipe for our holiday trays and I LOVED LOVED LOVED this fudge. DH's grandma makes a fudge that is wonderful and all us girls have been trying to duplicate it and I think I'm a winner here. We all loved it. Thank you so so much for sharing this recipe, it is a family favorite for sure.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour February 07, 2011

This recipe needs tweaking. I had a fudge home business and needed a Penuche recipe without corn syrup. I can tell you, this recipe has too high a temp for soft texture fudge. A couple of changes to note ... I used one cube unsalted butter with half a cube salted butter, eliminating the salt. I used 1 1/2 cups powdered sugar to mix at the end. I cooked the slurry (sugars and butter and milk) up to 234°-235° which is soft ball stage. This makes the candy smooth and fudge-like. The higher temp makes the candy crumbly yet still delicious. Ant higher and you run the risk of burning the sugars. Enjoy! pjm 2015

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SweetSerenade June 06, 2015

This recipe was very clear and easy to follow. I read the reviews first and was a little worried. But, everything turned out great. I followed the instructions exactly and ended up with delicious fudge. Definitely recommend for penuche lovers.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bbouffard1213 March 31, 2015
Buttery Penuche (Brown Sugar) Fudge