103 Reviews

Made a great breakfast treat! Used your suggestion of grated orange peel with sugar and cinnamon topping, which makes a nice sweet breakfast treat with out being too sweet. The only change made was to cut the recipe down as there was only two of us. Will make again. Thanks for the post.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbwl May 01, 2010

Wow, just awesome Bergy!!!! These bikkies are flaky like any biscuit should be and soooo tender at the same time. I luved the simple plain taste that lend itself well to all sorts of toppings. The preparation was super easy, too. I made half the recipe, used spelt flour and needed a bit less milk, but other than that stuck to your recipe. It turned out yummy and made for a wonderful breakkie! THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing your recipe with us, Bergy! I will make these yummies again! Made and reviewed for Farm Cooking With Andi of Longmeadow Farm May 2010.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula May 01, 2010

The whole fam loved them. Easy and simple plus I loved that you don't have to cut them out one less thing to do and less mess. I also liked that smaller portions for the kids. Thanks we will be making this often!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
newtocookingm&m April 23, 2010

Perfect, quick, and easy biscuits - Just like my grandmother used to make. Love them! Thank you so much for this recipe. It makes a great addition to many breakfasts and dinners. And tastes 100 times better than those 'biscuits' you get out of a can.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
koopadaisy March 19, 2010

Simple and easy. I used salted butter like other reviewers recommended and they were great! They really puff up in the oven. We will make these again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Buffalo Gal 75 March 03, 2010

This is an awesome recipe and very easy to make. I, too, added about 2 tsps extra milk and cooked them for an extra 3 mins. The great thing about this recipe is that the ingredients are normally on hand so you don't have to run out to the grocery store. Enjoyed the biscuits as did my family.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
southerngrace February 11, 2010

Good biscuits. Very easy to make and on the pocket book.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bloodwyn December 14, 2009

Really good biscuits. I even made them with water since I was out of milk. Very flaky and as someone else said, crunchy on the top and edges. I worried they might not cook through given you don't separate them so I gave them 3 extra minutes. It just made them a little more golden and a bit crisper on the edges. They probably didn't need it but it didn't hurt them at all. Like some others I found I had to add 2 extra tablespoons of liquid to get the dough to form. Great recipe. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marysdottir December 06, 2009

Firstattempt at homemade biscuits (sans biscuits) ever and they turned out absolutely wonderful! Very easy to make, and yet very tasty. I would suggest brushing a little melted butter on thetops of the biscuits before putting them in the oven though for a little extra flavor!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
More Gun November 22, 2009

Just like my daddy use to make. I dropped them into my pan in little balls instead of rolling out. These were great. I will use buttermilk next time as buttermilk makes biscuits so good, didnt have any this time. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wobin November 22, 2009
Buttery Farm Biscuits