103 Reviews

We really enjoyed these delicious biscuits. They were so quick and easy to make, using ingredients always found in the pantry and they taste better than any you buy in the stores. They were perfection. The biscuits were big, they had a crunchy top and bottom crust and a tender filling. They were awesome served warm with berry jam but also just as wonderful served with homemade baked beans and Maple Peameal Bacon Roast. Thanks for sharing a recipe I will make often.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato November 30, 2014

Yeah, sorry, but this is the second time I've made this recipe and it was a disappointment this time too. Too small and they didn't rise. I thought the first time I made them that the problem was the difference between Canadian(I am) and American all-purpose flour, but Bergy is Canadian, so much for that theory. I also thought the problem was not separating them(too much combined weight for each one to rise properly) but I separated them this time, but it made no difference. I also wonder if they would be better if one did 8X8 instead of 9X9. Not sure I want to do this recipe again though to find out.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ejuneca May 28, 2014

These could not have been easier! Thanks so much Bergy. I had to use margarine and soy milk for lactose intolerance. I made them to put under sausage gravy. They were great in my opinion, my husband said they were too dense/hard.... could be the adjusted ingredients though. Thanks for a super easy, well directed recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
932ninja October 03, 2013

These are delicious. And I have to say they are easy, my DS (11 yr old) made these for our Fathers Day breakfast. They turned out great! Thank you for sharing, we loved them and I loved seeing my DS so proud of his baking. What a great day!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour June 17, 2013

Fantastic. Easy, quick and with very ingredients. I had a leftover baked sweet potato so I took the skin off and mixed it in with the milk. It made the biscuits bright and presumably added a bit of nutrients. Thanks for the great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BasilBee November 03, 2012

I am giving this 2 stars because the taste wasn't bad but these biscuits did not rise. I thought with a tablespoon of baking powder they would be high and fluffy. Instead they were very thin and dense. The edges of the whole thing were crunchy, too crunchy for a biscuit. Maybe it was my baking powder. Also, I made the the square exactly 9 X 9 cause I measured and there is no way you could get 12 buscuits out of that. I got 9 decent sized ones but if I would have made another row of 3 they would have been way too small. I am going to try this one more time with a brand new container of baking powder and see if that makes a difference.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sunnee50 September 09, 2011

These biscuits were tasty, but weren't exactly what I was hoping for, ended up with almost a muffin-like texture. Super easy to make.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BirdyGirl September 07, 2011

These biscuits are fine but nothing special. People are so easily pleased on this site or I'm too particular. I had to add extra milk or I would have barely been able to form a dough.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DanaJoy! June 15, 2011

These were awesome! I filled them with scrambled eggs and cheese for breakfast and we all loved them. The orange peel sounds very nice and I want to try it next time. Thank you Bergy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mami J May 03, 2010
Buttery Farm Biscuits