Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Buttery Farm Biscuits Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Buttery Farm Biscuits

    Average Rating:

    102 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 102

    Sort by:

    • on September 15, 2002

      Finally, I've had a biscuit recipe work perfectly! Based on some of the other comments, I switched some sour cream for a bit of the milk and added maybe an extra tablespoon of sour cream. I added a bit of very finely chopped green onion to go with the sour cream. They turned out just great! Thanks, Bergy, what a easy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2002

      Easy is an understatement! These biscuits were absolutely delicious!!! The first batch I made followed the basic recipe, I added some shredded cheddar cheese and oregano to the next batch and was it ever wonderful!! I served them last night and found that this morning they were a wee bit dry - so I popped them into the microwave for 15 seconds - fresh as can be! A lovely and easy recipe - this will definately be a staple in my home from now on. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2002

      Never have been able to make biscuits until I found this recipe. The biscuits were very tasty, I added sour cream to the mix, so I had extra moist biscuits. Loved them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2003

      Thanks for a biscuit recipe I can actually make!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2003

      Yummmm!! these biscuits are great!! I was looking for a recipe that did not need shortening- and found this one. I am so glad that I did. I also had to add 2 more tbs of milk, and used salted buter as well. Made them for my dh and I for breakfast and we both gave them 5 stars!! Cant wait to make them again, and thanks so much for sharing!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2010

      These were amazing! They rose up perfectly and the flavor was great! We had them hot out of the oven with butter and raspberry-rhubarb jam, so good!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2010

      Very tasty and easy!! I would add more milk (like some other reviewers) next time though. They came out a bit too dry for me, althought I still ate them with my sausage gravy. LOL. Definitely a keeper and I WILL try them again.**UPDATE--I tried them again, using a dry measuring cup for the milk and made it heap over when measuring. They came out absolutely amazing! I put some honey on them and couldn't stop eating. Thanks Bergy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2006

      Absolutely delicious and so easy to make!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2004

      Good biscuits! Very flaky and I like the idea of shaping it on the pan. You don't handle it too much this way.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2004

      Wonderfully easy with a great flavor. This is also a perfect recipe to make biscuits for making dressing/stuffing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2014

      Yeah, sorry, but this is the second time I've made this recipe and it was a disappointment this time too. Too small and they didn't rise. I thought the first time I made them that the problem was the difference between Canadian(I am) and American all-purpose flour, but Bergy is Canadian, so much for that theory. I also thought the problem was not separating them(too much combined weight for each one to rise properly) but I separated them this time, but it made no difference. I also wonder if they would be better if one did 8X8 instead of 9X9. Not sure I want to do this recipe again though to find out.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2013

      These could not have been easier! Thanks so much Bergy. I had to use margarine and soy milk for lactose intolerance. I made them to put under sausage gravy. They were great in my opinion, my husband said they were too dense/hard.... could be the adjusted ingredients though. Thanks for a super easy, well directed recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2013

      These are delicious. And I have to say they are easy, my DS (11 yr old) made these for our Fathers Day breakfast. They turned out great! Thank you for sharing, we loved them and I loved seeing my DS so proud of his baking. What a great day!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2012

      Fantastic. Easy, quick and with very ingredients. I had a leftover baked sweet potato so I took the skin off and mixed it in with the milk. It made the biscuits bright and presumably added a bit of nutrients. Thanks for the great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2011

      I am giving this 2 stars because the taste wasn't bad but these biscuits did not rise. I thought with a tablespoon of baking powder they would be high and fluffy. Instead they were very thin and dense. The edges of the whole thing were crunchy, too crunchy for a biscuit. Maybe it was my baking powder. Also, I made the the square exactly 9 X 9 cause I measured and there is no way you could get 12 buscuits out of that. I got 9 decent sized ones but if I would have made another row of 3 they would have been way too small. I am going to try this one more time with a brand new container of baking powder and see if that makes a difference.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2011

      These biscuits were tasty, but weren't exactly what I was hoping for, ended up with almost a muffin-like texture. Super easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2011

      These biscuits are fine but nothing special. People are so easily pleased on this site or I'm too particular. I had to add extra milk or I would have barely been able to form a dough.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2010

    • on May 03, 2010

      These were awesome! I filled them with scrambled eggs and cheese for breakfast and we all loved them. The orange peel sounds very nice and I want to try it next time. Thank you Bergy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2010

      Made a great breakfast treat! Used your suggestion of grated orange peel with sugar and cinnamon topping, which makes a nice sweet breakfast treat with out being too sweet. The only change made was to cut the recipe down as there was only two of us. Will make again. Thanks for the post.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Buttery Farm Biscuits

    Serving Size: 1 (507 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 116.6
     
    Calories from Fat 36
    31%
    Total Fat 4.0 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 2.4 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 10.4 mg
    3%
    Sodium 149.2 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.0 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 2.8 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites