103 Reviews

Oh my GOODNESS!!! If you've been looking for the perfect biscuit recipe----you can stop looking. These are SO good! I made them for supper tonight with a big pot of bean soup. They are very easy to make. Very quick--you can put these together and have them on the table in 25 minutes. They're light, flaky, buttery, delicious!!! Thank you for posting this recipe!

76 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MizzNezz February 15, 2002

These are very good! And not only are they incredibly easy, but they come together quite fast -- perfect for a last-minute addition to a meal. My house is quite dry, so I required about 2 extra teaspoons of milk to get the mixture to come together. I baked these for the full 20 minutes; the biscuits had a lovely crunchy top and bottom, while the insides were very tender.

60 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lennie January 30, 2002

I used all purpose flour, but still added the salt and only a half teaspoon of baking powder, followed the recipe to a T, baked for 15 min. The most wonderful golden bisquits I have ever ate, family too, yes I did share, slap my hands. After out of the over I brushed with real butter. Perfect.

55 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kimberlyd February 07, 2002

I can't say enough good things about this recipe. These were wonderful. The best biscuit recipe I have ever tried. The only thing I did different was use a biscuit cutter and place round biscuits in the baking pan. Turned out perfect. My family did the "Happy Dance"!! Thanks for sharing this.

46 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ratherbeswimmin' May 20, 2002

I have never been successful at making homemade biscuits. I have to say, I am thrilled with this recipe. These were so easy to make and they were melt in your mouth delicious. Soft on the inside, little bit of crunch on the outside and oh so buttery. Worth more than 5-stars. Thanks :)

45 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PixieDust July 09, 2002

very moist and fluffy. My family enjoyed them!!

40 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
renee waddell February 25, 2002

Bergy, these biscuits are probably the best on all of 'zaar, thanks for sharing. -- posted May 2, 2002, 6 members found this helpful UPDATE:And they are still the best and quickest and easyest!!!

30 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Derf June 28, 2005

This is a good recipe for a beginner biscuit baker (like me). I would agree with adding a tablespoon or 2 more of the milk to help the dough come together better. I recommend this recipe.

30 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marie Nixon May 04, 2002

Oh My Bergy, these are incredible. I was looking for something to go with our pot roast and my husband is very partial to biscuits. I choose this recipe because of it simplicity and (ok because it has great reviews) Now I know why. You can throw this together in minutes and still have a very fluffy, tender and buttery biscuit. I am going to go with your suggestion and maybe add some herbs next time. I have to say, these were especially tasty when soaking up the pot roast gravy. Thank You so much for sharing!

25 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Just Cher July 15, 2002

I have always avoided making biscuits because of the time involved in rolling and cutting. This is not only an easy way to make biscuits but the biscuits are delicious. They are soft and fluffy on the inside and a little crunchy on the outside. These biscuits aren't pretty like the individually cut round biscuits but they have their own country style appearance. These will be served on my table in the future - I've already made them 3 times.

25 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Caryn July 14, 2002
Buttery Farm Biscuits