Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Buttery Cut-Out Christmas Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Buttery Cut-Out Christmas Cookies

    Average Rating:

    40 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 40

    Sort by:

    • on October 07, 2008

      These cookies were very good. My family usually only likes to decorate cut cookies, not eat them, as they tend to be dry and flavorless. (I think my husband ate most of them!) Good flavor and they rolled out and cut extremely well. I used a tip from another recipe and rolled out with powdered sugar rather than flour, which probably helped the flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2013

      BEST COOKIE RECIPE IN ALL THE LAND!!!! I made them, decorated them, and then used them to decorate a cake. I'm so proud of myself! These cookies have a very nice flavor, something you don't get very often from a regular sugar cookie. Even with just royal icing they taste great. I used another recipe from a well know chef and they were bland and much more work to make than these. I will continue to use this recipe for all my cut out cookies! I followed the recipe, and did not try to "improve" it. I did use powder sugar to roll them out as well as putting it in between wax paper. Simply AWESOME!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2010

      I made these cookies for my son's birthday and used a buttercream icing (Vanilla Buttercream Frosting (From Sprinkles Cupcakes)), which really made them taste special. I increased the sugar to 1 cup because I prefer my cookies a little sweeter. The first batch I made I refrigerated overnight but found that made the dough very difficult to work with. The next batch I decided to refrigerate for only a few hours and that worked much better. I had to use a lot of flour on the pastry mat and also on the rolling pin to keep them from sticking, and I found that I couldn't re-roll the dough more than once before it got too sticky and had to be refrigerated again. I froze several of the cookies (unfrosted) and have pulled them out over the past week to frost and eat them, and they taste just as good as they did fresh! I plan to use this recipe often!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2008

      Easy to throw together and when properly cooled, the dough is easy to work with. I was out of butter so used margarine instead - the cookies were good, but they surely taste even better when made with butter.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2012

      Very good flavor, and so easy to roll, family loved them :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2011

      They kept their shape and were very easy to make and cut. Love this one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2010

      These are the best cutout sugar cookies I've tried! I've made a couple batches now and they've both been great. I followed the recipe exactly and I love it. If you're concerned about transferring the cookies to the pan, cut them out on parchment paper & transfer the whole thing to your cookie sheet. Just be sure to keep an inch or so between the cookies as you cut them. This is especially nice when the kids are helping because you don't have to be so careful & they still enjoy taking the dough out from between the cookies. I've used both Kittencal's frosting for cut out cookies and a buttercream frosting and they're both great. Thanks so much for this recipe -- I've always stayed away from cutouts because they never seemed worth the effort but these are delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2009

      Easiest cookie dough I've ever worked with including several on RecipeZaar that say they are the best. I used Kittencal's icing that hardens and they are perfect. I love a lemony cookie and added the zest of one lemon. Two would have been even better IMHO.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2009

      As promised...the dough was easy to work with and held its shape well in the oven. These were very yummy. I made two different recipes, side by side and both were excellent. it was hard to tell them apart but the slight tang from the cream cheese gave these cookies a subtly unique taste...not overbearing at all. Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2009

      Absolutely delicious! My three year old loved helping me make them. I did substitute almond extract for the vanilla extract. I also used powdered sugar to roll out the cookies, as opposed to flour. Yum! We will definately be making them again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2008

      GREAT COOKIE RECIPE!!! Will use this again- Santa loved them ; )

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2008

      This is truly a great recipe. I made these last night for my Christmas trays. I have made many cut out recipes over the years, but they are always more for looks than taste. Not these! these are so good I was very surprised! I cut mine out into stars, covered them with melted white chocolate and powdered sugar. Delicious! Thanks for this recipe I will use this for years to come.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2008

      great recipe. Easy and tasty. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2008

      VERY yummy cookies and practically fool-proof! My butter wasn't melty enough and it ended up being oddly distributed, but these still turned out awesome!!! I sprinkled 1/2 of them and left the rest plain and put some canned cream cheese frosting on those. DELISH! TY!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2008

      I am really, really back logged on reviews, Kozmic, but did use your cookies on my Christmas trays. I usually don't have much luck with cut-out cookies, but had no problem with yours! Will remain on my menu for Christmas cookies next year! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2008

      These were really good. The cream cheese added a certain je ne sais quoi and tasted great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2008

      I made these to take into work Christmas eve. I did a trial run a few days earlier and decided to use vanilla sugar in place of ordinary sugar for a bit more flavour. I had fun cutting them into Christmas shapes. Very easy recipe to make.Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2007

      I have tried many cut out recipe's and these are by far the best I have ever made. They hold their shape great and aren't too sweet so if you add frosting it isn't too much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2007

      I used this recipe for Christmas sugar cookies and they turned out great! First of all, the dough was SO easy to work with...the easiest of any sugar cookie I've worked with. I didn't have any sticking and only had to use a small amount of flour when rolling out. The dough was very firm to roll out at first but it eventually became easier to roll out. When you transfer the cut-outs to the baking sheet they hold their shape which is so important! And I love that they didn't puff up when they baked so they had the original shape. These cookies are not very sweet at all, more buttery so they taste great with icing on them. I used Cookie Icing/Frosting That Hardens and Sugar Cookie Icing on them. Thank you so much for this recipe! I will be making it again next Christmas!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2007

      Every year I try to find a great recipe for cut-out xmas cookies and have tried many of which I was never really that happy with. This recipe having cream cheese was perfect - the flavor is great, they were easy to roll out just after 1 hour in the fridge and my daughter had tremendous fun decorating them. I only wish I had made a double batch since I counted 34 cookies, most of which are already gone =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Buttery Cut-Out Christmas Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (891 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 94.0
     
    Calories from Fat 47
    50%
    Total Fat 5.2 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 3.2 g
    16%
    Cholesterol 18.2 mg
    6%
    Sodium 47.0 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.4 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    0%
    Sugars 3.6 g
    14%
    Protein 1.2 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites