277 Reviews

These are awesome. I made this as directed, but added 1T. dried onion, 1 T. garlic powder and 2 T. fresh snipped rosemary. The second time I made 12 larger rolls, and flattened them for the second rise, to make sandwich rolls for Easter ham. Had to hide them from my honey.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tomjanvala April 22, 2011

Finally created an account just to review this recipe. Being relatively new to bread machines, this recipe is a sure-fire keeper. I've made it about 8 times so far and I've only had the bread machine for a month and a half.

After perusing the tips, I've also lowered the temp to 350 and baked for 20-22 minutes, gives the insides a bit more time to cook without the tops getting too brown.

One other change I've made is using All Purpose Flour (although I've made it with bread flour as well). I don't understand bread-making mojo as much as I'd like but the results seemed to be a lighter, fluffier (feathery-er... like that word?) roll.

Excellent, most bodacious roll. Make these, you won't regret it. Thanks for the recipe, Jean!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Misaria February 09, 2011

Forgot to rate this keeper! WONDERFUL. Easy to work with, produces light fluffy rolls, my family cannot get enough of these. I make two full batches every Thanksgiving, one for dinner and one for leftovers! These are the first thing gone! Thanks for a great one, have made many many times and always just terrific. Made exactly as directed!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Messy44 January 02, 2011

Perfect!!!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
buzzie November 28, 2010

The best ever. I made a batch on Thanksgiving, divided it in half and made dinner rolls with half and cinnamon buns with the other half. The rolls were light and fluffy and delish..and the buns were the best I've ever had!!!! My family couldn't resist with all the desserts in the house, they all went for the buns!! I would give this 6 stars if I could.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ghodgson428 November 28, 2010

Lovely yeasty rolls. Among the best I've ever had. The only thing I might try next time is to let them rise a little longer before going into the oven.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PanNan July 21, 2010

These came out pretty good, but I needed to use more flour...around 1/2 cup extra...and I needed to bake it at 350 rather than 375. Other than that, they were pretty yummy!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MaxBetta February 16, 2010

Excellent rolls!! My bread machine only holds 2 cups of flour so I had to half the recipe-I had no problems. Instead of putting the ingredients in per manufacturer's suggestion, I proofed the yeast first by warming the milk to 90-100 degrees (yes, I used the digital thermometer) in a glass bowl, then sprinkle the sugar, then yeast and allow it to foam for 10 min. Then I added that to my bread machine pan and added the other ingredients. I also had to let them rise for 2-3 hours and I baked them at 350 for about 22 minutes. DELISH!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vickiva February 01, 2010

I"ve made a similar recipe to this that goes way back to gramma's time. She didn't have a bread machine to do the kneadinig and so I've always done it that way too...well, not anymore. The bread machine was so much easier. I put mine into the 9x13 baking dish as you advised which was also a new experience for me as I always did mine similar to buns. I got 20 rolls into the dish and let them rise in a warm oven for 1 hour. Perfectly done in a 20 minutes. TYSM.!~

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CoffeeB June 09, 2009

The texture and taste are amazing. Very similar to Brioche. I used whole milk, real butter and baked it as directed at 375, but placed the oven rack in a higher position to avoid burning. It worked. I think I will try braiding the dough next time for 2 pretty loafs. Thanks for posting such a great recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RobinAnn December 15, 2008
Buttery Bread Machine Rolls