12 Reviews

I love all of the ingredients in these bars. My only reason for rating so low, is they ended up rock hard. I prepared them exactly as written and had to throw the entire batch out.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Margo59 February 25, 2007

I was trying to come up with an alternative to N*tures Valley "salty and sweet" bars and stumbled across this recipe. My husband is allergic to milk and wheat, making the store bought version a bad choice. I substituted maple syrup for corn syrup, and used gluten-free flour. They turned out amazing, and now this is my husbands new favorite snack.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susanna B. March 22, 2015

I have been hunting for this lost recipe for years. absolutely 5 Stars.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
what is a username? April 02, 2010

Fantastic! I am grateful these softened a bit from the first day - now (3 days later) they are chewy, crunchy, sweet & salty deliciousness! We cut these into single bite morsels - they are powerful! They also look so pretty heaped in little cup cake liners in our Christmas cookie platters. Wonderful with a cup of black coffee & would be awesome if out in the weather (skiing, hunting, hiking - anything that burns lots of calories). Thank you for another keeper recipe Kittencal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Buster's friend December 22, 2009

Fabulous, awesome, terrific... get the picture?? Really great recipe for the peanut lover. I used margarine as a personal preference (cost wise) & followed the recipe otherwise. I did use a 9 X 13 well-greased glass pan instead of what was recommended & had no problems removing the squares from the pan. Great combo of sweet & salty!! I served at Sewing Circle & got "heck" because people couldn't stop eating them!! Unfortunately, if you try to snitch one before they are completely cooled, they are a crumbly mess - but once cooled, they are a solid tasty bar!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbb April 10, 2009

I thought these were awesome! I've already made them twice. The second time you put them in the oven the directions say 15 minutes, and I do agree with one other commentor that the edges got a bit hard, so the next time I made them I decreased the time to 10 minutes and it was much better. And yes you don't exactly taste the butterscotch flavor, but they are still awesome. This will always be a go-to recipe for me. Thanks Kittencal!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ehleighen July 29, 2008

These were soo good!! I shared them with lots of family and friends as it made alot. Super addicting and yummy. Thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Junkintrunk June 04, 2008

Love these and have made them many times. (Actually, I can't believe I haven't reviewed them before now!) Shared this recipe with one of my biking friends and she makes them now for energy bars for a long ride. Yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
baking&biking May 19, 2008

Wonderful! I followed the directions exactly as written. They taste like peanut brittle on a sugar cookie. I loved them. I will be making these again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
plainchicken October 13, 2006

Excellent Yummy Bars!!!! We all LOVED these!!! THanks for posting a wonderful recipe!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kzbhansen February 19, 2006
Butterscotch Salted Peanut Bars